We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean Palms could be a lot better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2007

My family stayed at Ocean Palms for a week and enjoyed the fact that it was so close to the beach, had a pool onsite, and a courtyard where many would gather in the evenings for a drink, to listen to music or play games. But unfortunately the rooms leave a lot to be desired. The room we stayed in was very small, the bed was terribly uncomfortable and left me with a backache, the shower was so small that it was claustrophobic and the television was snapping and sparking everytime we would turn it on, and I was afraid the place was going to catch on fire. When we notified the office of the problem they didn't seem concerned, sent a guy to look at it but never replaced the television. We were actually willing to look past all that because we enjoyed the fact that our room had a porch that faced the ocean (didn't really have an ocean view since a building across the way blocked it) that we enjoyed sitting out on to watch the people go by as we had our coffee in the morning, but unlike most of the places around Carlsbad, this place does not give the people renting the room first dibs on that room for the next year when they reserve it before the end of their stay, and they rented it out from under us. So, we went down the street and found a place even closer to the beach which was much larger for less money. Now I am so glad that we weren't able to rent at Ocean Palms again because the porch was not worth the money we were spending on the place and now my back will not hurt when I wake up in the mornings.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachboogy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,020 - 1,026 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2006

For our family retreat we rented adjoining Luxury Mini Suites in the renovated section over the pool and hottub area and it was a fabulous experience. Rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. The dining areas in the courtyards made for great outdoor dining areas and the ambiance of the tahitian style carved palms, planting and lighting made for a exotic experience. Had recently been in Maui and found that our stay here was more relaxing and tropical than Maui. The easy access to the beach was great and the close proximity of Starbucks and numerous restuarants within walking distance made this stay one we will repeat again next year. The only complaint was the mattress on the pullout couch was sad but the regular bed was great. Definite repeat adventure.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2006

The hotel overall was what we expected...the older rooms are plain and outdated, but clean. It's the cheapest you'll pay to be that close to the water.

On the other hand, our good experience was greatly tarnished after we actually left...a few days later I noticed some extra charges on my credit card from the Ocean Palms. Being that we had paid in full before we even got there I was confused and called to let them know that a mistake had been made on our card. The first call I made I spoke to the manager who informed me that the price had changed and our room cost more, and that even though the confirmation we recieved in the mail said that we had paid in full...what we signed at check in had a different price.

The lesson...read carefully what you sign here, because after you leave and they already have your money...you get a "tough luck" reaction from the management at Ocean Palms.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank star_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2006

Paid $187 for an experience that was a step back to the impoverished days of the depression. The room was full of depression era type furniture, very old and HIGHLY used. I paid an extra $5 for a wireless internet connection which never connected, but received no refund. The bed, the bathroom, the floors, the 14 inch tv which only received one of the four major networks..."awful" is too kind of word to describe it. It was so bad I could not sleep in the broken down bed. With about an hour of sleep in this mess, I got up at 5:30 in the morning, checked out, and hit the highway NEVER to return. This is a nightmare I would not recomend for anyone to live. I stay in about 35 hotels a year, and this was the worst since I accidently got booked into a brothel hotel in Lagos Nigeria in the 80's. And the staff...nice but not trained.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2006

Well, you have to keep in mind that not all rooms are newly remodeled. My boyfriend and I stayed in what they call a mini suite. True, it was spacious and equipped with a full kitchen, but it was in bad need of a paint job and new furniture. The mattress was so old, it had lost its springs. The blinds next to our bed were broken and could not close. Therefore, we were awaken by the early sun shining through the windows and onto our faces. The sleeper/sofa was a nice touch with the exotic flower/ leopard print. ?? leopard print? The bathroom is another story. The shower was so small and claustrophobic. It was one of those shower stalls that only allows room for you to stand- no bending allowed. Anyways, there are fire pits and picnic tables on the grounds. That was a nice touch. Another plus was the receptionist. She was very kind and pleasant. Location was great. Just steps away from the beach. I suppose I was paying for the location? I've stayed at better rooms at smaller motels. At least they paint the walls, have blinds/curtains that work, and have updated showers.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TINIKLING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Colorado Springs, Colorado
111
Reviewed 29 January 2005

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Chandler, AZ
18
Reviewed 30 June 2004

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,346 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
6.8 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Address: 2950 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2952
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: £131 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Palms Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For generations, families visiting San Diego's North County for fun and relaxation on America's greatest beaches have enjoyed staying at the Ocean Palms. Our casual Carlsbad resort is ideally located along the coast in Carlsbad Village, home to one of Southern California's best collections of shops and restaurants. The Ocean Palms offers a wide choice of Carlsbad accommodations. From comfortable budget rooms to luxury suites, 1, 2 and 3 Bedrooms, some with ocean views, every room offers a fully equipped kitchen. We have the unique ability to provide you with the exact sleeping arrangements you need. Whether it's adjoining rooms or a suite, we can get you the space you need at a rate you'll love. Enjoy a continental breakfast, with fresh fruit, fresh-baked cookies, Danishes, and fresh-brewed coffee. Enjoy the laid back atmosphere and the lush landscaping. We're pet friendly, there's free WiFi, a heated pool and Jacuzzi. We love families who can't get enough of the beach, so we provide free beach chairs, beach towels, boogie boards, and even free surfboards. The beach is right across the street, and the charming Village of Carlsbad is just a block away. Visiting Legoland? We're only a 10 minute drive. We're also just three blocks from the Coaster railroad station, so you can ride the train and take in all the attractions in San Diego, from a Padres Game at Petco Park to a tour of the historic aircraft carrier U.S.S. Midway. Here in North County San Diego, explore wineries and microbreweries. Welcome to your beachside home away from home. Come to the Ocean Palms, where cool Pacific breezes sweep across the enchanting Village of Carlsbad. There is no better place for families to capture the magic of Southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ocean Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Ocean Palms Beach Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing