We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pets welcome, OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We were happy to see that pets were welcome. But, you always wonder what the rooms are like when they allow pets in the rooms. Because some dogs are not well house trained. That was not the problem, we must of been in one of the older or oldest rooms there because the bathroom was patched all together.

Room Tip: Pay extra and get the upgraded rooms, we should have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CodysMom41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,050)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

849 - 855 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2012

Our stay couldn't have been better...unless we could have stayed longer!! The location was perfect!! And as an Interior Designer, I truly appreciated the attention to detail and great taste the new renovations were done with. The staff was very friendly and accommodating!! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Virginia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We had a wonderful stay here. It was clean and in a great location. Greg was so Hospitable and made our stay fantastic. We stayed in a luxury suite and we enjoyed sitting by the fireplace outside at night.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tamera M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed the weekend at this resort. It was perfectly located next to the beach which made trips back and forth from the beach to the room extremely convenient. In fact, everything is in walking distance. We never drove the car once the entire weekend and were able to walk to restaurants and shops. I would recommend however staying on the top floor, we had a family with kids above us and were woken up at 7am on Saturday morning with pounding on the floor above. I did call the staff, who was very nice and kindly called them to ask them to keep it down for us. I would definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: Stay on second floor. All the suites from what I could tell were beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

My husband and I and our two tiny poodles stayed a couple nights at the Ocean Pakm
Resort and I wish we had planned on a week. The owners thought of everything to make
their guests at home. We had our APPITIZERS and WINE in their cozy courtyard/patio
enhanced by the fireplace and firepits. The landscaping is picture perfect and loving
Hawaii as we do, gave us the feel on a small scale. Having the Beach directly across the
street was convenient as we're the walk to restaurants and even Starbucks. We will
return God willing
Karen and Bud Ekren and Truff and Muff

Room Tip: We were upstairs which was fine as we had our two tiny poodles and it was quiet and stress free til...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Always an excellent experience. Great location and tons of stuff to do within walking distance. Thanks!

Room Tip: Call ahead!
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Celebrated Mother's Day at this great place right across from the beach which is also near the heart of Carlsbad Village. It is a walker-friendly area which has so many inviting restaurants, stores, spa services to chose from. I am 62 years old and my daughter is 34 years old. We normally go out of town but decided to stay close to home. It is important to note this as where we stayed was pivotal as to how much we would enjoy our weekend. Initially, I worried as our room was discounted because it was not one of the ones which had been renovated yet. We stayed in a mini-suite, room 125. It turned out to be even better as it was perfect for our weekend and a bargain to boot. The bathroom had the older tile look but it was clean and reminiscent of good memories in that generation of decor. With the newer decors, everything looks the same and kind of boring, while this place had character others do not. This unit is more like a studio apartment with a bathroom which is quite larger, a kitchen with table and chairs and full size refrigerator, and a hide abed couch. I chose to sleep on the hide abed couch because it was closer to television which I like to watch before I go to sleep. I was surprised how comfortably I slept. Terri, the manager, is the one who initially assisted me in reserving a room when I walked in to check out their facilities. She was very kind and genuinely helpful in making sure we got a room and arranged a late check out on Sunday so we could enjoy our last morning there. The location is amazing as you can hear the ocean from the windows in your room. There is a nice outside sitting area with fire pits to hang out and relax in a very esthetically pleasing atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hotelhussey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,347 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
6.8 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Address: 2950 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2952
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: £126 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Palms Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For generations, families visiting San Diego's North County for fun and relaxation on America's greatest beaches have enjoyed staying at the Ocean Palms. Our casual Carlsbad resort is ideally located along the coast in Carlsbad Village, home to one of Southern California's best collections of shops and restaurants. The Ocean Palms offers a wide choice of Carlsbad accommodations. From comfortable budget rooms to luxury suites, 1, 2 and 3 Bedrooms, some with ocean views, every room offers a fully equipped kitchen. We have the unique ability to provide you with the exact sleeping arrangements you need. Whether it's adjoining rooms or a suite, we can get you the space you need at a rate you'll love. Enjoy a continental breakfast, with fresh fruit, fresh-baked cookies, Danishes, and fresh-brewed coffee. Enjoy the laid back atmosphere and the lush landscaping. We're pet friendly, there's free WiFi, a heated pool and Jacuzzi. We love families who can't get enough of the beach, so we provide free beach chairs, beach towels, boogie boards, and even free surfboards. The beach is right across the street, and the charming Village of Carlsbad is just a block away. Visiting Legoland? We're only a 10 minute drive. We're also just three blocks from the Coaster railroad station, so you can ride the train and take in all the attractions in San Diego, from a Padres Game at Petco Park to a tour of the historic aircraft carrier U.S.S. Midway. Here in North County San Diego, explore wineries and microbreweries. Welcome to your beachside home away from home. Come to the Ocean Palms, where cool Pacific breezes sweep across the enchanting Village of Carlsbad. There is no better place for families to capture the magic of Southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Ocean Palms Beach Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing