We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in Carlsbad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2012

After staying at the Ocean Palms Beach Resort for well over 50 years, it just keeps getting better and better. Having been in the Travel Industry for 25 years, traveling to all seven continents and over 170 countries, I still go back again and again. Owner Barry Blue is continuously transforming this quiet, hide-away into an oasis of tropical vegitation and solitude with incredable
value. Great location, friendly staff and owners that always go out of there way to make your stay as perfect as possible.
Burk.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank burk w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,031)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Palms Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

845 - 851 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2012

I had a great time staying at the Ocean Palms in Carlsbad. My girlfriend and I stayed there last summer . We had a blast. . We spent a great deal of time on the beach the location is fabulous and just steps away from the beach. The staff was so helpful and courtesy. They gave us great recommendations of places to have dinner and go to fun places for dancing. Everywhere we went was in walking distance. We met the owner of the hotel Barry Blue and he was so friendly and so hands on .This hotel is very well managed. My girlfriend Debbie and I are going to stay at this hotel again this summer. I can't wait a great hotel ,great location, and an absolutely wonderful friendly staff. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Carlsbad.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

My husband and I first found Ocean Palms a few years ago. We were on a day trip exploring Carlsbad. For our next visit to the area I decided to book a room there. We stayed in a luxury mini-suite. It was wonderful, perfect for a romantic weekend. We visited again this year and stayed in one of the new luxury one bedroom suites. Amazing! This room was just beautiful. Tile floors, granite and stainless steel kitchen and luxury bathroom.
This is not like a regular hotel with boring cookie cutter rooms and cheap furniture. Obviously a lot of care has been put into the décor and furnishing. The grounds are so pretty. Palm trees and flowers everywhere. In the evening we like sit by the fire-pits and enjoy a glass of wine.
The front desk staff are always so accommodating. Tina, Heidi, Todd and Greg, I think. I can think of nowhere else I’d like to stay when visiting SoCal. The only negative thing about Ocean Palms is having to leave! Can’t wait to visit again this summer.

Room Tip: Call the front desk staff. They'll help find the best type of room for your stay. Definitely wo...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jordan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Greg was extremely accommodating and helpful when we wanted to upgrade. Furnishings were beautiful, suite was a good size, loved the dutch door. Used the fire pits at night great for conversation. We will definitely will come again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelli L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The staff was so helpful and accommodating to my family and me while we stayed here during the Carlsbad 5000. Their great service allowed me to enjoy the festivities with my family with barely a break in the day. Thanks!

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank MaryG437_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I love visiting the grounds here. It's always very clean and the staff are nice. Great location too. I wish the weather was better when I was there so I could have used the pool.

Room Tip: Call ahead!!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I spent two nights in CarlsbD with my three kids and decided to extend our stay one more night. We called and spoke with Greg and he had a room ready for us immediately. When we first checked in we were given a room that had not yet been remodeled, I went up to see if they had any other rooms available and Barrybthe owner immediately moved us to a brand new one bedroom suite. It was beautiful inside, and it gave me some ideas for remodeling my bathroom (loved the greens, the tile, and the dolphin faucet!). The kids and I spent some time at the beach then walked to Norte for a late lunch, early dinner. We came back and they swam while I enjoyed lounging and reading. We made sure to take some pictures by the tiki trees and the beautiful gardens. Thank you for ending our vacation on a positive note. We look forward to visiting again!

Stayed: April 2012
4  Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,329 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
989 reviews
6.8 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Address: 2950 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2952
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: £128 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Palms Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For generations, families visiting San Diego's North County for fun and relaxation on America's greatest beaches have enjoyed staying at the Ocean Palms. Our casual Carlsbad resort is ideally located along the coast in Carlsbad Village, home to one of Southern California's best collections of shops and restaurants. The Ocean Palms offers a wide choice of Carlsbad accommodations. From comfortable budget rooms to luxury suites, 1, 2 and 3 Bedrooms, some with ocean views, every room offers a fully equipped kitchen. We have the unique ability to provide you with the exact sleeping arrangements you need. Whether it's adjoining rooms or a suite, we can get you the space you need at a rate you'll love. Enjoy a continental breakfast, with fresh fruit, fresh-baked cookies, Danishes, and fresh-brewed coffee. Enjoy the laid back atmosphere and the lush landscaping. We're pet friendly, there's free WiFi, a heated pool and Jacuzzi. We love families who can't get enough of the beach, so we provide free beach chairs, beach towels, boogie boards, and even free surfboards. The beach is right across the street, and the charming Village of Carlsbad is just a block away. Visiting Legoland? We're only a 10 minute drive. We're also just three blocks from the Coaster railroad station, so you can ride the train and take in all the attractions in San Diego, from a Padres Game at Petco Park to a tour of the historic aircraft carrier U.S.S. Midway. Here in North County San Diego, explore wineries and microbreweries. Welcome to your beachside home away from home. Come to the Ocean Palms, where cool Pacific breezes sweep across the enchanting Village of Carlsbad. There is no better place for families to capture the magic of Southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Ocean Palms Beach Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing