We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 June 2011

The front desk staff at the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful, however, the hotel itsself was not as nice as I thought it would be. I was put in a handicapped accessible room (not sure why... and didn't ask to move because I just didn't want to bother with it). The shower was kind of grimey looking and I didn't feel comfortable showering without flip flops on. I was also surprised to find an empty water bottle on the floor beside my bed. It's not much... but why wouldn't housekeeping just pick it up? It was right there out in the open.

The room was nice enough, but the hallway was extremely noisy. I must have been situated near a cleaning supply closet or something because several times a day there would be a loud banging like someone desperately knocking on a door. The walls are thin, so I could hear everything the guests above and beside me did. Water running upstairs and stomping, tv and music coming through the side wall.

The beach is very hard to get to. It is not a "beach front" hotel. You have to cross a highway, walk about half a mile, then climb down a steep cliff to get to the beach.

Also, on a Saturday (early afternoon) a child pooped in the pool. The hotel cannot control children (thats their parents job) but because of that the pool was closed all Saturday and into the afternoon on Sunday. I'm not sure about the sanitization process for something like that but it took a long time. I don't know if other guests were comped anything for the lack of a pool, but I wasn't offered any sort of discount due to the inconvenience. (I didn't ask for anything.. I would just think that if something like that happened, the hotel would provide its guests with compensation).

The "high speed internet" is free, but not high speed. I could not access websites such as netflix, hulu, or use skype (except for at short random intervals throughout the day) due to the extreme lag in the internet. It was too slow to do pretty much anything.

The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The tv worked well and had a lot of channel choices. The room service food (pizza) was very good but overpriced (as expected). The hotel is situated near the Carlsbad Outlets for good shopping.

Overall, it was a fine hotel, just not as nice as some other Hilton Garden Inns I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HGIcustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UltimateServiceGuru, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2011

Greetings from the Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach while recently visiting the north San Diego area. We would like to take a moment to sincerely thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us on tripadvisor.com. It is our firm belief that the best way to improve upon the level of guest service we are known for is through constant guest feedback; be it good, bad, or indifferent, there is something to be taken away from every comment a guest makes about their experience. Your feedback is invaluable to our continued success.

As you mentioned in your review we did face an unexpected situation with a child having an accident in our pool. While we wish we could always prevent situations like the one you mentioned, some things are beyond our control. Luckily we were able to provide a complimentary shuttle to a neighboring hotel so our guests could use their pool until ours was open again at 10am Sunday. Our guests love our beautiful pool and it was very unfortunate to have to close it, but guest safety is always our number one goal. I apologize for any inconvenience you suffered due to the closure, as it is our wish for you to always have a wonderful stay with us.

You also mentioned our proximity to the beach and the speed of our internet being issues. There are multiple pathways to the coast from our location and in cases where they are less than ideal we will provide a complimentary shuttle to the beaches north and south of our location. Next time you are with us we would love to tell you about the multiple beach locations around us. While the beaches here are an amazing reason to stay with us, we feel having complimentary internet access really makes our hotel a great value overall for guests. We are currently planning on increasing our internet speeds throughout the hotel to ensure that slow internet speeds are no longer an issue.

Thank you again so much for your review. It is our goal at the Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach to ensure that every guest who stays with us has a "10" stay. We would love if you contacted us directly so we can rectify any issues you had during the stay, and so we can have a chance to win back your loyalty.

Always at your service,

Ryan Burke
Guest Service Agent
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
760-476-0800
ryan.burke@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,247)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,048 - 1,054 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2011

I made reservations at the hotel for my wife and I for our 13th anav.. I have been to Carsbad a lot and thought, I always wanted to stay at that Hilton. This Hilton is right accross the street from the beach. They have great surf accross the road. They even show movies on the lawn. You can reserve a blanket and pillows. It is shown on the wall of the hotel in the courtyard and its pretty cool. They were showing Lion King when we were there. The court yard is really nice with a fireplace with seating.
I wanted to have flowers in the room for when we arrived, so I asked the frond desk if they could arrange something for me. I thought to myself that it would be the regular size of flowers. My wife walked into the room before me and was in tears, they were so beautifull. I was amazed at how beautifull they were. The front desk really has there stuff together. They are super friendly.
Thank you to the staff for making our weekend beautifull!
Cameron and Tamara Abrams

Room Tip: third floor partial view
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tabrams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UltimateServiceGuru, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2011

Greetings from the Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach while recently visiting the north San Diego area. We would like to take a moment to sincerely thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

Thank you also for mentioning our Movies on the Lawn program. We try and provide many services for the families who stay with us and Movies on the Lawn is one of our favorites and most popular. We are also so pleased that you enjoyed our fantastic amenities that set us apart from other hotel choices. Our courtyard and pool are truly beautiful and we love to hear that you enjoyed them.

It is our firm belief that the best way to improve upon the level of guest service we are known for is through constant guest feedback; be it good, bad, or indifferent, there is something to be taken away from every comment a guest makes about their experience. Your feedback is invaluable to our continued success.

Always at your service,

Ryan Burke
Guest Service Agent
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
760-476-0800
ryan.burke@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Everything was top notch from the customer service to the accomodations. A truly wonderful experience

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jcmillard75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

In my opinion, this is the only hotel of choice when traveling to Carlsbad, California. Recently my two kids and I went on a weekend get away while hubby was out of town. The kids loved the weekend movies being shown on the back lawn and the amenities. While my oldest, who is in her late teens loves to visit the gym, my youngest (age 10) and I hit the pool to relax before going out shopping (great outlet stores behind the hotel) or to a nearby restaurant. More importantly, I can't say enough about the staff of the hotel. From housekeeping to the the front desk answering my beckon call, I sometimes think that I am at an all inclusive resort. The outstanding service combined with feeling like you are home keeps me coming back again and again.

Room Tip: Recommend ocean view room, beautiful sunset view.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovelyone01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Wow ..............I have stayed at this hotel few times, and i keep coming back, for me why go anywhere else.. great location, beach shops, restaurants .. but the number one reason is the service, staff and managment.
this hotel got it right i stayed over 500 hotels all over the world, this is by far the best.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amoahmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We LOVE this hotel!!! We always try to stay there when we come to Carlsbad. The staff is amazing and so kind. They always remember us and the hotel is great with a great location. The food is good and the hotel has a lot to do from the pool, the beach, the bar, the movie nights, etc. My son loves this hotel and they have a shuttle to the local attractions.
I even lost my wallet in the lobby and the hotel staff found it and returned it to me with everything still inside, which could have really terrible while on vacation. Great place to stay overall!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbee500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Excellent hotel and well undervalued. Take advantage of the outdoor fireplace and living room!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmccaffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
0.4 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
667 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,328 reviews
4.1 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach

Address: 6450 Carlsbad Blvd, Carlsbad, CA 92011-1058
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#16 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: £110 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located across the street from Carlsbad State Beach. Featuring ocean views, full service restaurant & bar, spacious guestrooms, heated pool and spa, fitness center, business center, and much more! All guestrooms are equipped with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, complimentary wireless high speed internet, two dual-line phones, and Television with on demand movies. Rooms feature Serta Perfect Sleeper Beds, 32' HDTV and Herman Miller chairs. 2 electric vehicle charging stations with dedicated parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing