We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay at Ocean Palms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This was a perfect location for our family. We loved the apartment and being able to walk everywhere - in fact next time we would not rent a car at all. We would catch a train from San Diego and just walk to the hotel. The hotel provided us with boards for surfing, chairs for the beach and the stairs to the beach were a stone's throw away. There are BBQ's on the property to use - which we did one evening. Pool and hot tub were pleasant,never over crowded. Some great coffee shops in walking distance, as well as restaurants for dinner. We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oceankidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,039)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

623 - 629 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

This our 3rd stay in the last year at Ocean Palms Resort. The first time we stayed was by accident - nothing else available in the area and I'm grateful that happened. We like it a year ago before all the remodeling but now we REALLY like it. This place ROCKS any place around. The proximately to the beach is fantastic - literally across the street and down the stairs and you're. Plenty of restaurants in the area within walking distance. The Coaster is within walking distance if you want to go into San Diego. The peaceful surroundings at the resort are wonderful. The pool is heated. It also has a hot tub. They have grills for your use, fire pits lit at night to sit around and relax, a mini store. The staff is amazing - very helpful. Miles and Todd were there to answer any questions about the area. Very friendly. The updated rooms are beautiful. There is a mini kitchen with kitchen items available for your use, a stove, and refrigerator. Can wait for our return trip.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Phyllis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the weekend and really wished we were staying longer. Our son is in the marines and we came out to visit. Love this little village. Everything is working walking distance of the hotel. Beach is literally across the street. Loved our 2 bedroom unit. Clean and comfy. Reception has been extremely helpful & friendly. You are allowed to check out beach chairs , umbrellas, towels, boogie boards and so on. The lush landscaping, pool area, and fire pits just make this property such a welcome retreat. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is a really fun, dog friendly property across the street from the beach (note: other residences across the street, so limited ocean views). It's advertised as a bit of Hawaii in S Cal and that fits with the lush landscaping and fabulous murals painted on the walls of each room. The rooms are updated and beautiful plus our bed was comfy. The staff is friendly & helpful. There are gas fire pits in the courtyard that are lit at night and a great way to end the evening. The property has easy beach access and is close to a boardwalk that is a nice walk along the ocean. No dogs allowed on the beach or sea wall walk but they are allowed on the upper walkway near the street. Restaurants & stores are within easy walking distance in the village and we enjoyed the Farmers Market. Overall a pleasant experience!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaLee50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Was so fortunate to find this place! The room was updated, neat, and just what I needed to wind down after long days of meetings. This is not the place for you if you do not enjoy ocean breezes and going to sleep/waking up to the sound of the ocean waves. Short walk to town and the steps to the beach literally across the street, watching the sunset over the ocean was amazing. Not only will I be back, I'm ready to move in! Thank you to Barry and the great staff!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We were totally WOW'ed by the room and all the nice homey touches! I really felt at home and felt as though everything was done as though they were decorating their own home! NOT to mention the easy beach access and restaurants and shopping galore all in walking distance! I was so please with this hotel! I would highly recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: Even the studio has a FULL kitchen (full stove, fridge and kitchen). Should you want to save money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We booked this hotel the night before our stay after checking out trip advisor reviews.We were so pleasantly surprised.The hotel has been recently renovated and our room was so in key dine.Comfy bed, new kitchen and bathroom and even a bright hand painted mural on the wall. we understand they have only 5 more rooms to complete the renovation . they have done rally good job .We enjoyed the Poland even the fireplace and fire pits at neigh that light up each night in the sitting area.

The ocean /beach was just across the street and there were restaurants and shops all within walking distance. As they had a full kitchen it is a perfect affordable option for families.We hope to come back for a longer stay with family members .

Staff was friendly and helpful and they provided beach chairs and towels to sign out at no extra cost.That allowed us the ability to enjoy a few hours on the beach before we had to leave.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lorisuet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,342 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
6.8 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Address: 2950 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2952
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: £129 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Palms Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For generations, families visiting San Diego's North County for fun and relaxation on America's greatest beaches have enjoyed staying at the Ocean Palms. Our casual Carlsbad resort is ideally located along the coast in Carlsbad Village, home to one of Southern California's best collections of shops and restaurants. The Ocean Palms offers a wide choice of Carlsbad accommodations. From comfortable budget rooms to luxury suites, 1, 2 and 3 Bedrooms, some with ocean views, every room offers a fully equipped kitchen. We have the unique ability to provide you with the exact sleeping arrangements you need. Whether it's adjoining rooms or a suite, we can get you the space you need at a rate you'll love. Enjoy a continental breakfast, with fresh fruit, fresh-baked cookies, Danishes, and fresh-brewed coffee. Enjoy the laid back atmosphere and the lush landscaping. We're pet friendly, there's free WiFi, a heated pool and Jacuzzi. We love families who can't get enough of the beach, so we provide free beach chairs, beach towels, boogie boards, and even free surfboards. The beach is right across the street, and the charming Village of Carlsbad is just a block away. Visiting Legoland? We're only a 10 minute drive. We're also just three blocks from the Coaster railroad station, so you can ride the train and take in all the attractions in San Diego, from a Padres Game at Petco Park to a tour of the historic aircraft carrier U.S.S. Midway. Here in North County San Diego, explore wineries and microbreweries. Welcome to your beachside home away from home. Come to the Ocean Palms, where cool Pacific breezes sweep across the enchanting Village of Carlsbad. There is no better place for families to capture the magic of Southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Ocean Palms Beach Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing