We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic in Carlsbad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is one of the most fun, and best properties that we have stayed in....Close to the beach, and lots of Restaurants and fun bars,...all within Walking distance. Of course, if you choose to drive, there are a lot of other attractions in the area. You can even take the Coaster (train) to San Diego to visit the Midway Aircraft Museum, or take in a Ball game.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,053)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

576 - 582 of 1,053 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

Great place to vacation. Staff is great. Location is perfect beaches are clean. I would stay here year after year. Great job on all the new renovations! Love the fire pits and the rooms are great! Everything is clean and we'll maintained.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freqenttrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Small resort like hotel, perfectly located by the beach, very friendly atmosphere and staff, family oriented, landscaping is very well maintained and feels like being in Hawaii, fire pits on site to roast marshmallows, nice pool and close to the fun beach town will make this place ideal for a family vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivierdecourson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Why would anyone stay in a hotel when they can stay in their own beautiful little apartment, with resort amenities, at Ocean Palms? Our family (2 adults and 3 children ages 3, 7 & 15) stayed in one of the Ocean Palms 2 bedroom suites. Beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean, full sized appliances in the kitchen and comfy beds. TVs in both bedrooms, so the teen could watch something and the babies could watch something else while I was watching the playoffs. Nice sized pool and hot tub, great outdoor lounge area. The teen met fun kids to play with. We enjoyed chatting with other adults in the hot tub. Quick walk across the street and down some stairs to the beach, although there's another row of beach houses on the beach, so you don't really get a beach view. But the grounds are very pretty and it's quiet at night. The resort provides you with beach towels and chairs, so you don't have to lug all that stuff with you. Oceanside shops and restaurants are a pleasant stroll away. The staff is unfailingly friendly, polite and accommodating. Even if you find a lower price on a travel website versus their website, call them directly and ask them if they'll match it. They did for me (she verified my claim first, so don't try to make it up) and it was so pleasant to deal with a real person who could answer all my questions immediately. It's not a cheap place to stay, but certainly less than most places of comparable quality and so worth the splurge.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank maxsmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Beautiful grounds. Friendly and accommodating staff. Rooms are clean and recently remodeled.
They provide beach towels, chairs, and boogie boards free of charge. The small gym could use some updating and de-cluttering.

Room Tip: If you have kids, stay on the ground floor near the pool area. If you want quiet, stay upstairs and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bill k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My kids, dog and I had such a great time during the one night stay that we booked labor day weekend before leaving. Looking forward to going back in a couple of weeks now so we can enjoy the beach for a few days in a row. I grew up in this town, its nice to have a place where my kids can get out of L.A. and experience the value of beach life.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The Ocean Palms Beach Resort is a very nice place for families. Right across from the beach!
We loved it and will be back next year! The kids loved it and it was relaxing for parents because of the beach access and the pool onsite.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tiffany A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,349 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
6.8 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Address: 2950 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2952
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: £121 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Palms Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For generations, families visiting San Diego's North County for fun and relaxation on America's greatest beaches have enjoyed staying at the Ocean Palms. Our casual Carlsbad resort is ideally located along the coast in Carlsbad Village, home to one of Southern California's best collections of shops and restaurants. The Ocean Palms offers a wide choice of Carlsbad accommodations. From comfortable budget rooms to luxury suites, 1, 2 and 3 Bedrooms, some with ocean views, every room offers a fully equipped kitchen. We have the unique ability to provide you with the exact sleeping arrangements you need. Whether it's adjoining rooms or a suite, we can get you the space you need at a rate you'll love. Enjoy a continental breakfast, with fresh fruit, fresh-baked cookies, Danishes, and fresh-brewed coffee. Enjoy the laid back atmosphere and the lush landscaping. We're pet friendly, there's free WiFi, a heated pool and Jacuzzi. We love families who can't get enough of the beach, so we provide free beach chairs, beach towels, boogie boards, and even free surfboards. The beach is right across the street, and the charming Village of Carlsbad is just a block away. Visiting Legoland? We're only a 10 minute drive. We're also just three blocks from the Coaster railroad station, so you can ride the train and take in all the attractions in San Diego, from a Padres Game at Petco Park to a tour of the historic aircraft carrier U.S.S. Midway. Here in North County San Diego, explore wineries and microbreweries. Welcome to your beachside home away from home. Come to the Ocean Palms, where cool Pacific breezes sweep across the enchanting Village of Carlsbad. There is no better place for families to capture the magic of Southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Ocean Palms Beach Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing