We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hawaii comes to Carlsbad!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hawaii comes to Carlsbad!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Our second stay here, we were equally satisfied as the first time. The room was perfect as expected; clean, with friendly staff and all the amenities that we come to expect when on vacation. My son spent his entire time going from the beach to the pool to the jacuzzi to the beach to the pool to the jacuzzi. If he had known about the free pastries offered every morning I am sure we would have been in the lobby more than we were! Local restaurants offer anything from a slice of pizza to a four course 5 star meal, all with in walking distance (consider we had an autistic person and a grandmother in her eighties). All walked the pedestrian friendly streets of Carlsbad.
The grounds of Ocean Palms are exotic, private, pet friendly, and invoke a tropical experience comparable to an intimate island resort.
Kudos to Ocean Palms. .. We absolutely love this place!

Room Tip: Get one of the lanai suites (1-3 bdrm)facing the front. Parking is right the in front, steps away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank fmsannipoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    151
    24
    17
    35
See reviews for
449
323
51
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My only real objection to this hotel is that, when we called up to make a (admittedly last minute due to circumstances I am still too angry to rationally describe) reservation, we were told that the room would have an ocean view, and a 180 degree panorama. There was no ocean view, unless you jumped up and looked through the rooftops across the street. Not at all what we were told when we called in.

That aside, we enjoyed our stay. The room was roomy, clean and comfortable, nicely decorated with an island theme. While there was no ocean view, the ocean was just steps away, and the village area with shops and restaurants was just around back. What we really liked, though, was the courtyard, with the fireplace and fire pits. Made for a nice romantic, albeit public, way to end the day; a bottle of wine, a little snack, a fire to keep warm. Nice.

Was supposed to have a continental breakfast, but we never saw it. Probably hidden in the office.

Anyway, it is a nice, pet friendly, conveniently located place. Just do not expect to see the ocean.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank WhiskeyPriest_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California, Usa
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The condo was first class. The staff was extremely accommodating and the location is unbeatable. Our kids could surf anytime and Carlsbad is as good as it gets. Totally safe location to let the kids do whatever they want and the adults to do the same. Never drove the cars after we parked them.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Great location, clean, up to date, friendly, would stay there again. There is a running trail right down the ocean front, grocery store, Starbucks and a ton of shopping. The night life was super fun thur-sunday

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindyloulou2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was our second time staying there. We love the location (just steps from the beach) and the benefit of having a kitchen. The hotel is not huge or fancy, but the rooms are recently redone with granite counters, crown molding, and are well decorated. The grounds have many great areas for relaxing. The fire pit area is a favorite of ours in the evening. We stayed in a luxury 1 bedroom and the bed was so comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kristen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were generally quite pleased with our three night stay here. The best part is the location...across the street from the beach and within walking distance to lots of great restaurants, shopping, etc. Our room had been recently updated and had a kitchenette, which was nice. The room was missing a few basics, like a closet for example...not much room for hanging clothes. Also there was a large family reunion at the property, with LOTS of little kids. Not a problem, but privacy wasn't particularly plentiful as the parents didn't keep a very close eye on the kids. Finally, parking is at a premium here. When you find a spot, keep it and try to walk as much as you can. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Rooms looked newly remodeled, clean and the resort was right across the street from Carlsbad beach. They provided complimentary beach towels and beach toys. Will definitely be back! Plus dog friendly but walls seemed a little thin for my dog who likes to bark at little noises.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,310 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
3.5 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
3.0 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Property: Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Address: 2950 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2952
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Palms Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For generations, families visiting San Diego's North County for fun and relaxation on America's greatest beaches have enjoyed staying at the Ocean Palms. Our casual Carlsbad resort is ideally located along the coast in Carlsbad Village, home to one of Southern California's best collections of shops and restaurants. The Ocean Palms offers a wide choice of Carlsbad accommodations. From comfortable budget rooms to luxury suites, 1, 2 and 3 Bedrooms, some with ocean views, every room offers a fully equipped kitchen. We have the unique ability to provide you with the exact sleeping arrangements you need. Whether it's adjoining rooms or a suite, we can get you the space you need at a rate you'll love. Enjoy a continental breakfast, with fresh fruit, fresh-baked cookies, Danishes, and fresh-brewed coffee. Enjoy the laid back atmosphere and the lush landscaping. We're pet friendly, there's free WiFi, a heated pool and Jacuzzi. We love families who can't get enough of the beach, so we provide free beach chairs, beach towels, boogie boards, and even free surfboards. The beach is right across the street, and the charming Village of Carlsbad is just a block away. Visiting Legoland? We're only a 10 minute drive. We're also just three blocks from the Coaster railroad station, so you can ride the train and take in all the attractions in San Diego, from a Padres Game at Petco Park to a tour of the historic aircraft carrier U.S.S. Midway. Here in North County San Diego, explore wineries and microbreweries. Welcome to your beachside home away from home. Come to the Ocean Palms, where cool Pacific breezes sweep across the enchanting Village of Carlsbad. There is no better place for families to capture the magic of Southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Ocean Palms Beach Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing