We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Here!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2012

This is a charming place to stay. The staff is very accomodating and the room was clean and comfortable. My kitchen was stocked with utensils and cups and plates. The bed was cozy and comfortable, you can hear the ocean so it lulls you to sleep. It is as close to the beach as you can get, just a few steps down and you're there. All restaurants and shops are in walking distance. I recommend this to everyone, it was a highlight of my vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kellie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,050)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

778 - 784 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2012

Stayed here for 5 days at off season rates. The room, 1 bedroom luxury suite, was recently upgraded and included a full kitchen. Across a short street and you go down the stairs to a beautiful beach. We watched some great sunsets there. Close to many eating places that are unique and reasonable. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: Our upstairs room had a partial view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michaelrittel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We really liked this place and enjoyed our stay. The room was very nice, with a full kitchen, a comfortable bed and lots of space. There is a nice garden area with BBQs, tables and fire places which are lit every evening. You can also use the pool. The resort is very close to the beach and also close to the village and a lot of restaurants and shops. The staff was very friendly and hospitable, too! And you get the best cookies in the world at the reception.
We highly recommend the Ocean Palms Beach Resort and would love to stay there again some time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anonym187371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

The grounds are beautiful! Mattress was comfortable and had plush bedding. We had a spa-tub, plus a large shower that had multiple heads. Very close to the beach, restaurants, and shops. We loved it and plan to stay here again some time in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We've rented on/near the beach by Carlsbad Village most summers for the last two decades. This place is half the price of many along the beach yet the rooms as nice as any. It offers a pool and spa and a nice garden area with BBQs and shady tables. Best of all, it's just steps to the beach and to the village restaurants. Pleasant and hospitable staff too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I don't remember how we found this adorable piece of heaven on earth, but we are grateful that we did. We have been staying at the OPBR 1-2 days a week for the last 3 weeks due to business travel. From our initial phone call to book our reservation to our arrival at the Resort we were well taken care of. Classy with the perfect about of humor and endless customer service. We travel with our labrador (Murphy) and Murphy LOVES it. The OPBR set us up with a Dog Sitter/Walker so that Murphy is taken care of when we are in business meetings. Even the Dog Sitter is a wonderful reflection of class, customer service and genuine caring that the OPBR gives. We highly recommend spending a night, weekend or even your holiday vacation at the OPBR.

Room Tip: Every room in this charming hotel is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I booked this Boutique style resort online without knowing anything about it except it was across the Street from the Beach and was in the Village with cute shops! Before booking I called the resort directly with questions..the staff were all so helpful and friendly! Barry Jr. walked me through their website looking at rooms together.
When my husband and I arrived we were shocked! This was the cutest most beautiful hidden jewel of a resort. Everything is within walking distance and it is right across the Street from a beautiful beach ( steps down to beach). I felt like I was in Hawaii. The lush grounds are green & gorgeous with palm trees carved into tikis..everything is so clean. The pool is gorgeous( turns different colors at night). They have fire pits, bbq's and patio tables/chairs all through the grounds. My husband and I stayed in a standard studio but I highly recommend spending more and staying in a renovated room. Even an older room was nice. I believe they are renovating all rooms in the New Year. The owner has decorated himself and hand picked the most beautiful decor! The photos on their site do not do this adorable place justice! Sure love the owner friendly service too! We will be coming back and bringing friends and family!
Thanks so much for the lovely get-away!

Room Tip: If you afford it and you are a couple..I highly recommend the Luxury 1 Bedroom # 129 Beach front wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1funattic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,347 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
6.8 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Address: 2950 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2952
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: £126 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Palms Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For generations, families visiting San Diego's North County for fun and relaxation on America's greatest beaches have enjoyed staying at the Ocean Palms. Our casual Carlsbad resort is ideally located along the coast in Carlsbad Village, home to one of Southern California's best collections of shops and restaurants. The Ocean Palms offers a wide choice of Carlsbad accommodations. From comfortable budget rooms to luxury suites, 1, 2 and 3 Bedrooms, some with ocean views, every room offers a fully equipped kitchen. We have the unique ability to provide you with the exact sleeping arrangements you need. Whether it's adjoining rooms or a suite, we can get you the space you need at a rate you'll love. Enjoy a continental breakfast, with fresh fruit, fresh-baked cookies, Danishes, and fresh-brewed coffee. Enjoy the laid back atmosphere and the lush landscaping. We're pet friendly, there's free WiFi, a heated pool and Jacuzzi. We love families who can't get enough of the beach, so we provide free beach chairs, beach towels, boogie boards, and even free surfboards. The beach is right across the street, and the charming Village of Carlsbad is just a block away. Visiting Legoland? We're only a 10 minute drive. We're also just three blocks from the Coaster railroad station, so you can ride the train and take in all the attractions in San Diego, from a Padres Game at Petco Park to a tour of the historic aircraft carrier U.S.S. Midway. Here in North County San Diego, explore wineries and microbreweries. Welcome to your beachside home away from home. Come to the Ocean Palms, where cool Pacific breezes sweep across the enchanting Village of Carlsbad. There is no better place for families to capture the magic of Southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Ocean Palms Beach Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing