We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best resort in Carlsbad!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best resort in Carlsbad!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

My family and I have been going for many years and cannot wait until we go again next year! The service keeps getting better and better every year. All the staff are always extremely friendly. The game room is great and has many brochures to plan adventures. I would definitely recommend this resort!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebbieGaliotoWeringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarackBeachResort, Front Office Manager at Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you so very much for such a wonderful review! We are thrilled that you had such a great time and are honored that you keep coming back. We greatly look forward to seeing you again next year!!

Warm Regards,

Shellirae Burton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    89
    38
    7
    8
See reviews for
136
106
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Surprised by any negative reviews, stay here a couple of times a year and always love it. There are hotel rooms on the front and side of the first floor and big time share units with full kitchens and over 1000+ sq ft of room. The pool is in the courtyard and very protected from the elements, so if its windy and cooler outside, its perfectly calm inside at the pool.

Yes, its right on the PCH and right at a stop light, which means you have to cross the street to be at the beach, but almost all of the units have large balconies that you can view the ocean. Very convenient and a quick jaunt across the street to be right in the action. Big courtyard with grills, tables, and a rec room to rent movies, play games and participate in the ongoing activities going on. Just chill.

This is a very family friendly resort, be prepared for lots of kids. If this is something that is a pain point, may not be the best place for you. Also, if you are looking for a fancy resort with tons of amenities, you may look elsewehere. They have a restaraunt attached, but no room service and extras is these are things you prefer. But clean, frienldy, comfy, and just nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emoney5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was at least our 6th visit to Tamarack and we are completely pleased with the staff and facility. We try to stay in full ocean view rooms. We have recommended Tamarack to at least 5 friends and relatives who all have had excellent stays. It is very relaxed and the location is walking distance to the village and across the street from the beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarlKTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloy
Level Contributor
175 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just returned from our 2nd stay at Tamarack and we had such a wonderful time we have already booked for next summer. The resort is wonderfully located right across from the beach and within walking distance of downtown Carlsbad. The staff was wonderful and the accomodations were clean and well maintained. We ate breakfast every morning we were there and is free to the motel guests. Great pool also. Highly recommend to everyone

Room Tip: we always get one off the court area, inside and facing the pool although can be noisy if lots of ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duffer47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury Park, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is a great place to stay if your looking for something close to the beach. My family really enjoyed staying here. We had a partial ocean view room which we could see the ocean from our balcony. Both the room and the balcony were large. The game room was a hit for my kids as was the free DVD rentals.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank summerfun98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I would definitely come back to this hotel after the experience I had. It is right across the street from the entrance to Frazee Beach. There are many eateries and shops nearby within walking distance. The staff is extremely nice and friendly. There are DVD players in each room and they have a wide selection of DVDs you can borrow with no extra cost! The rooms are very spacious but the shower was weak (in my opinion). The one thing I honestly did not like (which made me gave them 4 out of 5 rating) was the fact that the hotel guest rooms are all on the first floor. We can see people walking on the street and they can see us and inside our room too (if we leave the curtains open).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I was most impressed with the family atmosphere of this hotel. Young families with children seemed to be the norm. It has a pool, bbqs, library with movies, ping pong, pool table and other organized activities for the family everyday and a beautiful beach across the street. It is within walking distance to the train depot and a short drive to Lego Land. Walking into the village one encounters shopping, restaurants and book stores. It is an ideal place to take the family for the weekend.
Our room had a large lanai with water views and a beautiful sunset. It was clean, but it could use a updating.
However, there is one caveat to my story. We were awaken at 1am by a bunch of rowdy young men having a drinking party up stairs from our room. They were loud, obnoxious and out of control. This went on for 2 hours. Since this is also a time share hotel, I must assume that the lodgers were children of share holders. It's too bad, the hotel would have been a perfect getaway had it not been for the rude awakening.
We should have complained, but not our style.

Room Tip: Our room faced west with an excellent view of the ocean, but the early morning racket left us exhaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LadyASanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarackBeachResort, Front Office Manager at Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your review and we are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the activities and amenities located at the resort. The Tamarack strives for 100% customer satisfaction and we are therefore terribly sorry you experienced a less then restful night’s sleep due to some late night noise from the guests above you and wanted to reassure you that we have 24 hour staffing to ensure that issues like this are handled immediately upon notification. We hope that we may have the opportunity to assist you in a relaxing and fun filled getaway in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Shellirae Burton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
1.7 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
3.3 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel

Property: Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel
Address: 3200 Carlsbad Blvd, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#20 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel located in the Coastal Village of Carlsbad California, just steps to the beach on Historic Route 101 and walking distance to the Village. Dini's by the Sea, a local favorite is located on the premises, best known for there Sunset Dinners.Tamarack Beach Resort is one of the only Resorts with non obstructed Ocean Views and Direct Access to the Beach. We offer accommodations with Hotel rooms, Condos (1 bedroom or 2 bedrooms) and a Panoramic Ocean View Meeting Room. We can accommodate just about any size family or length of stay. All Hotel rooms come with a Complimentary Continental Breakfast with hot items, Microwave, Small Refrigerator,In Room Wireless Internet, Secure Parking combined with resort amenities such as a Heated Pool, 2 Hot Tubs, Gym, BBQ Area and Recreation Room. Our Condos have a fully equipped Kitchen, Stack-able Washer and Dryer and a Private Patio. When you stay at the Tamarack Beach Resort you are bound to experience "A Touch of Paradise" with our immaculate views, friendly staff and beautifully decorated rooms and resort amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Beach Resort By The Sea Hotel Carlsbad
Tamarack Beach Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing