We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet little Southern California Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Like Marilyn Monroe, this renovated mid-century modern hotel has charm and good looks. It's classy and kitschy and reminiscent of Old School Southern California. The staff members are all very friendly, the grounds and pool are small but lovely with FABULOUS lush landscaping. LOVE the outdoor fire pits and fireplace with Adirondack chairs !!!

My room was the smallest (that is all I needed) but tidy with a premium upgrade on the bathroom. With their beautiful suites, this would be a great place for the whole family to stay...which is what we might do someday...as the beach access is just across a little side street, beach chairs are free and the walkability of downtown Carlsbad is a solid ten. I recommend getting artesian well water from the 'Spa' on the main street. If you consume this healthy elixir during your entire stay you will leave totally refreshed.
Side Notes: As a woman travelling alone, safety is important. Carlsbad is one of the safest communities in S. CA. Of course, always watch out for yourself and never go down to the beach after dark alone.
If your are sensitive to noise, make sure you mention this to the staff.
Also, I didn't like the bed...too hard for my taste.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,051)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

660 - 666 of 1,051 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

If you enjoy staying a tropical setting, you'll love this well managed and maintained resort across a quiet street to the Pacific Ocean. We've stayed here several times and it was a great experience once again. You can park your car while you're there and just walk everywhere. If you're a distance walker, you can get 4+ miles every day walking the beach or the boardwalk/sidewalk. The location is convenient to restaurants and shopping. Resort has a pool, hot tub, gym, laundry facilities and fire pits to relax by with a glass of wine each evening. There's coffee available, rolls, fruit and cookies every day. Most units have granite in bathrooms, all have granite counters in kitchen with nice appliances. It's couple and family friendly. The sunsets are beautiful in Carlsbad.

Room Tip: We like the 2nd floor at end of the porch so that we can sit out and not have anyone walking by. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy670_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My and I spent our first anniversary here. As soon as we checked in the front desk congratulated us with a complimentary bottle of wine.They also told us of all the best places to eat and drink. The hotel even gave us coupons to quite a few of the local restaurants. One thing we really loved about the hotel was how it is close it is to the beach, bars and restaurants. We are definitely going to have our anniversary here every year here until we get sick of carlsbad.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vlahos3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Ocean Palms was a fantastic place to stay when my husband and I spent a weekend in Carlsbad. They are dog friendly, too, so we were able to bring our Boston Terrier with us (who loved it there). Staff is friendly, premises are clean, and the location can't be beat. Right by the beach and all the shops and restaurants in Carlsbad. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Ocean Palms has a true beach resort feel to it, lush flowers and palm trees everywhere, and the sound of the sea, which is about a 1-minute walk from most rooms. The rooms are recently updated to a high standard, and they come in all sizes and shapes. Most if not all include kitchen facilities, a huge convenience if you do not wish to eat out every meal. The atmosphere is friendly & welcoming, and the desk staff go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and have the room with the amenities you want. There is a pool, of course, and a hot tub, a gym, and an outdoor shower for rinsing the sand & salt off. There are fire pits for a romantic evening, and fresh-baked cookies for teatime. There are great shops, cafés, pubs, and restaurants within easy walking distance, as well as a long oceanside promenade with plenty of access stairs down to the beach (there is a ramp as well, for people who don't wish to climb stairs). We have stayed here twice and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Some 2nd floor rooms have a peek view of the Pacific. Often the desk staff will let you look at a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Saoirse48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This is a lovely hidden gem! The suites were so tastefully updated and decorated! We were so comfortable. The grounds were so pretty to look at too. The staff so friendly and the room staff did above and beyond to keep the room spotless everyday. We will MOST DEFINITELY be back as our daughter just moved to California and we are going to visit often. Our new place to visit! The location perfect too on a quiet street...steps to the gorgeous Carlsbad Beach...So glad we found this place and stayed here for a wonderful week!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are perfect as they are all updated and stylish! They were doing construction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Debra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Great place, great staff, we will be staying there when were ever in Carlsbad area, great restaurants around you, that you can walk to, great wine bar close bye, hotel is a gym by the ocean. price just right, all I can say that anyone that's stays there will love it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,347 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
6.8 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Address: 2950 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2952
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: £126 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Palms Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For generations, families visiting San Diego's North County for fun and relaxation on America's greatest beaches have enjoyed staying at the Ocean Palms. Our casual Carlsbad resort is ideally located along the coast in Carlsbad Village, home to one of Southern California's best collections of shops and restaurants. The Ocean Palms offers a wide choice of Carlsbad accommodations. From comfortable budget rooms to luxury suites, 1, 2 and 3 Bedrooms, some with ocean views, every room offers a fully equipped kitchen. We have the unique ability to provide you with the exact sleeping arrangements you need. Whether it's adjoining rooms or a suite, we can get you the space you need at a rate you'll love. Enjoy a continental breakfast, with fresh fruit, fresh-baked cookies, Danishes, and fresh-brewed coffee. Enjoy the laid back atmosphere and the lush landscaping. We're pet friendly, there's free WiFi, a heated pool and Jacuzzi. We love families who can't get enough of the beach, so we provide free beach chairs, beach towels, boogie boards, and even free surfboards. The beach is right across the street, and the charming Village of Carlsbad is just a block away. Visiting Legoland? We're only a 10 minute drive. We're also just three blocks from the Coaster railroad station, so you can ride the train and take in all the attractions in San Diego, from a Padres Game at Petco Park to a tour of the historic aircraft carrier U.S.S. Midway. Here in North County San Diego, explore wineries and microbreweries. Welcome to your beachside home away from home. Come to the Ocean Palms, where cool Pacific breezes sweep across the enchanting Village of Carlsbad. There is no better place for families to capture the magic of Southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Ocean Palms Beach Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing