We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value - but request a view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good value - but request a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

Everything very clean, comfortable, and cozy. Room well appointed. But view to the south of parking lot and (upscale) trailer home community next door could have been better. West facing rooms get to see the ocean across PCH. Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JohnCSanFrancisco_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    640
    334
    129
    38
    25
See reviews for
477
229
55
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

I wanted to come up with a more descriptive title, but could not find anything more descriptive than fantastic! Everything was great, from the moment we booked to the moment we left. The hotel website was surprisingly spot on (you know, sometimes the place looks awesome in pictures and it’s a disappointment... not this one). This is one gorgeous Garden Inn. The location is spectacular, just across from the ocean. It was a getaway for my wife and me, so I splurged on an ocean view room and it was worth every penny. The staff was amazing, they seemed to genuinely love their job and proud of working there. Another pleasant surprise: the food! We had dinner and breakfast at the cafe'. I did not expect such food quality. I highly recommend this hidden treasure

Jacob

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Booked hotel via expedia. Was a little price conscious, so went with "courtyard" view, but nervous that it would mean parking lot/freeway view....ended up actually being closer to a partial ocean/south//southwest (sunset!) view, so it turned out better than expected. Good water pressure & controls in shower. Better-than-average toiletries supplies (Neutrogena I think). Location-wise, I am glad the beach was so accessible.

Really GREAT staff - Ryan & Sean at the front desk answered all my misc. questions.... or referred me to who could (nightlife resource in the lounge - Malcolm? I think). I used to work for a hotel, as well as years in retail/customer service, so I'm quick to recognize genuine, "natural" hospitality personalities vs. the fake ones....these guys are real assets to this Hilton. IE - upon checking in, Sean saw that there were other guests with my unique last name, so he asked about what we were all doing here for the weekend, etc. Anyway, very helpful & accommodating.

Other nice-to-have amenities: small but good enough gym. Wifi was fast & seamless - no extra charge. Fresh baked chocolate chip cookies every evening to kickoff happy hour. Nice outdoor lounge area with gas fireplace. Biggest perk: free, on demand (seriously) shuttle to/from center of town Carlsbad, so we didn't have to drive to where the bars/restaurants were.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room away from elevators and ice machines. My room was classified as "courtya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndreaSarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We came here initially only planning to stay one night while we were in town visiting Legoland. We had other accommodations in downtown San Diego for the remainder of the trip. Long story short, we cancelled our 2nd hotel and stayed 2 extra days here! Hotel grounds were very well kept. Our kids had so much fun! On New Years Eve, they had a game room set-up with video games and food for the kids! They also had another party for the adults with dancing and champagne in their grand ballroom. The location at the property is a major plus, as it it situated right on the beach. Definitely coming back, very soon!!!

Room Tip: The courtyard facing rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

The staff here is absolutely wonderful, helpful and friendly. The location can't be beat. Everything is close by. Great shopping, restaurants, attractions like Legoland and the Sealife Aquarium. There is a heated pool and hot tub, which were always the perfect temperature as well as some nice sitting areas around the property and an outdoor fireplace. In the rooms, there is plenty of storage and a microwave and fridge you can stock with stuff to take to the beach. Our favorite part was the complimentary coffee and hot tea in the morning and the warm apple cider and cookies at night. I highly recommend this place and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room with a view of the ocean, which was really nice. Anything on the second or third f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Our family stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad over the Christmas holiday 12/23 to 12/30 staying in two rooms. The rooms were nice - we were in a room facing towards the center (the pool area) but also had a view of the ocean as well. The facility is excellent: very well maintained, and the pool and spa areas were nice. The pool was warm (80 degrees or so) and the spa was 103+ degrees (which I like).

As important as the facility and rooms were, the staff was fantastic and "heads up". This was evidenced by things small and large - the way that I was greeted in the morning by the maids, the front desk staff, and the hostess at breakfast. Everyone smiled, greeted me, and this as much as anything made this place even more special.

Special shout-out goes to Cherie Finau at the front desk, who was incredibly helpful and attentive. An example: I was down in the lobby to get a cup of coffee, and realized that the urn was empty. Before I could even ask, she came over and told me they were getting a fresh pot, but then asked if she could get a cup of coffee for me in the meantime. She whisked over to the breakfast area, filled my cup and returned. This happened so quickly I barely had time to say "thank you" and it was just a great example of her helpfulness. On another occasion she went to the effort of arranging a lunch reservation in town for the family.

I've been to many hotels for both business and pleasure, and this will remain as one of my best memories. BTW, our "kids" are older (so we did not go to Legoland!) but they enjoyed the pool and we all liked hiking over to the beach for a nice walk. It was great weather, too - an extra bonus!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cimarron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

I wish my vacation was a little longer. It was lovely to come to a clean, comfortable spacious room. Front desk and housekeeping were very courteous and helpful. Pool was a perfect temperature. The only thing I can gripe about is I wish most of the rooms had ocean views.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Castle565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.7 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
1.0 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
0.6 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Address: 6450 Carlsbad Blvd, Carlsbad, CA 92011-1058
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#16 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located across the street from Carlsbad State Beach. Featuring ocean views, full service restaurant & bar, complimentary shuttle service, spacious guestrooms, heated pool and spa, fitness center, business center, and much more! All guestrooms are equipped with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, complimentary wireless high speed internet, two dual-line phones, and Television with on demand movies. Rooms feature Serta Perfect Sleeper Beds, 32' HDTV and Herman Miller chairs. 2 electric vehicle charging stations with dedicated parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing