We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Been here several times, time to update my review.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Hyatt Aviara Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
283 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Been here several times, time to update my review.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have stayed here at least once a year for the last 4 years or so. Last time I reviewed this property I gave it 5 stars. This time I am moving it down to 4 stars.

The property is gorgeous, and has great views. Overall it is a very nice place to stay, and I would come here with my family if I was in Carlsbad for any reason. I really like this hotel.

So why the downgrade? Well a couple of things, one the overall cleanliness of the property was down a little. It just wasn't as immaculate as last time I was there. (in their defence I did see people vacuuming inside of chandeliers and cleaning carpets) But overall it just felt slightly beat up compared to before.

We were there on business with a conference. This is part of why I am downgrading as well, the set-up staff had roughly about a 30min to 1 hour response time for any request. As you know that is not good when trying to set-up or run a meeting. Several of the housemen were very gruff and short and by no stretch pleasant to work with. Not all of them mind you, just a couple.

Overall I recommend this hotel stil, it is just not as good as when it was the four seasons previously....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clyde_Betts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHyattAviara, Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Your feedback is much appreciated, Clyde. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed many return stays to Aviara - Carlsbad is a beautiful destination for the family. With that said, we are disappointed that we did not exceed your expectations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon to show you that we are better. Please do not hesitate to reach out if we may be of any assistance. We would love to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,295
    265
    90
    41
    24
See reviews for
504
474
33
488
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We just did a quick overnight stay, enjoying the day hanging out at the pool. The water was a little cool, but the weather was warm, so we adjusted to the temperature quickly. It was not very busy, so staff service was excellent everywhere. We ate lunch by the pool - the fish tacos were scrumptious, the ahi wrap was decent although only if you like mango. We had room service for dinner - shrimp quesadilla was also very scrumptious! I thought prices were reasonable for the quality of food. The room was a good size, nice layout, the bathroom could have had a different layout to accommodate a larger shower, though. We loved the illy espresso machine in the room, very nice touch! Yes, the valet took some time to retrieve our car, but other than that, we really enjoyed our stay. We've stayed at a Four Seasons before, and I think the Aviara held very similar standards. Hopefully we'll be able to check out the spa on our next visit!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catmom37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHyattAviara, Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Your kind comments are very much appreciated. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at the pool and that our restaurant exceeded your expectations. It is also great to hear that you loved the illy espresso machines - we agree that they are a wonderful way to start the day! If we may be of any assistance with a return visit, please don't hesitate to reach out. It would be our pleasure to see you again and arrange a spa ritual for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Lovely property in a beautiful setting. Enjoyed the smell of jasmine upon entry. Perfect setting for attending my conference. Nice lobby area with many public sitting areas adorned with exquisite orchids Easy to relax in large room with great bath (I liked their soap & lotions so much I plan to order some online). Private (yes, really) balcony great place to sit in robe (provided) and savor morning coffee. Fabulous pool with waterfall feature and food/drink service. All meals were tip-top. All staff were friendly, efficient, and professional. Five stars in my book!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaChiad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHyattAviara, Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your glowing review, Linda. The bath amenities you enjoyed are Le Labo fragrances - we love them, too! It is so wonderful to hear that we exceeded your expectations, and that the staff made a genuine connection with you during your stay. If you are planning an upcoming leisure trip, please don't hesitate to reach out. It would be a pleasure to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Lovely property. This was our third visit including our first magical trip to the property when it was a Four Seasons. Park Hyatt is fine, but not the same as a Four Seasons. We planned a short, relaxing trip to this property after our stay at Disneyland. It was anything but relaxing for me. The Internet went down mid morning while I was working from the hotel, causing me to have my family come back from the beach so I could find a coffee shop with WiFi and get my work done. It was down for four hours so I missed my deadline, screwed up my day by running around and then messed with the my family at the beach. It was super frustrating and with all the running around, I was not able to spend anytime relaxing with my family. So...should I be upset? Should they have Internet for guests? Things happen but my expectations were not met at such a great place and it ruined my day (which was my only full day at the resort). No spa time or beach time for me.

And the valet took way too long and seemed disorganized.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twinexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHyattAviara, Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks about our property, and we are happy to hear that you have enjoyed return visits. We are, however, disappointed to learn about your experience with the internet. Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience, as this disrupted valuable time in your day. In this type of rare situation, we offer our Business Center computers and wired internet options as an alternative to wireless. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future to exceed your expectations, so please do not hesitate to reach out if we may be of any assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrieta, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is a beautiful resort, however their parking accommodations leave little to be desired. Every time we came back to the resort, we had to wait up to 20 minutes just to get to the front entry in order to have the valet park our car. I don't know if this is a design flaw in the resort (only one main entry) or a lack of staff to park the cars, but it is not what I would expect for a resort of this caliber.

Otherwise the facility and staff were excellent and to their credit, they did comp our valet and several other items to make up for this.

Room Tip: The suites are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GJBuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHyattAviara, Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review and feedback. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience, and are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience with our staff. On rare occasions, such as last week, we host large groups that impact our parking services. Yet, that is no excuse for an extended wait time. If we may be of any future assistance, please do not hesitate to reach out. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back and see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
304 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Fine location in a great landscape. Reception well designed. A little to large. Did not like the perfume smell in the lobby. Maybe to hide the chloral smell.the rooms are very nice and great designed. The room service is excellent. Same for house keeping. They work so hard and with a smile and so polite. Reception ladies could learn from them.
The several pools very positive. As a non interested golfer ,the location is a little boring.
The restaurant Vivace was very good!
Valet parking cost 35 Dollar. No escape!
Resort Fee 25 Dollar.No escape.
Plus Occupancy Tax, CA Assessment Fee and Carlsbad Tourism Assessment.

However good service and the rooms are very good.

Room Tip: We where happy not to see and hear the pool areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Puffinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHyattAviara, Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your kind review. Your compliments about our housekeeping team, rooms, and Vivace are much appreciated, and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. If we may be of any assistance with future travel plans, please don't hesitate to reach out. We hope to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Grove, ut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We just finished an amazing stay at the Park Hyatt this month. The entire staff at the hotel were very friendly and made my children feel like they were royalty. When we first arrived one person delivered and unloaded our bags, another made up the pull out sofa bed, another briefed us on all of the activities they have for kids.

The daily buffet breakfast was amazing--we are going to miss their fresh squeezed juice of the day, amazing pastries, house made granola and vanilla bean yogurt, some of the best pancakes I have ever had. The breakfast is expensive--but was free for 4 adults (I am a Hyatt Diamond).

My kids loved the pools, the croquet, playground, game room, and other facilities. The hotel was a very peaceful oasis for us--was very nice to come back to after busy days at Seaworld, the Zoo, and the Safari Park. The hotel is also very close to Legoland--we made a quick stop there and couldn't imagine staying at the Legoland Hotel--it was very chaotic.

I am also a runner and was very glad to find they had mapped out some local running paths--through quiet neighborhoods and through a park along the lagoon.

I also stayed at the hotel and worked a few days during our stay--the Wifi was fine and it was very nice to work on one of the two balconies our suite had.

Great stay in the San Diego area for families--it was a 30 minute drive to many of the parks--but we thought it was well worth the drive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkhong1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHyattAviara, Manager at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
It brings us great joy to hear that you had an amazing stay, and it sounds like you had the opportunity to both relax and enjoy quality time with the family. We are so grateful to have been a part of the experience, and your kind compliments are very much appreciated. If we can be of any assistance with a future visit, please do not hesitate to reach out. It would be our pleasure to welcome you and your family back soon with a fresh batch of pancakes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.3 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
5.8 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Aviara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Aviara Resort

Property: Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
Address: 7100 Aviara Resort Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Aviara Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On California’s sun-drenched Pacific coast, in the seaside community of Carlsbad, Park Hyatt Aviara Resort lies on the north shore of Batiquitos Lagoon – a vast protected wildlife sanctuary and an enclave of natural beauty. From atop the highest ridge, overlooking the ocean and the lagoon, the AAA Five Diamond San Diego resort provides a respite from the ordinary. Located amid 200 acres of verdant hillsides and rolling valleys, within the master-planned community of Aviara, our North San Diego luxury hotel and resort provides an appealing setting for any function. The resort’s Spanish colonial architecture welcomes with a sense of casual elegance. Each of the 329 spacious guest rooms – including 44 suites – features a private balcony or landscaped terrace offering magnificent views. Expansive facilities for meetings and special events are enhanced by complete resort amenities, from acclaimed dining to a full-service spa, swimming, tennis, a fitness center and an Arnold Palmer-designed 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and TravelUp so you can book your Park Hyatt Aviara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Aviara Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Carlsbad
Aviara Resort
Carlsbad Four Seasons
Four Seasons Aviara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing