We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean side hotel, great location, easy access, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is my second stay at this accommodation. This was for a trip to visit relatives just after the tragic fires of May 2014 in the Carlsbad, San Marcos area. This is a convenient spot off the main highway I-5. The last time my wife and I stayed here it was on the way to our wedding days later in the Inland Empire, Temecula, CA.

We like the convenience, location and well kept lodging. The in room Keurig coffee maker is a nice new touch. Although the coffee was not great and housekeeping never bother to refill the magical little creamer, there is another option. Not to worry, the hotel has a courtesy coffee urn that, if you get there on time, it still has coffee and it's better than the Keurig variety.

If you want coffee try the courtesy stand in the lobby, early, if you want real coffee. If you go early enough you might still get a cup and maybe a refill later.

The rooms are clean, the shower always produced hot water and the ventilation system always worked. We have not used the pool but it looks gorgeous for families who need a break after a fantastic LEGOLAND visit. Oh, did I mention the comfortable giant king size bed also. A great nights' sleep.

My only objection, and why I can't give an "Excellent" rating, was the new imposition of a very pricy overnight parking charge. The explanation was that people not residing at the hotel were parking there.
They give you a hang tag to put on the dash or mirror to identify guests. So why not just have non hang-tag cars towed off premises and charge those people my $12 per night. Next time I might NOT want to stay for yet another charge for parking which wasn't there the previous visit.

I just wish they wouldn't ding ME for something someone else is doing. Apparently others park in there lot, taking up guest spots, for free during the day or overnight, not my problem, but it is now at $12 per night it has become my problem.

Room Tip: I'd suggest a room on the third floor to avoid the running children in the hallways at early hou...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,251)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

642 - 648 of 1,251 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was a very nice hotel. It is a great location. Nice Grounds. Good food if you don't mind dropping a few bucks. Certainly great if you are in town, or even want to stay somewhere more relaxed out of the San Diego area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed here with my husband and 7yr. old son. We all had a great time. The hotel was very clean and the staff was excellent. Well worth the trip. The rooms even include a k-cup coffee maker! Close to the beach and has a clean, spacious pool

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Aimee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

place was clean!! staff was friendly! and very helpful we felt at home here!! ocean view yes, no patio though. pool was fun, no server taking drink orders or food, but it was comfortable so we had no issues getting it ourself! fire pit was beautiful and so was view of ocean. stairways smelled like cleaners! little too much for me. all in all great stay next time ill save the money on the ocean view(not worth it)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We had a very pleasant experience with the room, staff, bar, and restaurant. The only issue we really had was a group of people who knocked on our room door late at night and then ran away. Other than that, it was an enjoyable stay with the ocean right across the street.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Sylvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Arrived very early on my check in day, Cherie was at the front desk. Super, super nice - took my phone # and called me when the room was ready. Great view of beach, everyone was quite pleasant, quick walk to beach - beautiful.

Room Tip: tiny gym - I hoped to work out on the beach - but the ocean reaches the rocks - no beach. But super...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jameshymel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Staff was awesome. Super friendly. Went the extra mile for our stay. Room had a beautiful view of the ocean but would have been better it had a balcony. Had wonderful night. Thanks Tom and Paige for making our stay with you .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
0.4 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
669 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,330 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
4.1 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach

Address: 6450 Carlsbad Blvd, Carlsbad, CA 92011-1058
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#16 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: £112 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located across the street from Carlsbad State Beach. Featuring ocean views, full service restaurant & bar, spacious guestrooms, heated pool and spa, fitness center, business center, and much more! All guestrooms are equipped with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, complimentary wireless high speed internet, two dual-line phones, and Television with on demand movies. Rooms feature Serta Perfect Sleeper Beds, 32' HDTV and Herman Miller chairs. 2 electric vehicle charging stations with dedicated parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing