We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THANKS BUT NO THANKS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We were offered this "good rate" with an OBLIGATION To attend a sales presentation which they do not explain much. We were told we would be staying grand hilton palisades yet when we arrived they could not find our reservation. FIRST INCONVENIENCE. After attempting to locate the person who booked the front desk tells us it's at the marbrisa. Already we are DISSAPOINTED as soon as we arrive. The room was nice and clean but a studio size. The positives would be we were near the ice machine and had a view of the pool. There were dishes that came In handy. Everything was new and " looked " nice and modern. BUT we could hear the neighbors talking and there was a connecting door which I did not personally appreciate having. There was no house keeping kept and we came back to trash dishes and no clean towels. When I am on vacation this is NOT A VACATION. After all who wants to clean or come back to a dirty room on vacation!? We were missing the DVD REMOTE and kept having to watch the entire movie if we needed to rewind and this may not seem like a big deal but with kids staying in and watching movies is something we enjoy ... This made it very frustrating. When we called to ask for one they asked us to call the
Sheraton who said they did not carry the same equipment. We ended up driving to the palisades In the middle of the night for a remote that never worked. The WORST PART OF THIS WHOLE THING WAS THE PRESENTATION. The lady we were supposed to meet at 12 noon never called, we waisted our entire morning waiting and finally called and were sent to the palisades . They would not schedule earlier by the way. They ASSUMED I WOULD LEAVE MY DAUGHTER AT THE KIDS CLUB . They sent us there with no explanation and when I realized I was a bit disturbed that anyone would assume you to leave your toddler without letting you know. We took her with us and the lady proceeded to tell my daughter if she wanted to be there she needed to sit. After all her fake sales compliments and stories we sat through what felt like FOREVER . Maybe two hours of torture. She told us there was no thinking about it that it had to be YES OR NO. Who makes. Decision to PURCHASE SOMETHING THAT COST THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS IN AN HOUR!! The interest is almost 15 percent and they throw all these fees under hidden words such as " mAinetenance fees" it is taxes and insurance and HOA FEES. After being WHAT FELT LIKE BULLIED AND HARRASSED with a hungry daughter I needed to feed they STILL have you sit with the now THIRD PERSON WHO TRYS TO SELL YOU A PACKAGE FOR 1795 . I politely told her I needed to feed my daughter and she insisted on talking. THIS RUINED OUR DAY AND OUR TRIP. WAISTED OUR DAY AND OUR TIME AND IT WAS NOT WORTH THE FREE ZOO TICKETS THAT WE CIULDMT USE THAT DAY ANYWAY BECAUSE THEY WAISTED OUR DAY. The way they HARRASS PEOPLE IS UNNACEPTABLE AND THEY SHOULD BE EMBARRASED . I work in sales and this is beyond RIDICULOUS !!!!!!

Room Tip: The Bahia in San Diego
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Hi Pola A,
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We greatly appreciate your feedback about your experience at our hotel. We’re concerned with your comments you made specifically about your stay and would welcome the opportunity to speak with you personally. Please feel free to give us a call at your earliest convenience. Your satisfaction is of the utmost importance and we hope that we can rectify your concerns as soon as possible. We hope to speak with you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,110 - 1,116 of 1,426 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

The Hilton Grand Vacations is all about location. It is perfectly located where you can stay in San Diego county without having to beat the traffic in town. It is not close to the Gaslamp district, the zoo, or SeaWorld, but it is close to Leggoland The location provides nice sunsets and a setting to relax. Staff are friendly, the very helpful. It was my perfect location to work on a project and have close by resturants and sights to see for breaks.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
1  Thank Patty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Hi Patty C,
Thank you for reviewing Hilton Grand Vacations at MarBrisa. We're thrilled you found our location convenient and hope you had a great time checking out the surrounding area. We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you're visiting Carlsbad!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

It is a great location to stay. Nice amenities and great staff. Only discouraging part is if the people above you go to bed later then you. The noise of people walking around is rather loud. Kids love being able to walk over to Legoland. The pools were nice and my kids never did solve the scavenger hunt. So it is a good challenge. Lots of activities for all ages.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank Dawn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Hi Dawn J,
We're thrilled you enjoyed our convenient location, great amenities and helpful staff. We hope the noise from our other guests did not cause much of an inconvenience for you and your family. We hope to welcome you all back again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

everything was great from the check in to the personnel to the view to the beauty of the entire venue. oh yeah and weather was awesome as is usual in san diego. room was clean and had all amenities with top staff to answer all questions.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank Michael R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Hi Michael R P,
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to learn of your stay with us at Hilton Grand Vacations Club at MarBrisa. We hope to welcome you back for another great stay in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Hollywood Los Angeles San Diego plus all the scenery you would enjoy for this truly amazing countryside.
Worth the trip. Restaurants and Beauty of Carlsbad by the Sea marvelous.
Staff does all they can to make you comfortable. Anything you need is attended to.
Staff can drive you anywhere on the property.
We asked for a few things and it was done right away.

Room Tip: End room and upper floor best for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Hi martin d,
Thank you for your post. We're thrilled you enjoyed your trip to Carlsbad and enjoyed many of the restaurants and shops in the area. We're happy to hear how attentive our staff was and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The unit was lovely and well-designed. While not exactly kid friendly, its kid safe in the rooms, and the property as a whole is kid friendly, with a fun scavenger hunt for the kids and a jumper on one of the days we visited. Best of all, all of the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruinstefstuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Hi bruinstefstuf,
Thank you for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed the space and design of your unit, and found our property kid-friendly and fun. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Not only are the condos very clean and comfortable, the whole resort is excellence. I have nothing negative to say. Close to restaurants, shopping, beach, San Diego and activities.
But what really makes this place a real resort vacation is the staff.
From maintenances, front desk and management, everyone is there to make sure that you
have a good time, not missing anything and very pleasant. Thank you again and we are
already making plans to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LISE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Hi LISE B,
We're so glad you found our property clean and comfortable, and enjoyed our convenient location. We hope you had fun checking out the restaurants, shops and beaches in the area during your visit. We're thrilled our staff was exceptional and look forward to your next visit. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
2.2 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
3.3 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
3.6 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort

Address: 1594 MarBrisa Circle, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#18 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#23 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: £117 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Marbrisa Hotel Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing