We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find, will be back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Old Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
“Great find, will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Was so fortunate to find this place! The room was updated, neat, and just what I needed to wind down after long days of meetings. This is not the place for you if you do not enjoy ocean breezes and going to sleep/waking up to the sound of the ocean waves. Short walk to town and the steps to the beach literally across the street, watching the sunset over the ocean was amazing. Not only will I be back, I'm ready to move in! Thank you to Barry and the great staff!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    145
    22
    17
    35
See reviews for
416
311
44
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We were totally WOW'ed by the room and all the nice homey touches! I really felt at home and felt as though everything was done as though they were decorating their own home! NOT to mention the easy beach access and restaurants and shopping galore all in walking distance! I was so please with this hotel! I would highly recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: Even the studio has a FULL kitchen (full stove, fridge and kitchen). Should you want to save money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel the night before our stay after checking out trip advisor reviews.We were so pleasantly surprised.The hotel has been recently renovated and our room was so in key dine.Comfy bed, new kitchen and bathroom and even a bright hand painted mural on the wall. we understand they have only 5 more rooms to complete the renovation . they have done rally good job .We enjoyed the Poland even the fireplace and fire pits at neigh that light up each night in the sitting area.

The ocean /beach was just across the street and there were restaurants and shops all within walking distance. As they had a full kitchen it is a perfect affordable option for families.We hope to come back for a longer stay with family members .

Staff was friendly and helpful and they provided beach chairs and towels to sign out at no extra cost.That allowed us the ability to enjoy a few hours on the beach before we had to leave.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorisuet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Came here on a last minute vacation with our two little ones. It beat our expectations and was a great value. Very friendly and laid back staff, clean, newly remodeled rooms... I could go on and on. Beach is across the street, great restaurants and the coaster are in walking distance... Also, close to Legoland. Stay here, you won't regret it!

Room Tip: If you have kids ask for the mini suite or bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Horha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I came to Carlsbad for the first time for 2 days and nights to take my daughters to the San Diego Zoo, Legoland, etc. Myles was very friendly and helpful on the phone when I made my reservation and Jose was great when we checked in --- extremely helpful with restaurant suggestions, directions, fun things with the kids etc. The room was clean and newly renovated and it was great to have a full kitchen. Great restaurants are walking distance and the beach is right across the street. We will come back.

Room Tip: make sure you know the size of the room and ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

and friend and me stayed for 2 nights. it was a really great stay. first we only wanted to stay for one night, but we loved it so much that we stayed another night. the room was very spacious and clean, the staff is awesome. super helpful and friendly! and, Todd, you are the man! thank you all!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Thisismx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Another wonderful stay at Ocean Palms for my birthday. This is the 3rd year in a row for me to celebrate my birthday at the hotel. Always a fun place to be. So convenient to walk to the local places for happy hour, dinner and music. Not to mention the beach is across the street. Love the morning and afternoon walks along the boardwalk. Stayed in room 104 again which is my new favorite. Great for two with a large bathroom separate shower and bath tub. The beds are so comfortable and love the down comforters as well as the large fluffy pillows. The staff as always were so very helpful.. Barry, Bear, Tina, Miles, Todd, Jose and the housekeeping staff are there to help with what ever I needed. You all made my birthday very special and I look forward to my next stay at my home away from home!!! Happy girl!!!

Room Tip: There are so many different floor plans and styles. Look on their website or call and talk to one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
2.0 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4.6 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
0.1 mi away
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Property: Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Address: 2950 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2952
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Palms Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For generations, families visiting San Diego's North County for fun and relaxation on America's greatest beaches have enjoyed staying at the Ocean Palms. Our casual Carlsbad resort is ideally located along the coast in Carlsbad Village, home to one of Southern California's best collections of shops and restaurants. The Ocean Palms offers a wide choice of Carlsbad accommodations. From comfortable budget rooms to luxury suites, 1, 2 and 3 Bedrooms, some with ocean views, every room offers a fully equipped kitchen. We have the unique ability to provide you with the exact sleeping arrangements you need. Whether it's adjoining rooms or a suite, we can get you the space you need at a rate you'll love. Enjoy a continental breakfast, with fresh fruit, fresh-baked cookies, Danishes, and fresh-brewed coffee. Enjoy the laid back atmosphere and the lush landscaping. We're pet friendly, there's free WiFi, a heated pool and Jacuzzi. We love families who can't get enough of the beach, so we provide free beach chairs, beach towels, boogie boards, and even free surfboards. The beach is right across the street, and the charming Village of Carlsbad is just a block away. Visiting Legoland? We're only a 10 minute drive. We're also just three blocks from the Coaster railroad station, so you can ride the train and take in all the attractions in San Diego, from a Padres Game at Petco Park to a tour of the historic aircraft carrier U.S.S. Midway. Here in North County San Diego, explore wineries and microbreweries. Welcome to your beachside home away from home. Come to the Ocean Palms, where cool Pacific breezes sweep across the enchanting Village of Carlsbad. There is no better place for families to capture the magic of Southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Ocean Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Ocean Palms Beach Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing