We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AZ TO CBAD!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2013

My family and I have been coming to Carlsbad over 40 years! We rented a house down the street until the owner sold the house. As a young child and teenager, I always remember the Ocean Palms Resort on our daily walks. My dad would send us down to buy the newspaper, which at that time was the one you put the money in, open it up, and take ONE newspaper out. It was right out front of the resort. Many more memories of past years and present! The grounds and property have always been well kept and have that tropical feeling! We started staying there over 20 years ago, and we look forward to our summer trip every July! The staff is friendly and helpful at all times. Counting down the days until we return!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank susan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,031)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Palms Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

711 - 717 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

I found this place on Trip Advisor, and what a find! The location is perfect! Steps to a white sand, surfing beach, and just around the corner from many excellent eateries! Despite being close to anything you need, the Ocean Palms has an intimate and cozy feel that lends itself to total relaxation. Friendly office staff (Miles was especially helpful!) a gym, jaquizzi, swimming pool and fire pit are included in your stay. The two bedroom suite was perfect for a family of 6. Will be back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanAboutTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We've come back every year since we found this gem. As other reviewers have noted, easy beach access, shopping, restaurants, stores...all within walking distance. We only live 40 minutes away...we pack the car, drive to Ocean Palms, find a parking spot, and don't move the car again until we go home a week later. It is a wonderful place for gathering with friends. We typically have 2-3 families get separate units and enjoy spending mornings and evenings in the common areas...days on the beach. They have been upgrading the units over the years with high end amenities like granite counters and stainless appliances. The staff and owners have always been very pleasant and friendly. Even though we never leave San Diego County, we are relaxed and refreshed after a week of the most difficult decision being which restaurant we want to patronize each night!!

Room Tip: Rooms for every taste and party size. If you are downstairs, you will hear noise from above, especia...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ted N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Our family has been enjoying staying at this property for 30+ years. We return each year because you can't beat the location. Walk across the street to the beach or walk to one of the many awesome restaurants in Carlsbad Village. Yes, there are fancier or newer properties yet we find having your room open onto the lush courtyard a huge benefit if an ocean view right on the beach room is not in your budget.

Room Tip: All the rooms have their own advantages, just as long as you don't get my room on my families...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Tori E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We've been coming to this hotel for over twenty years and it's our favorite vacation place. It has easy access to the beach, downtown shopping, and you can walk to the train station and ride the Coaster to San Diego for the day. We came one year at Halloween and enjoyed walking around the town to see the booths and the kids dressed in their costumes.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed one night on our way down to San Diego in this charming hotel. The room was spacious and the double bed huge. The pool area was well maintained and overall although the place is a little bit dated it is well maintained and clean. The location is perfect and so is the customer service. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lomo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Our family has been coming to Ocean Palms resorts for years. We like to go to the beach as well as hang out in downtown Carlsbad. The walk score for this hotel must be high because it is close to fantastic restaurants/bars (many with live music), convenient stores, and some of the best beaches in America.

The hotel is off the 101 but it really does feel like your in Hawaii and if you keep a window open at night, you can hear the ocean from your room. Also, the rooms are clean and the staff is nice. The prices are moderate. A good time is guaranteed in the downtown village of Carlsbad CA. Our village has a good mix of both locals and tourists.

Room Tip: if you want a little kitchen in your room make sure to ask. Most of the rooms have them but not all.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dandoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,329 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
988 reviews
6.8 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Address: 2950 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2952
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: £129 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Palms Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For generations, families visiting San Diego's North County for fun and relaxation on America's greatest beaches have enjoyed staying at the Ocean Palms. Our casual Carlsbad resort is ideally located along the coast in Carlsbad Village, home to one of Southern California's best collections of shops and restaurants. The Ocean Palms offers a wide choice of Carlsbad accommodations. From comfortable budget rooms to luxury suites, 1, 2 and 3 Bedrooms, some with ocean views, every room offers a fully equipped kitchen. We have the unique ability to provide you with the exact sleeping arrangements you need. Whether it's adjoining rooms or a suite, we can get you the space you need at a rate you'll love. Enjoy a continental breakfast, with fresh fruit, fresh-baked cookies, Danishes, and fresh-brewed coffee. Enjoy the laid back atmosphere and the lush landscaping. We're pet friendly, there's free WiFi, a heated pool and Jacuzzi. We love families who can't get enough of the beach, so we provide free beach chairs, beach towels, boogie boards, and even free surfboards. The beach is right across the street, and the charming Village of Carlsbad is just a block away. Visiting Legoland? We're only a 10 minute drive. We're also just three blocks from the Coaster railroad station, so you can ride the train and take in all the attractions in San Diego, from a Padres Game at Petco Park to a tour of the historic aircraft carrier U.S.S. Midway. Here in North County San Diego, explore wineries and microbreweries. Welcome to your beachside home away from home. Come to the Ocean Palms, where cool Pacific breezes sweep across the enchanting Village of Carlsbad. There is no better place for families to capture the magic of Southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Ocean Palms Beach Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing