We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Kids”
Review of Ruby's Diner

Ruby's Diner
Ranked #17 of 341 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast
Chatsworth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Place for Kids”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The food is good, the people are friendly. Burgers are great and the wait staff is VERY patient with kids (and their parents!). :o)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DiscerningTrav27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    144
    50
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level Contributor
681 reviews
409 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is a nice place to dine if you are at the outlet mall, and the food and service are good. The prices are reasonable and you get a good quality meal, nothing fancy here. The place is setup like an old fashioned diner back in the 60's. American style food served here, will come back when I am in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank heumanntouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fruitland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So cute!!!!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Food was really good got a lot for your money,service was excellent, the diner is set up in the old fashion style and the waiters and waitress all dressed the part!!! Made it fun!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Cjoy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Old Time Service and Old Time Burgers and Shakes with a Smile!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Your only complaint with Ruby's may be the waiting time at lunch as a line sometimes forms outside the door as hungry shoppers wait to devour the many appetizing offerings from this great All-American eatery. This Ruby's is located in the Carlsbad Premium Outlets Center so it's usually pretty busy. Wait staff in 50's style attire serve up delicious fare from a great menu of burgers, fries, shakes, malts among so many other foods sure to give you a taste of nostalgia, if not fill you up more than you expected. Generous portions. I like the chili burger that you really need to eat with a knife and fork. And a strawberry shake that is really thick and creamy and made with REAL ice cream, none of that fast food dairy-like stuff!

You'll find something here for every member of the family from a cheese sandwich for the wee ones to a full on diner dinner for those who can even remember what that was.

There are a number of Ruby's Diners in Southern California and each is a bit different. I've tried many and thay are all great!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really Good Food and Nice Atmosphere”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I was here with my Aunt and we had a really nice lunch. We both got burgers and they were excellent. Regular fries are unlimited and I got a refill. I ordered one chocolate milkshake and they brought the metal mixer cup over. One milkshake is perfect for two people. Our waitress was so nice her name was Alicia. She was so friendly and happy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 187travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ruby's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Ruby's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing