We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Place with a Great View!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Great Place with a Great View!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This property if part time share and part hotel, the hotel portion is on the first floor..Hotel guests had full access to all facilities including a hot breakfast each morning and a copy of the local morning paper..Quite good.

Our room was 113, I will definitely request that room again..Being on the first floor you would think, of I won't have a great view. Well, it WAS a great view as the hotel itself is elevated, so first floor rooms are actually more like 2nd floor rooms..we had an ocean facing king bed room..huge balcony facing the ocean, a short walk across the street to the nice beach and a few steps further to restaurants, etc..

Would I go back again? In a heartbeat! The staff was also very accommodating, the guest room was very clean and modern, no complaints at all! Do yourself a favor and stay at the Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank DogmomDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarackBeachResort, Front Office Manager at Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed both the resort and all that the surrounding area has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again soon and wish you an incredible rest of the summer.

Kind Regards,

Shellirae Burton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    89
    38
    7
    8
See reviews for
137
106
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

My family and I live about an hour away from Carlsbad and have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions. We even booked several rooms last year to celebrate my daughter's graduation. It is very clean and the staff is wonderful. It is so nice to have the choice of barbecuing at the hotel or walking to one of the many nearby restaurants after spending the day at the beach (right across the street). The daily breakfast is an added bonus and the only way I can get my three teenagers out of bed in the morning. I cannot say enough nice things about the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Mommaeatsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel is very nice, but very expensive. We stayed 6 nights and it cost 1400.00. The rooms are big and I paid the extra to partial Oceanview, however because the grounds were not maintained there were several huge bushes blocking my view of the ocean. If you stay in the rooms on the bottom floor (mine was 121) make make sure they trim the bushes. I brought it to their attention and they did offer to move us to another room however the other room was half the size of our room. We asked if they can get a gardener to come and trim the bushes and of course they said they would but it never happened. That was the only thing that bothered me about the hotel. Everything else was nice. The breakfast every morning was fine, it wasn't great but it did the job. All the restaurants are within walking distance and not too expensive. My best time was on the beach, it is literally across the street and it is just breathtaking.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Irma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

My husband and I just enjoyed a wonderful weekend stay at the Tamarack. In the past we have stayed at a nice resort down the street, but the Tamarack is our new favorite hotel in Carlsbad. We had an ocean-front room which was truly spectacular. Although I understand all of the hotel rooms are located on the first floor (the second and third floors are timeshares), the patio is more like a balcony, as it sits up above street level. The panoramic ocean view from the balcony is beautiful. I will say there was quite a bit of street noise Saturday night, but for me that’s not a deal breaker at all. It’s just a byproduct of the hotel’s great location. Easy underground parking, wifi and a continental breakfast are included and there is no additional resort fee. Our room was updated and clean (no dark blue walls like those shown in some of the room pictures online). The pool/hot tub(s) area is very nice, with plenty of tables and chairs. There is a rec room near the pool with a ping pong table and pool table, among other things. I'm picky and this property was very clean. We saw the most beautiful sunset I have seen in my life from the third floor deck overlooking the beach. Jessie at the front desk was especially helpful and accommodating. In fact, all of the staff we encountered were friendly. I kind of hate to rave about the place online because I want to have ready access, but this hotel is a gem. I have already reserved an ocean-front room in a few months to celebrate my birthday. Family members who visited us there have also reserved a room. I can’t wait to go back. [Some older reviews mention a problem with water pressure. We didn’t experience that at all. Water pressure in the shower was excellent.]

Room Tip: It is well worth the few extra dollars for an ocean-front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pickytraveler56_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Arizona, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Great stay again at the Tamarack. Opted for the partial ocean view room which still has great ocean views and less street noise. Daily breakfast is very good which includes hot choices as well as cereal, breakfast bars, yogurt, juice coffee/tea (coffee pot in room also). The hotel is well maintained/clean, and staff friendly/helpful. The resort has pool and spa (hotel provides beach towels for use) as well as rec. room which also has a microwave available for use. The hotel is directly across the street from the beach and easy walking to Carlsbad Village. There is a patio/viewing area on the 3rd floor that is great for sunsets. Plenty of restaurants nearby and within walking distance. Stayed here again and would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank explorer9180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
88 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

After researching every single ocean view lodging option all the way up the coast from San Diego, we finally found this one. It was perfect! What originally sold us was that when we called to check, they were willing to give us a government rate for being a non-California state employee (the others all do California only). The free parking and breakfast cinched the decision.

We did the full ocean view, which I highly recommend. Yes you can hear the street traffic, but the view makes up for it. Although the room wasn't fancy, it was quite spacious. We had two queens, which still left plenty of room for our daughter's Pack 'n Play. Everything was clean.

The beach is easily accessed by crossing the street (at a signal) and walking down a gentle, paved ramp. My mom took our daughter in her jogging stroller with no problems.

We ate the breakfast, which was definitely continental. However, the area was clean and the items attractively displayed. Dense waffles were also available at the desk.

Although the upper floors apparently are condos/time shares rather than hotel rooms, we were able to go up to a 3rd floor public balcony to watch the sunset over the ocean. Beautiful!

The grounds were tidy and the staff friendly. We never saw anyone swimming, but the pool did look clean and inviting. We will definitely stay here again if we're ever in the area!

Room Tip: Go for the full ocean view! Room 104 was great if you want two queens.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank civil23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

During a road / surf trip with my girlfriend we had a pleasant stay at the tamarack. We had an oceanview room with a big bed (don't if its a queen or kingsizebed cause i'm not a pro hotel booker) anyways..... Nice to get up in the morning and jump on the promenade for a quick surf check and relaxing in the late afternoon after a smashing burger in the fish restaurant which is based on top of the promenade.
Rooms are clean and basic. As carlsbad in usual there are bit more older guys and familys.
The breakfast was pretty american, but hey you are in america right? Very friendly staff at the reception desk, so the the housekeeping is.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andypico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
1.7 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel

Property: Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel
Address: 3200 Carlsbad Blvd, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#20 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel located in the Coastal Village of Carlsbad California, just steps to the beach on Historic Route 101 and walking distance to the Village. Dini's by the Sea, a local favorite is located on the premises, best known for there Sunset Dinners.Tamarack Beach Resort is one of the only Resorts with non obstructed Ocean Views and Direct Access to the Beach. We offer accommodations with Hotel rooms, Condos (1 bedroom or 2 bedrooms) and a Panoramic Ocean View Meeting Room. We can accommodate just about any size family or length of stay. All Hotel rooms come with a Complimentary Continental Breakfast with hot items, Microwave, Small Refrigerator,In Room Wireless Internet, Secure Parking combined with resort amenities such as a Heated Pool, 2 Hot Tubs, Gym, BBQ Area and Recreation Room. Our Condos have a fully equipped Kitchen, Stack-able Washer and Dryer and a Private Patio. When you stay at the Tamarack Beach Resort you are bound to experience "A Touch of Paradise" with our immaculate views, friendly staff and beautifully decorated rooms and resort amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Beach Resort By The Sea Hotel Carlsbad
Tamarack Beach Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing