We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'd give it 100 stars if I could!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I'd give it 100 stars if I could!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

Wow. Just... Wow. Just returned from a weekend at Ocean Palms Beach Resort, and I don't know where to begin! Truly amazing. From the first phone call when I spoke with Tina, until the ease of checkout with Miles, and everything in between was perfect. The room was beautiful, nice clean white linens, several different pillows, big windows, stainless fridge and granite countertops in the full kitchen. The grounds were lush and green, and well manicured. The people working the front desk were smiley and happy. And eager to help. There was always fresh baked cookies and hot coffee ready. The beach is across the alley, with stairs leading into the sand. And the beach is clean and beautiful. Be sure to catch a sunset out there! Just amazing. The hotel is also close to the village, so lots of restaurants to walk to. I can't wait to go back! I will send my family to stay there, and any friends, anyone who wants a beautiful time in Carlsbad for a great price:)
Also, about a mile down the road, there's a crazy good breakfast place called Beach Break... OMGOSH!! Soooo yummy!! And you HAVE to try the coffee cake!! You are welcome!! Ha!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kell w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    145
    22
    16
    35
See reviews for
415
310
44
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

My wife usually finds us a place to stay when we travel and she almost always does her research. We stayed at Ocean Palms. I was very impressed with her selection. The unit we rented was immaculate and spacious. I really liked the Dutch door and the kitchen area. We were able to ask friends over for a visit and I enjoyed being able to use the guest gas grill. We were able to enjoy the outside area with the palm trees and outdoor guest fireplace. With the beach just across the street, we took a very short walk down to the ocean and enjoy our surroundings. This place was also convenient, walking distance, to stores and restaurants. What a great choice, we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank franklindreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Colony, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

This was my first time to the San Diego area and albeit I was in Carlsbad for business, my cozy beach cottage made it feel more like a vacation! My business partner booked my hotel accommodations on my behalf so I had no idea what to expect. When I arrived, it was dark, but I could tell it was very tropical! I was a tad underwhelmed with my room, so when I went to inquire about the internet connectivity, I was conversing with the hotel staff and they upgraded me to a WONDERFUL mini suite with granite countertops, an amazing shower and a Jacuzzi hot tub! I was blown away by the staff's friendliness and the hotel accommodations. LOVED the fire pits and the pool. This truly was a Hawaiian resort on the CA coast. HIGHLY recommend this resort for pleasure, extended stay, or business travel.
Shelli D.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shelli D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

We had a 5 month stay at this wonderful place like being in Hawaii,but in Carlsbad, California. So very sad to leave!!!! The best of all is the owner, Barry Blue with his warmth, sincere ness and hospitable manner. Also, his management team was devoted to make sure the quests had a very positive experience. The 2 Ocean Palms doggies Pookie and PooBear also welcomes the quests. Less than 100 feet from the ocean gave this place a tropical peaceful flare. Amenities included FREE coffee, fresh fruit, Danishes, and fresh oven-baked cookies. The list continues with a heated oversized pool with changing lights in the evening hours. The jacuzzi was hot, clean, and delightful. Flowers everywhere you looked and changed frequently. So much attention to detail. Plants, palm trees,remarkable vegetation makes one feel so close and cozy with natural beauty. Hand carved tiki trees hidden in this tropical forest . To add to one's enjoyment, fire pits to warm you in the evening. Finally, you get To feel like family and can't wait to return to this boutique hotel, AHOLA

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Barrieleiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

The last few years we have met our sons in Carlsbad for Christmas week. It is not Hawaii but for those of us from the frozen Northwest walking on the beach, in the sun no less, on Christmas day is wonderful.
We've stayed a few places in Carlsbad, so far all of them nice, but this was a great stay right across the street from the beach for what I think is a great price. They have done a good job of updating an older resort. Our unit had a kitchen which I think is a big plus. And the staff could not have been nicer. It is clean, has nice grounds, a pool, hot tub, and gas fired fire pits which were great even in December. From here you can walk anywhere in town.
There aren't many downsides that I can think of. The bathroom was tiny and the shower was even smaller. If this bothers you ask for a unit with a new bathroom when you make reservations.The kitchen had a full sized range and fridge. I'd suggest that a half sized fridge would have been plenty.
We'll go back next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you are a light sleeper, people go here to have a good time, and some rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

My wife and I have been visiting OPBR for several years now. We go during the off season - the prices are cheaper, and once you've visited they send you coupons with 20-40% off. The rooms are very nice, some remodeled others in the process. Each room has a kitchen for meal savings, and the beach and sunsets is across the street and down the steps. There are restaurants within waking distance.

Room Tip: You can get the smaller studio's (including a kitchen) for as little as $99 a night during off s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kidb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

I have stayed at the Ocean Beach resort a couple times and have enjoyed myself every time. The location is perfect to walk to dinner and have a little night dance. My wife and I appreciate the room service and fire pits to BBQ next to.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
2.0 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
0.1 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
0.1 mi away
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Property: Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Address: 2950 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2952
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Palms Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For generations, families visiting San Diego's North County for fun and relaxation on America's greatest beaches have enjoyed staying at the Ocean Palms. Our casual Carlsbad resort is ideally located along the coast in Carlsbad Village, home to one of Southern California's best collections of shops and restaurants. The Ocean Palms offers a wide choice of Carlsbad accommodations. From comfortable budget rooms to luxury suites, 1, 2 and 3 Bedrooms, some with ocean views, every room offers a fully equipped kitchen. We have the unique ability to provide you with the exact sleeping arrangements you need. Whether it's adjoining rooms or a suite, we can get you the space you need at a rate you'll love. Enjoy a continental breakfast, with fresh fruit, fresh-baked cookies, Danishes, and fresh-brewed coffee. Enjoy the laid back atmosphere and the lush landscaping. We're pet friendly, there's free WiFi, a heated pool and Jacuzzi. We love families who can't get enough of the beach, so we provide free beach chairs, beach towels, boogie boards, and even free surfboards. The beach is right across the street, and the charming Village of Carlsbad is just a block away. Visiting Legoland? We're only a 10 minute drive. We're also just three blocks from the Coaster railroad station, so you can ride the train and take in all the attractions in San Diego, from a Padres Game at Petco Park to a tour of the historic aircraft carrier U.S.S. Midway. Here in North County San Diego, explore wineries and microbreweries. Welcome to your beachside home away from home. Come to the Ocean Palms, where cool Pacific breezes sweep across the enchanting Village of Carlsbad. There is no better place for families to capture the magic of Southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Ocean Palms Beach Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing