We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$664
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$329
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Beach Terrace Inn(Carlsbad)
US$530
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$461
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Palms Beach Resort(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$327
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$499
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$393
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$370
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$461
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$420
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$439
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$395
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$292
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$230
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$367
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$270
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
67
49
27
27
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
49
27
27
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew castlemovie screenbubble partyroyal courtyardbunk bedsprincess themed roomsmall waitartichoke dipplay yardmovie areathe dragonbirthday songcharacters roamingdance movesjungle gymlego tablegreat playground
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We waited over 2 hours for our room (we arrived at 3:45). Others we spoke to waited 3, 4, and 5 hours! Housekeeping did not get to our room (on the second day) until after 4 pm. No wonder they can't get people checked in on time!
Aside from that, the hotel is great (although the elevators are not as good as Legoland Hotel!). The dining room is better than the other hotel...really good food...and a better organized breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEGOLANDHotel, Manager at LEGOLAND Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Lori L,

We are delighted to learn you had a memorable visit! thank you for recognizing our Dragon's Den restaurant, the team is very appreciative you took the time to mention them in your review. We also value your constructive comments so that we can continue to improve our services and accommodations.

I would like to point out to you and our Trip Advisor readers that our room attendants work their shift from 9:00 A.M. until 5:00 P.M. We prioritize any guest requesting for cleaning service, we just ask that you leave your service sign outside of your door or call our guest services team. Otherwise our team will focus on cleaning all rooms for guests that are arriving early and are waiting for their rooms.

Thank you for allowing us the privilege to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit LEGOLAND California Resort!

Sincerely,

Eduardo Moya
Hotel Manager
Eduardo.Moya@LEGOLAND.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First time to the Castle after staying in the original Legoland Hotel. The walls were so thin I could hear the neighbors discuss their plans every morning. There was no place for an adult to hang out inside the hotel in the morning while the family slept. Last the new pool rules from our last stay of kids under 48" requiring a life jacket in a 60" pool did not sit well with our son. He can pass any swimming test after 3 years of lessons but a kid 49" who could not swim has the freedom not to wear a life jacket. Just not a great experience for the amount of money. Of the two hotels the we all preferred the original hotel over the Castle.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fairpointe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEGOLANDHotel, Manager at LEGOLAND Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear fairpointe,

We are heartbroken to learn that after several visits to our hotels you are disappointed and do not want to return. We value your comments and appreciate you taking the time to share with us the areas we need to improve.

Our leadership team retained the services of a sound proof engineer and we are awaiting the results of his tests so we can determine what the best course of action will be to address this concern. I assure you having a restful night is a big priority for us.

We are committed to the safety of our guests and more importantly of the children that experience our hotel and the pools. As such we implemented the policy of having children under 48" wear life jackets that are provided free of charge by our pool team. This rule has been in place for over a year in both hotels, please accept our apologies if this particular policy created a negative experience for your family.

Thank you for allowing us the privilege to serve you and if there is anything I can do to regain your confidence, please do not hesitate to contact me at any time. My e-mail is Eduardo.Moya@LEGOLAND.com

Sincerely,

Eduardo Moya
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A/C was not working in our room. We were moved to another room with a/c not working again. The room was a $800/night suite. Staff did not believe a/c was still not working in 2nd room because maintenance was fixing it. Was trying to avaoid further communications to listen to our complaints. Room felt like a sauna. It would’ve felt more comfortable camping outside with cool fresh air.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank TutuBee519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Guest Relations Manager at LEGOLAND Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi TutuBee519,

It is very unfortunate to hear that you felt as our team was not available to listen. Our staff is committed to delivering memorable experiences, as part of the managemnt team we find it unacceptable to learn any guest would leave so unhappy. This feedback will be shared among the designated departments to ensure this perception is not felt by any of our future guest again.

Our A/C system did experience an error after a mandatory power outage that impacted about 15 units in our Hotel. We have addressed and fixed the focus problem that impacted our guest during your stay.

If there is anything I can do to regain your confidence, please do not hesitate to contact me at any time. My e-mail is Julius.rodriguez@LEGOLAND.com

Sincerely,
Julius Rodriguez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our first stay and the Castle Hotel, Zach the bell guy was so friendly and helpful and our check in went smooth. The kids enjoyed the pool as well. The problem began when it was bed time and the fitness center touched our room. I heard banging earlier in the day, but figured it was kids having fun ( as they should), little to my knowledge the fitness center was right next door. 9:30pm I take the kids to bed and all we hear if weights dropping, a guy jump roping, machines going, talking, coughing and music. The kids did not get to bed till after 11pm. Everyone was finally asleep, 5 am comes around, now there are employees outside moving chairs and tables to get ready for breakfast.... ugh!!!!! I tell everyone to go back to sleep, oh wait never mind, the fitness center is next door and now people are working out again and making a ton of noise, it sounded like they were going to come through the wall into our room. Knowing it is not the guests fault that someone thought it would be a good idea to build a fitness center on the 3rd floor of a hotel and touching rooms where people are staying, we call the front desk. She informs us the fitness center is open 24 hrs. for convince. That is wonderful if you are not the room touching/or below the fitness center! There was nothing she could do for us. Later, my husband goes and talks to a manager and he says he can wave our $30 resort fee and he will mail us a 30% off our next stay here ( we have not received that yet). Why would I want 30% off when I am still going to have to pay a fortune to come back and might have the same experience. I could not believe that we wasted over $500 on the room, plus all the money we spent on food and drinks. It truly felt like a waste. Moving forward, we go to the complimentary breakfast, we become even more disappointed. The service was horrible/ non-existent, the tables they were sitting people at were dirty and not wiped down ( I had to flag someone down to wipe our table and he laughed), horrible selection of food for kids and in general, and out of a lot of foods and drinks, if you ask for creamer it is like pulling teeth (plus no proper way of bring it out, besides in a cup you put ketchup in). Being in management in a customer service oriented industry/world , I would expect better service from a resort like LEGOLAND. We have stayed at the older hotel many times and have had season passes many years. We left LEGOLAND that day, feeling like we wasted so much money and wish we had not renewed our passes. The park is not as clean as it used to be either and customer service was lacking in most places.
Please note, I give credit to Zach the bell guy for going out of his was (many could learn a lot from him) and the one store we had good service at was the store in LEGOLAND called Lego Life Zone (the ladies treated my kids like their own). Thank you for your time and we hope to see change in the near future so we can enjoy our time at the resort.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius R, Guest Relations Manager at LEGOLAND Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Kristin G,

I am very sorry about your experience with the noise disturbance by being located near our gym, this is not the norm and will be looked at. The gym is a great amenity offered to our guest but we will be looking into ways to address operating times so no future guest is experiencing the same.

Here at the LEGOLAND California Resort we proud ourselves in creating lasting memories for our guest with customer service at the core focus. It is very unfortunate to read about your poor experience during your stay. Please rest assured that we are working on improving our services on a daily throughout all departments.

Glad to hear that you had a taste of our standard with the interaction with Zach and the service received at the LEGO Life Zone. These employees are true reflection and norm of the experience you are meant to have at our Hotel and we will ensure they are commended for their services.

If there is anything I can to do to regain your confidence in our brand please reach out to me directly.

Sincerely,

Julius Rodriguez
Julius.rodriguez@LEGOLAND.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our kids loved this resort! Staff was friendly and welcoming. The breakfast buffet was great. The pool was heated and good size for kids to play in. Wasn’t too impressed with the entertainment but the treasure box in room was fun! I loved the size of the room, perfect for family. Didn’t like how you can hear people talking and the loud slamyof doors. The microwave and snack machine is only on one side of the floor, so that sucked if you’re not close to it. Wished they had more characters out more often and better adventures for kids. Disappointed that the first night the power was out at 10pm! We were given flashlights and glow sticks...didn’t help when you need to find your way arythe room!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Pahoua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1LEGOLANDDrive, Guest Relations Manager at LEGOLAND Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Pahoua,

Thank you so much for the detailed positive review you shared with us. We're sorry you experienced trouble with noise during your stay and you are always welcome in a return visit to contact the Front Desk if these noises are constant or after 10 pm so we can assist you during your stay, I will be sure to share your suggestions to the appropriate management team for review and future improvements. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews