We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVERAGE front staff, AVERAGE breakfast staff, UNRELIABLE SHUTTLE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 June 2014

PARKING CHARGE FOR A VEHICLE TO PARK AT THE HOTEL: $12.00 will be added to your room rate.

BREAKFAST CHARGES $14.95 per adult, $9.95 per child.
Breakfast tasted awful, mediocre food. The chef prepared "hot" food for your order. If you want tasteless food, NOT COOK, WET EGGS for omelet, this is the place.

They advertise that they provide free shuttle service to and from Legoland. However, the shuttle is very unreliable. We called ahead to the front desk like they instructed before we came down to the shuttle. However, when we showed up at the front desk, they could care less. The girl in the front desk said just wait out there (front door) to line up for the shuttle. We did not see anybody else lined up, just us. Yet, the driver was no where to be seen until a 10 to 15 minutes later, he showed up, taking his time walking around, making some calls at the front desk. Then slowly another 5 minutes later, he took his sweet time to get to the front door to start the Toyota Sienna (so-called shuttle).

When we needed to return to the hotel from Legoland, there was a LONG WAIT for the shuttle. Almost an hour wait, and good luck trying to catch the shuttle. If there was other families waiting, they might not pick you up. Their shuttle schedule is unorganized and they could care less.

The pool was nice and big. Very few people or kids there. No activities at the hotel, very dead.

The cookies they promised they will only put them out after 5:00pm and they are hard, not soft.

I have been to other Hilton Garden Inn and we had cookies all day long out there, not just LATE at 5:00pm.

The housekeeping staff was the nicest. I would give them 5 star, but not the front office staff or the shuttle drivers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smart-travel-usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UltimateServiceGuru, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay with us here. Please contact me if you would like to speak further regarding your stay here at our hotel.
Sincerley,

Regie Brown
General Manager
760-476-0800

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

677 - 683 of 1,292 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

Took a chance on this hotel by reading reviews. Was pleasantly surprised upon our arrival that the rooms were large clean and had nice amenities. Each room has a mini refrigerator microwave and nice coffee tea service set up. We were there to visit Legoland and it is less than 2 miles from the hotel. The front desk staff was average. We flew into the San Diego airport which was about a 40 minute drive to the hotel. Pleasantly surprised by the pool the hotel itself and the overall cleanliness and presentation I had read the hotel offered a shuttle to take you to hang from Legoland, however upon requesting that information from the desk it was questionable asked you whether we could count on them to get us when we needed a pick up. One downside is a $12 per day parking at the at the hotel. Then, since we cannot count
on the shuttle for pick up and drop off we paid an additional $15 per day parking the Legoland. The hotel itself does not offer a complementary breakfast. They do have a restaurant. However there are many many places to eat grocery store within 1 to 2 miles of the hotel which we utilized. They do have a business center there which was ideal for printing boarding passes and things that we needed and at no additional charge. One day we haven't turned in housekeeping had not yet in our room and immediately to housekeepers came to our room to see what they could do.
I have to say the housekeeping staff was quite attentive and the rooms for cat in wonderful condition. Overall can't beat this hotel the rates are good the party via bit ridiculous but if you're going to Legoland it's a great location. Large heated swimming pool which is great for the kids and because of this location and getting close to the summertime there were quite a few children there. Also one interesting feature was outdoor movie showing on weekend evenings.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UltimateServiceGuru, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your recent stay here at the Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed our many amenities and staff. The Movies on the Lawn occur every Friday and Saturday during the summer and are happy you were able to enjoy this with your family.
We look forward to welcoming you back with us again soon!

Sincerely,
Regie Brown

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

If you are taking a trip to the West Coast this is the place that you want to come to. It is very beautiful and very quiet and it has all the amenities that you would want. The staff is very kind and gracious and are there to take care of you. They have been taught well. The Hiltons are a caring and loving family oreinted kind of Hotel and they want to please and satisfy the clientele. The are very good at doing their jobs-from the front desk to the maids to the maintenace personalle. Thank you so very much for a most enjoyable stay and I would come again. The coffee also is very good in the rooms. Fresh all the time as I am a coffee conniseur. Very clean and always smelled wonderful. It was just a lovely time of rest and relaxation after the wedding on the beach. As my son is a surfer the other thing was watching the surfers at the beach. I am from NC and not acquainted with the surfing group but watching was really amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank P. Douglas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The location of this hotel is unbeatable. The beach is right across the street. The hotel grounds are beautiful. The service is amazing, my first day there I received a free Cheese/Fruit/Cracker platter with a bottle of wine. Very nice bonus for a new Hilton member. I'm sold!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank 610patrickr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel is away from the noise of downtown Carlsbad, but close enough to the town and beach for convenience. Excellent facilities and staff! I would stay here again happily. Even though it is not on the beach, this hotel has ocean views and excellent parking facilities. The staff are very eager to share their knowledge of the surrounding area and are very accommodating. A wedding took place in the courtyard during our stay, and it did not disturb other guests at all.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UltimateServiceGuru, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your choice to visit us. We are please you enjoyed our views and close proximity to the ocean and downtown Carlsbad. Our staff are always happy to assist with giving guests the experience of Carlsbad and our area.
We look forward to having you stay again.

Sincerely,
Regie Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Great location, close to shops, dining and ocean front to the beach. Hotel is not service and food oriented. Movies on the lawn Fri/Sat night nice was nice with popcorn served. Nice salt water Pool...

Room Tip: High floor facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is my second stay at this accommodation. This was for a trip to visit relatives just after the tragic fires of May 2014 in the Carlsbad, San Marcos area. This is a convenient spot off the main highway I-5. The last time my wife and I stayed here it was on the way to our wedding days later in the Inland Empire, Temecula, CA.

We like the convenience, location and well kept lodging. The in room Keurig coffee maker is a nice new touch. Although the coffee was not great and housekeeping never bother to refill the magical little creamer, there is another option. Not to worry, the hotel has a courtesy coffee urn that, if you get there on time, it still has coffee and it's better than the Keurig variety.

If you want coffee try the courtesy stand in the lobby, early, if you want real coffee. If you go early enough you might still get a cup and maybe a refill later.

The rooms are clean, the shower always produced hot water and the ventilation system always worked. We have not used the pool but it looks gorgeous for families who need a break after a fantastic LEGOLAND visit. Oh, did I mention the comfortable giant king size bed also. A great nights' sleep.

My only objection, and why I can't give an "Excellent" rating, was the new imposition of a very pricy overnight parking charge. The explanation was that people not residing at the hotel were parking there.
They give you a hang tag to put on the dash or mirror to identify guests. So why not just have non hang-tag cars towed off premises and charge those people my $12 per night. Next time I might NOT want to stay for yet another charge for parking which wasn't there the previous visit.

I just wish they wouldn't ding ME for something someone else is doing. Apparently others park in there lot, taking up guest spots, for free during the day or overnight, not my problem, but it is now at $12 per night it has become my problem.

Room Tip: I'd suggest a room on the third floor to avoid the running children in the hallways at early hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
2.9 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
3.1 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
0.4 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach

Address: 6450 Carlsbad Blvd, Carlsbad, CA 92011-1058
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#16 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: £86 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located across the street from Carlsbad State Beach. Featuring ocean views, full service restaurant & bar, spacious guestrooms, heated pool and spa, fitness center, business center, and much more! All guestrooms are equipped with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, complimentary wireless high speed internet, two dual-line phones, and Television with on demand movies. Rooms feature Serta Perfect Sleeper Beds, 32' HDTV and Herman Miller chairs. 2 electric vehicle charging stations with dedicated parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing