We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the typical Hilton Quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 May 2014

No elevators so climbing stairs with luggage is difficult. Room did not have washer/dryer. They were in a different location. Poor sound proofing as you could hear all movement in the rooms above. Health club was inconvenient to get to, 15 minute walk. In room DVD player was not Blu-Ray compatible. The regular in house DVD selection was poor and not up to date. Our second room bath had very low water pressure and the exhaust fan was not operating. We notified maintenance and they corrected both items.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gb1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hi gb1005,
Thank you for reviewing your stay. We're sorry to hear that your stay was filled with a lot of noise from the nearby rooms. However, we are glad to hear that our staff was able to rectify some of the problems encountered. We hope you did have fun checking out the surrounding area and hope that we can welcome you again in the future for a much better stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,034 - 1,040 of 1,425 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very nice Hilton - great amenities, beautifully appointed, friendly staff and great location. The suite was wonderful - nice balcony, but wasn't too fond of the view. I'm sure when the flowers in the nearby fields are in bloom it would be awesome. Our reservation included a time-share presentation (ugh - hate these!) and they were running late so had to wait close to 40 minutes. The up side to that was we were meeting friends for drinks/dinner so we told them we needed to leave at a certain time. Like all time-share presentations, they tell you it's low-key, no obligation, blah blah blah. Yet at the end (when you don't buy) they bring over their supervisor, and when you still don't buy, they bring over the next higher up. Then when you check out (to get the freebie gift they use as an enticement), they try to get you to buy another package. Arrrggghhh! What part of NO don't they understand??? But I digress. The hotel itself is super nice; lots for couples and families to do. Close to the outlet mall, LEGOLAND, the ocean, but great if you just want to soak up rays by any of the pools.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SmallWonderAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hi SmallWonderAZ,
Thank you for your review. It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay and found our location to be conveniently close to nearby attractions. We apologize that you did not have a pleasant experience at the timeshare presentation. However, we hope that you come back for another fun filled vacation in the nearby future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed at the Hilton Grand vacations Club at MarBrisa as an exchange. First, this is an older (mid 90s) resort Hilton purchased a few years ago and is in the process of expanding and remolding. The new "2nd phase" looks to be much nicer although it is the same basic design. There are several building on the resort, if you stay avoid buildings 52-56. These are located about 25 yards from Lego Land and the noise is unbearable. If I opened my patio door all I could hear was the constant sound of the roller coaster. Noise between rooms is a problem. Every door or cabinet closing can be heard from next door. Also there are no elevators in these buildings which may seem OK since they are only 3 levels, however, because they are built on a hillside the lower level is below the parking lot so the only level you can walk to without stairs is level 2. What is absurd is that the resort has luggage carts which can only be used on the middle level! The units are OK, nothing special. I had a studio which is not worth the price. Basically a hotel room with a "mini-kitchen" which was really just a glorified wet bar with dishes provided. The one bedrooms have a full kitchen and are much better. My advice is to wait for phase 2 to be completed, it has a very large Vegas like pool area and the villa buildings have elevators. If you book a villa at this resort be sure to ask if it is in the old area or in the new phase 2. Also, phase 2 is about 200 yards away from the original resort with the Sheridan between.

Room Tip: Phase 2 or building far away from Lego Land
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank odessa712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hello Odessa712,
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We're sorry to learn of the disappointment you experienced during your recent stay with us. We also apologize for any inconvenience you were caused by the noise coming in from the surrounding areas. We hope you come back to stay with us once the 2nd Phase is completed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Received room 45 min. Late and the carpeting was wet and smelly..reported it and nothing was done. A/C was not functioning correctly and nobody told us they scheduled service on the 2nd day of stay and we got woken up at 8am ...Messed up our little Vacation!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
2  Thank Ernest J. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hello Ernest J. M,
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We're sorry to learn of the disappointment you experienced during your recent stay with us. We also apologize for any inconvenience you were caused by our staff. We invite you to contact us at jogarcia@gpresorts.com with more information regarding your stay. We hope that we can rectify your concerns as soon as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Hilton Grand Vacations at Marbrisa is an excellent getaway resort. The Staff is friendly, courteous, & very helpful. The rooms, pool areas & on-site fitness center were clean and everything worked (what a concept)! The Town of Carlsbad is a fabulous place to walk around and enjoy the shops, restaurants and beach. From breakfast or lunch at the Daily News, afternoon coffee (or wine) & chocolate at the Coffee Bar to dinner at Charter House, Marbrisa is centrally located and convenient to anything you may want to do near the beach. And the sunsets.....WOW! Hilton Grand Vacations Resort at Marbrisa is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy some downtime.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank Keith M. P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hi Keith M. P,
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to know that you found our facilities very clean and in working order. We always try our best to make all our guests feel welcomed and provide them with all the assistance needed to make their stay even more enjoyable. We agree the sunsets are breathtaking here. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I have stayed at this resort several times and this was, by far, the worst experience so far. The sound proofing in Phase I buildings are very poor. I was in 5221A and for a 1BR plus, this was far below usual HGVC standards. I am an Elite owner and have stayed at many properties in the HGVC collection. The Phase I buildings were poorly planned in terms of floor soundproofing as well as no elevators for the other floors. I have given feedback before re: being on the 2nd floor and hearing a herd of elephants going back and forth from the people staying above me. This stay was no different and in fact, even worse as there was a small child who was allowed to run freely back and forth in the unit above me. I was woken 4 of my 5 mornings between 5:30-7:30 a.m. to either sounds of thundering elephants from above or a crying child. Plus, quiet time was suppose to be from 9:00 p.m. to 8 a.m. but people used the dryer/laundry room (which was unfortunately beside my unit) even after 11:00 p.m. I could have complained to the front desk about the people with a small child above me but it would have served no purpose since it would have ruined their vacation too and what could have been done to improve soundproofing for the floor? When I checked in, I asked to be put in a quiet unit but was told that it wasn't possible, even as an Elite owner. I am very hesitant to use my points to stay at Marbrisa again because this was NOT a relaxing vacation. I had more peace and quiet staying in Manhattan, New York...a city that doesn't sleep. I stayed at Tuscany in Orlando last Sept., which is comparable to how the Marbrisa is set up and has similar amenities. It was a much more enjoyable and quiet stay. Maybe one day when the new phases are completed, I may opt to stay at Marbrisa again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
3  Thank DonnaL0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hi Donna,
First and foremost we would like to thank you for providing us with all your feedback. We would like to apologize for all the room noise experienced during your stay. Please understand that it was a busy time at our location and difficult for us to guarantee a quiet unit. We also want to thank you for taking into consideration the stay of our other guests. Furthermore, please do not hesitate to reach out to our front desk for any concern, we value all our guests and would like to help them enjoy their stay with us as much as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is a timeshare property, and very much up to Hilton's high standards. (Remember - not a hotel! No daily maid service! ) We had a three bedroom villa, with plenty of room for up to 9 people, though we only had 4. PLENTY of storage and the full kitchen is well stocked. There are three nice pools on the property, complete with cabanas and a pool bar. They are in the process of expanding, but we were staying in building 54 which is part of the original section close to the smaller, but totally adequate, pool. Our room was very quiet. When the new buildings open they will double the amount of rooms. There is a private entrance to LegoLand. I would NOT want a room overlooking the park. The screams from the park do carry! The timeshare sales presentation pressure isn't much - they invite you to go but don't hassle you about it. Love the activities list, including s'mores every night! I had my choice of three Hilton time share properties in Carlsbad, and I would definitely come back to the Marbrisa.

Room Tip: Building 53 and 54 are quiet near the smaller pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3CsFamilyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise03Carlsbad, General Manager at MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hi 3CsFamilyTravelers,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Hilton Grand Vacations Club at MarBrisa. We are thrilled to know that you and your family enjoyed the activities available, as well as the pools and cabanas. In addition, we are very happy to know that you also found the villas comfortable and with a fully stocked kitchen that is always convenient. We hope to see you back for your future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
2.2 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
3.3 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
3.6 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort

Address: 1594 MarBrisa Circle, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#18 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#23 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: £115 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MarBrisa Carlsbad Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Marbrisa Hotel Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing