We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location - Should be better when finished”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Location - Should be better when finished”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Nice, clean and comfortable room, but "lobby" is really an office, only open from 7am-11pm, and construction taking place all over. Very friendly and helpful staff - but there is only so much they can do.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pbnolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hi pbnolan,
Thank you for your post. We're pleased you found our accommodations clean and comfortable, and our staff helpful and friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    335
    170
    78
    50
See reviews for
770
354
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed one week, March 2014. First time at this location and resort. My significant other and I were very pleased with the staff, property, accommodations and location. We had a one bedroom "plus" on the second floor in the villa facing Lego Land (#5134). It had a balcony with two chairs and small table. Parking is in front of buildings.

The kitchen was well stocked and appeared fairly new. I would suggest adding additional plates and silverware so you don't have to constantly use the dishwasher. But other than that, our cooking needs were met. We like to eat breakfast before we head out for the day. For dinner, we used the convenient (and very clean!) gas grill several nights.

Large bathroom with double sink and ample size shower. There was a soaking tub, which we didn't use. Would like to have had more close/storage space instead of a tub. Bedroom was good size and the king bed very comfortable. Nice selection of pillows. TV in bedroom and in the living room.

The only thing that needed replaced was the sofa bed. The mattress was nothing but lumps. No way you could sleep on it. The couch was more comfortable than the sofa bed part. So if you have children or a guest, beware about using the sofa bed.

The staff was friendly, courteous and very accommodating. We needed extra towels one day, and they were at our door five minutes after the request. Always helpful and eager to please. Five stars!

I used the Pearl Spa in the Sheraton as there was a 15% off coupon for HGVC members. The massage was excellent, as was the steam room.

The large swimming pools were great. Plenty of chairs. But the pool bar drinks were poor and expensive. Limited food. We only went there once. Used the older, rectangular pool across from our villa the rest of the week. I am a lap swimmer and that pool was perfect for my needs. In the rec room adjacent to the pool there was an air hockey and foots ball table. A fun surprise!

The only downside to our stay was that our unit faced Lego Land. Noise from 5:00 AM to 7 PM. Trucks would make middle of the night deliveries and we would wake to the BEEP, BEEP, BEEP of backing trucks. Next time, we will request another building.

If you love ice cream, custard or frozen yogurt, make sure you go to SubZero in Carlsbad Village. They make it right in front of you and it is delicious! You get to choose three flavors and two add ins which are included in your small, medium or large.

All in all, there is lots to see and do in and around Carlsbad. I would go back to the MarBrisa resort. It was a relaxing and enjoyable vacation. Hated to return to the east coast and cold weather!

Room Tip: Unless you are sleeping with sliders and windows closed and AC on, avoid the buildings facing Lego L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooksie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hi Brooksie85,
Thank you for reviewing Hilton Grand Vacations Club at MarBrisa. We appreciate your feedback regarding your experience with our staff, accommodations and location. It's great to know that your overall experience was positive and we look forward to sharing your thoughts with our team. We hope to welcome you back again in the future for another great vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We booked this resort because of its distance between Disney and San Diego. Plus our son was excited to go to legoland and the private entrance was great. We don't normally do a lot on site but they had a few activities. Out of the HGVC resorts we have stayed at this is pretty much no frills (no laundry in the unit lack of restaurants on site they share with Sheraton) so if you are looking at just hanging out at the resort this may not be the place for you. But if you are going park hopping and shopping this is a great resort. Staff was always courteous and they don't push the timeshare sales on you like a lot of resorts we have stayed at.

Room Tip: The new development is close to pools and has a great firepit. Definitely rent a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dzabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hi dzabz,
Thank you for reviewing your stay. We hope that you and your family had a great time visiting Disney, San Diego and Legoland! It sounds like there was a lot to do and we hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colton, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Nice, but location is still under construction. Great location if you are visiting LEGOLAND. Nice when you have family members or friends with you and you can have an adjoining room. Family friendly. Good location to visit the beach or play golf. Very impressed with room and balcony area that looked over the pool area, LEGOLAND, and slight view of the ocean. Location is near outlet malls for shopper lovers.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Kevin W. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hi Kevin W. B,
Thank you for reviewing your stay. We appreciate your feedback regarding our location. We're so glad you enjoyed being close to the beach and a few of the shops in the area. Come back to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Housekeeping services are every 4 days - that stinks. Staff seems stretched thin with constructions - way over the top on selling time shares. However, great rooms, spacious, with full equipped kitchen, literally next door to lego land. Carlsbad was actually a quaint little suburb.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
1 Thank Joni J. F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hi Joni J. F,
Thank you for reviewing your stay. We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay. We hope you enjoyed your overall stay and hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Nicely appointed and clean rooms to be sure. The room partitions are paper thin as we heard the snoring patterns of the guest in the suite above us. Fortunately, the central fan (and earplugs) drowned the snorer out! We are Hilton GVC owners and this resort is disappointing in that most amenities (pool, hot tub, exercise facility) were not really walkable. These amenities were a 5-minute car ride. No onsite restaurant, but the Sheraton MarBrisa hotel had a very nice restaurant. We did walk the 7 minutes to/from the restaurant to work off our meal. This resort is miles from the beach and definitely not walkable as one must cross several streets, including I-5, and the overpass to the beach road has no pedestrian/bicycle walkway. However, this resort is right next to Legoland, but it would be a long walk. On the plus side, this resort is very clean and safe. The concierge service was good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hi John G,
Thank you for reviewing Hilton Grand Vacations Club at MarBrisa. We appreciate your positive feedback regarding our location and being so close to Legoland. We hope you had fun exploring the surrounding area and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahuarita, Arizona
Level Contributor
162 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Marbrisa rocks and will continue to rock even harder once their new villas and amentities are completed. It is located just north of Lego Land and provides a private entrance for those guests who purchase tickets. The surrounding area is well equipped with grocery stores, restraurants, shopping, and plenty of beaches.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
2 Thank myjaljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hi myjaljo,
Thank you for reviewing your stay. We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay and that you're looking forward to our renovations being completed. We're glad you found our location convenient to the stores, shops, restaurants and beaches in the area as well. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
944 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
654 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
3.6 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort

Property: MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort
Address: 1594 MarBrisa Circle, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#18 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#23 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Marbrisa Hotel Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing