We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I love visiting the grounds here. It's always very clean and the staff are nice. Great location too. I wish the weather was better when I was there so I could have used the pool.

Room Tip: Call ahead!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

865 - 871 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

I spent two nights in CarlsbD with my three kids and decided to extend our stay one more night. We called and spoke with Greg and he had a room ready for us immediately. When we first checked in we were given a room that had not yet been remodeled, I went up to see if they had any other rooms available and Barrybthe owner immediately moved us to a brand new one bedroom suite. It was beautiful inside, and it gave me some ideas for remodeling my bathroom (loved the greens, the tile, and the dolphin faucet!). The kids and I spent some time at the beach then walked to Norte for a late lunch, early dinner. We came back and they swam while I enjoyed lounging and reading. We made sure to take some pictures by the tiki trees and the beautiful gardens. Thank you for ending our vacation on a positive note. We look forward to visiting again!

Stayed: April 2012
4  Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Very nice resort located on the beach right in Carlsbad Village. I lived in Carlsbad for 12 years so I knew this was a great location before hand. Suite was furnished nicely with modern appliances. The inner courtyard is very cool... lots of BBQ grills, fire pits, heated swimming pool and hot tub. Beach is just steps away. Greg at the front desk went out of his way to make our stay the best it could be. I would definitely book here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I live in Carlsbad and have found when my spouse asks me where I want to go for a getaway, I have often said Ocean Palms Beach Resort. It's a lovely resort property, unlike any conventional chain hotel, and it's right here in Carlsbad. It's steps from the sea, has a dog-friendly policy (We have brought our long-haired Chihuahuas here virtually all of our stays and they enjoy it as much as we do, I think.) I selected a stay at Ocean Palms Beach Resort as my birthday present in January. Pleasant memories remain even now, in late March!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of rooms overlooking the pool; this place is nice and quiet. People who say here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Holly_Jocoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

The flower fields were a wonderful thing to see. The beaches are beautiful at sunset and it is close to a lot of places and activities, night life, entertainment. It is far enough from downtown San Diego to still feel a little small town. This is a great place to stay right by the beach. Many things you can walk to.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rodger s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Ocean Palms keeps calling us back--we've stayed there several times over the past couple of years. The location is ideal. You won't see the ocean from your room because the hotel is across a small street from the beach-front properties, but you will be only a 30 second walk to the stairs leading down to the beach.

The interior courtyards and pool area are always immaculate with lush landscaping and tall palms. The pool was comfortably warm even though the air temp was in the 60s most days.

We stayed in a luxury 2-bedroom suite with a full kitchen. The room was remodeled some years ago and shows a little wear and tear (stain on the carpet, nicks on furniture), but nothing extreme. The queen-size beds were comfortable, however the sofa bed is good for kids only.

During our stay we experienced only minor problems--a clogged toilet the first day was quickly fixed, a malfunctioning thermostat on the heater/cooler (it would heat or cool but not shut off) was annoying but fortunately it did not get that cold at night so we didn't have to leave it on. I think the maids missed us one day, but all we needed were some clean towels and a quick walk to the office solved that. The small store in the office had empty cooler compartments--I think they used to stock it better.

If you're thinking "resort" as in lots of extra amenities and on-site services this is not perhaps your cup of tea, but if you would like a comfortable, convenient, and somewhat laid-back place to stay you will enjoy the Ocean Palms Beach Resort.

Room Tip: Reviews of non-remodeled standard rooms don't seem to be as favorable but they are less expensiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ABQRealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed there for a few days at the beginning of the year and really loved it. The weather there is always pretty decent so it made for a great stay. The rooms are a good size and newly remodeled.

Room Tip: just ask for one of the new rooms, much nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank larry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,346 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
6.8 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Address: 2950 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2952
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: £131 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Palms Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For generations, families visiting San Diego's North County for fun and relaxation on America's greatest beaches have enjoyed staying at the Ocean Palms. Our casual Carlsbad resort is ideally located along the coast in Carlsbad Village, home to one of Southern California's best collections of shops and restaurants. The Ocean Palms offers a wide choice of Carlsbad accommodations. From comfortable budget rooms to luxury suites, 1, 2 and 3 Bedrooms, some with ocean views, every room offers a fully equipped kitchen. We have the unique ability to provide you with the exact sleeping arrangements you need. Whether it's adjoining rooms or a suite, we can get you the space you need at a rate you'll love. Enjoy a continental breakfast, with fresh fruit, fresh-baked cookies, Danishes, and fresh-brewed coffee. Enjoy the laid back atmosphere and the lush landscaping. We're pet friendly, there's free WiFi, a heated pool and Jacuzzi. We love families who can't get enough of the beach, so we provide free beach chairs, beach towels, boogie boards, and even free surfboards. The beach is right across the street, and the charming Village of Carlsbad is just a block away. Visiting Legoland? We're only a 10 minute drive. We're also just three blocks from the Coaster railroad station, so you can ride the train and take in all the attractions in San Diego, from a Padres Game at Petco Park to a tour of the historic aircraft carrier U.S.S. Midway. Here in North County San Diego, explore wineries and microbreweries. Welcome to your beachside home away from home. Come to the Ocean Palms, where cool Pacific breezes sweep across the enchanting Village of Carlsbad. There is no better place for families to capture the magic of Southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Ocean Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Ocean Palms Beach Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing