We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn’t ask for more…”
Review of Ocean Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlsbad
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean Villas
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed at the Ocean Villas a couple of weeks ago. What an amazing place. The staff was great. They made sure our stay was extra special. The night we checked in my wife and I wanted to take advantage of the ocean view sunset with a bottle of wine, which I had forgotten to pack. The gal in the office, Meg I think her name was, helped me procure a new bottle and make it back in time to watch one of the most amazing sunset my wife and I have ever seen, wine in hand!
I can’t say enough about this place. The building was beautiful with hand painted details everywhere. The rooms were clean and comfortable. And the beach! There were miles of uncrowded white powdery sand. Our daughters, 3 y/o twins and a 5 y/o, had a great time. At low tide the waves carve out shallow pools well inside the surf line. Our girls were able to play in the ocean water without risk of being trampled by the waves. It was great. We made sand castles, dug for sand crabs, and splashed in the water for hours.
As if the room, staff, and beach weren’t enough; Ocean Villas is within blocks of the best shopping and dining in Carlsbad. There were lots of outdoors pubs and restaurants serving some of the most unbelievable food we’ve ever eaten. It’s understandable why most of the other guests we met return year after year. We will defiantly be coming back.
If you are fortunate enough to get to spend some time in Carlsbad, make the most of it and stay at Ocean Villas.
~Craig

Room Tip: Room K is on the sand and away from public foot traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank strunkhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

Ocean Villas is a great place to stay right on the beach. You have your own apartment with a spacious balcony overlooking the beach and the ocean. You can wake up, step in your wetsuit and walk right into the waves with your surfboard.

In the apartment is everything you need. Equipped kitchen, comfy couch, big tv and wifi.

Staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rvdoorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Fabulous place to stay, right on the beach, spectacular views, beautiful sunsets over the ocean. Friendly staff, the rooms come with everything you need, you supply the good times. The location couldn't be better, plenty of shopping and eating just a short walk away. It was nice to be able to relax on the balcony and hear the ocean waves. This was the most relaxing place I've ever stayed. The kitchen is fully stocked, cable TV, WiFi, beach towels, toys for the beach, grill, fire pit, patio furniture, you name it they supplied it. I would definitely return. We were lucky enough to be staying during the full moon, I was able to watch the moon set over the ocean in the morning and the sunset in the evening. There is so much to do and see within walking distance and of course there is always the beach, relaxing in the sun, walking along the shore or just listening to the waves. If you prefer to drive around, this is a nice central location to San Diego and Los Angeles attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northerngirlnomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Right on the sand in Carlsbad, CA. Well appointed with a full kitchen. New ownership seems committed to keep the property in tip top shape. We taxpayers brought in millions of yards of sand to enlarge the beach in 2012-2013. Great place for a family vacation. Been coming for ~30 years and hope to continue.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blue95476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Our family LOVES Carlsbad, and we will definetly return. The Ocean Villas are in THE best location, walking distance to restaurants, shopping and coffee shops - and of course it is RIGHT on an amazing beach.

We had unit H, a Catalina 1 bedroom unit, and it is fine for four of us including two teenagers. This is NOT a 5-star hotel, rather a home away from home with a very comfortable king sized bed, all the cooking supplies that you need, a nice living room/dining room, and a wonderful deck with a barbeque and gas fireplace. Our girls chose to sleep on the sofa instead of the matresses provided for extra beds, and they were happy and comfortable.

Everything is clean and nice. This is an oceanfront property, and the building in general takes a lot of abuse from the elements, but the upkeep is good. I am VERY picky about cleanliness, and have no issues here. If I had my choice I would prefer tile flooring instead of carpet in the living and bed rooms, but that is just my preference.

They have sun umbrellas, beach chairs, lots of boogie boards, and toys for little ones to play with at the beach. The beach is amazing. In late September we swam without wetsuits, and boogie boarded frequently. There were surfers in the water (in wetsuits mostly) before 11 a.m and after 5 pm.

We took the Coaster in to San Diego to watch a ball game one night - just a few blocks from the Ocean Villas to to the station (about 50 min), and I'm told that you can take the train to Disneyland too, but we chose to drive. They have garage parking that is a bit tricky to get into, but we had a full-sized car and were able to get in. Disneyland is about an hour drive from Carlsbad.

On this trip we chose to stay in Anaheim for several days, and returned for our final City Pass day by driving from Carlsbad...if we were to do it again I would just stay in Carlsbad the entire time. It is so much nicer to wake up near the ocean, and relax by the beach in the evening...it sounds like a lot of driving, but it really is worth the drive.

In general, we found Carlsbad to be the perfect location due to its central proximity to both San Diego and Disneyland...and we highly recommend the Ocean Villas.

Room Tip: We liked the North side of the building, where there wasn't any foot traffic going down to the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank northwestfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

My Husband and I stayed here for two nights. The Penthouse was well laid out and well furnished as was the private balcony overlooking the ocean and the barbaque and fire ring.. We were able to walk to the local restaurants and shops.. the location allows you to be close to all with out being in the midst of the summer tourist noise... The suite was clean and well furnished... I would recommend this to anyone coming to Carlsbad and southern california for a beach get away.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful with views.. but if this is your yearly vacation.. go for a larger room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kendall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

My husband and I have stayed at Ocean Villas at Carlsbad twice in the last three years. The first year, we stayed in a one bedroom unit and had a wonderful time. Last year, we decided to splurge and stay in the penthouse and it could not have been more perfect.
This is our absolute favorite vacation spot. The entire staff is wonderful and will help you with anything you need. We love it so much, we are going back for our third time in September, staying in the penthouse again. We can't wait. If you need a beautiful place to stay that is RIGHT on the beach and has wonderful accommodations, look no further!
Jennifer (Surprise, AZ)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jarodswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,342 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
3.0 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
672 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Villas

Address: 2985 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2953
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Carlsbad
Price Range: £61 - £455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful property is located right on the sand, just steps to the water. The only thing between you and the waves is the beach and the people frolicking on the sand and in the ocean. This lovely complex boasts 1, 2 and 3 bedroom suites along with 2 small hotel rooms. From our luxury 1700 sq. ft. Penthouse to our two bedroom Sand Suite, you will enjoy the best of panoramic ocean views in the comforting home style atmosphere. Ocean Villas has been a favorite beach retreat for return vacationers for years and years.Each spacious suite has its own large ocean front patio with Granite Fire Pit and Gas BBQ that make your beach holiday one you will always remember. There is no better way to enjoy the spectacular sunsets than from the comfort of your own patio around a warm fire, while watching the pelicans surf the waves. Fully equipped kitchens, large living rooms and bedrooms with King beds and sectional sofas for added sleeping, make Ocean Villas great for long vacations or those quiet, last minute get-aways. Ideally located for your vacation needs, you can park your car in the enclosed garage and walk to the Village of Carlsbad to experience the variety of wonderful restaurants and unique shops. Enjoy leisurely strolls along Carlsbad’s famous Seaside Walkway. Come in the spring and fall for the fabulous Carlsbad Village Fair, participate in the Carlsbad 5K or the Carlsbad Triathlon. There is always something fun to do in our city. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing