We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The hotel was just what I needed for my short business stay and first time trip to California. The location was close to the office, yet right on the beach, so while I was working hard, I still got the opportunity to walk along the beach in the early morning.
The hotel staff was incredibly nice. I was somewhat surprised with how genuinely kind they were.
As for the food, I enjoyed the buffet breakfast one morning and had a fresh omelette made which was perfect. I ordered room service one evening and again had great service. The food was good, although I was suffering from a terrible cold and sore throat so I didn't enjoy it as much as I normally would have.
As for the building, I got the impression that its a little older but everything was in working order and comfortable. I did see some work being done in the halls such as painting, which just gave me the impression that they maintained the building well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMKSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

734 - 740 of 1,262 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

Great property, warm staff, FANTASTIC LOCATION!!!!!!!

Rooms were clean and neat, bathroom was super clean. Outstanding location across the street from the Pacific Ocean. Easy access from I-5

Menu for dinner and breakfast in dining area was great and the food tasted great as well.

Will be traveling to Carlsbad often and will be coming back to the Hilton Garden Inn in Carlsbad

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We were spending just one night as my daughter was the flower girl in a wedding being held at the hotel. We were greeted warmly by the Front Desk staff and everyone we came into contact with. The room was very nice and we had a great view of the pool as well as a partial ocean view. My husband liked that the mattress allowed you to adjust each side for firmness. The wedding was held in their Ocean Breeze ballroom which is beautiful. The one wall of windows open's up to a full ocean view...the sunset was AMAZING and we had a front row seat. Everyone that was helping out with the wedding were very nice to all of us. Whatever we asked for they never said no and made sure all of the wedding parties needs were met. I know that the bride appreciated all their hard work. The food was very tasty and nice size portions. I would say the evening was just perfect. The morning after the wedding we were exhausted and moving slowly so we were happy that the breakfast buffet was still open. We loved that we did not have cold items left for us to pick through...the buffet allows you to order your own omelet, pancakes, eggs. breakfast meats, potatoes and even waffles...we were so happy to have a fresh cooked warm breakfast. The chef working the griddle was so nice to my daughter and just made us feel like we were the only people he was cooking for that morning. The food was delicious. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel and its team to any engaged couples out there looking for a great wedding venue. While we were here for a wedding my family will definitely return for a leisure visit soon!!

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have a partial or full ocean view. If you want to watch the sunsets as for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAMontoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UltimateServiceGuru, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to hear about your experience here at our hotel. Thank you for your comments on the very special day that you all shared with us. We are so happy to have been part of that beautiful occasion. We look forward to having you stay again and thank you again for choosing us.

Sincerely,
Regie Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Booked pretty much at the last minute when we couldn't get in the Hilton Spa in Carlsbad but I am so glad we stayed here and wish we could have stayed longer. Located directly across the road from the beach, you need to carefully climb down if you are nimble enough or walk south down the road to the public access beach which is about street level. Close to downtown Carlsbad so easy to pop down their for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Easy to find, plenty of parking, no freeway noise, and very friendly front desk staff. Large rooms with sleep number? adjustable firmness beds, our window opened for a great sea breeze and from our 3rd floor room we could see the ocean. Little worried at check in because our sink leaked a little and the bathroom had some wear around the door, but shower had great showerhead and great pressure. Front desk staff is amazing, needed late check out for red eye flight and then when we did check out they let us use the pool and inside lobby sitting area and business center until we were ready to leave. Breakfast buffet was a little pricey and not included in our stay, but we just hiked down the beach and walked (it was a ways so not a quick walk but we enjoyed it and had time the kill) to town and got something there. Pool and garden/outside seating areas were also excellent. Very good value and a perfect hotel to return with the family to relax at!

Room Tip: Third floor south facing had great view, get an outside room so you aren't facing the courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracyEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach is in a wonderful location south of Carlsbad Village. It is not too far off from I-5, and literally the beach access is across the highway from the entrance to the hotel. The lobby and restaurant are typical of the Hilton Garden Inn chain, and the breakfast was good. The exercise room was fantastic with updated equipment and full array of weights and medicine balls. The most wonderful part of the hotel is the courtyard with a fireplace, seating areas, and a swimming pool. The rooms were a nice size and they have a refrigerator like most Hilton Garden Inns. The layout of the hotel is a bit odd and the entrance in the back from the parking lot can be quite far from some rooms, also there is not stairway access from the parking lot so you have to take the elevator even though it is a three-floor hotel. Make sure you drive up to Carlsbad Village and walk the beach and the cliff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces out onto the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank army_arch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

This HGI is in the perfect location. It's right across the street from this beautiful beach. We didn't have an ocean view, but there are rooms that do. A 3 minute walk will get you down on the sand. Carlsbad Village is a 3 mile drive. They also have a shuttle that will drop you and pick you up if you have no car. Staff is very friendly. The property is older, but well kept up and very clean. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank laketravishill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UltimateServiceGuru, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you again for your stay with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our prime location here at the beach and near downtown Carlsbad. We are currenly updating some of our guest rooms and are very excited about the new look.
Thank you again for staying with us and we will see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Regie Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Nice hotel right across from the ocean. Rooms were good, bed was adjustable and comfortable. Pool was nice. Some renovation work going on. Staff very helpful. Can not really go to beach from location as it is down the hill but beaches about 1 mile away with several different choices. Town was about 3 miles away (North Carlsbad, South Encinitas) both very cute. Right off I-5 so very easy to go other places. Overall good experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank slicause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
0.4 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
672 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,342 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach

Address: 6450 Carlsbad Blvd, Carlsbad, CA 92011-1058
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#16 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: £106 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located across the street from Carlsbad State Beach. Featuring ocean views, full service restaurant & bar, spacious guestrooms, heated pool and spa, fitness center, business center, and much more! All guestrooms are equipped with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, complimentary wireless high speed internet, two dual-line phones, and Television with on demand movies. Rooms feature Serta Perfect Sleeper Beds, 32' HDTV and Herman Miller chairs. 2 electric vehicle charging stations with dedicated parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing