We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Our Favorite Hotels/Resorts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We live about an hour away from this hotel, and stay here when we want to get away for a weekend and get pampered. The hotel used to be a Four Seasons and the Hyatt has kept the place up to those standards. The beds, pillows and linens are the most comfortable we've ever had -- anywhere. The decor is impeccable. The grounds beautiful. The restaurant options fantastic. The staff friendly and professional. The resort is family friendly, but also caters to those without kids (e.g., there is a separate pool for adults only). While there is no need to leave the grounds with all the excellent options available (a challenging golf course, many pools, great views, two fabulous restaurants, a spa, and special events like outdoor movies), the hotel is close to great beaches, several more golf courses, and Legoland. San Diego is only 30 minutes away as well. We love this place and look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: If you don't have kids, avoid breakfast in the California Bistro. If can get very loud with all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SoCalTMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Relations at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

It brings us joy to hear you had such a relaxing and enjoyable getaway! We are so glad you were able to experience all the different areas of the hotel from the delightful Adult Pool to the award winning Golf Course, Spa and restaurants. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,042)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,374 - 1,380 of 2,042 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

Had a 3 night stay here July 4th , 5th and 6th with my wife. No kids. The room and bed was extra comfortable with a surprise turn down service every night. This Hotel is built solid. and has beautiful landscape and views of the lagoon, mountains and the ocean depending on what room you get. Ours was on the 5th floor facing east.This place has a excellent firework show on the 4th of July. Relaxing Adult pool section with great service.If you see Mollie tell her hello.
The beach and ocean is also not far and the Valet told me they have everything you need like
beach chairs and umbrellas etc. I have my own stuff but still good to know since you have to pay for valet service.There is no other way to park. but nice to know your sharing garage space with Rolls Royces. First Class all the way! Felt like I was on a cruise and relaxed!

Room Tip: Every room has a nice good size balcony. Just depends on which way you want to face. East . West or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Relations at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your wonderful holiday weekend at the Resort! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the 4th of July festivities and all the services and amenities we have to offer. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back, please let us know if we can assist with future reservations in anyway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We just returned from a two night stay, July 3-5. This property is stunning! We had a courtyard view not the bottom level. We enjoyed listened to the violin player at night. The pool was very kid friendly and our daughter enjoyed meeting new friends at the pool. The floral smell when you entered the lobby was amazing! We were able to participate in the 4th of July celebration the hotel puts on. The holiday buffet was awesome as well as the live band. The fireworks for the guest were the best I have ever experienced. We had such a wonderful time and can't wait to return. The room service was super yummy! Our little one passed out before dinner so we had to cancel our dinner reservation and order room service, We were not disappointed!

Room Tip: Pick a courtyard view on a upper level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tjmcdona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Relations at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

It is great to hear you and your family enjoyed a wonderful Fourth of July stay. Thank you for the compliments about our Food and Beverage team, we will make sure to share your kind words. We would love to welcome you back for future stays, please let us know if we can be of any assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This place is big! And fancy! Luxury linens, big rooms, nice turn-down service with water, ice and chocolates. We went for a Palm Court room where we could listen to the violin at dusk. Food is good at the various restaurants. Adult pool is classy and nice with great views, fresh towels and chaise lounges are always available there. Downside: busy holiday weekends (like 4th of July) are swarming with families who bring many children and many dogs. The munchkins are w-a-a-a-y cute, but elevators can get backed up and we gave up on getting our breakfast buffet one morning when the wait was 30+ minutes because of all the people. We also found the evening entertainment in the California Cafe to be way, way loud. Other downside is the hidden fees: $35/day for valet, $25/day resort fee. On balance, it was still worth it because we had an Amex "third night free" deal, but we would have hesitated at the cost were this not the case.

Room Tip: Palm Court is quietest. If you are pool side, ask for room on upper floor so you can get nice views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccdeblaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Relations at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a thoughtful review. We are glad you enjoyed the Sunset Serenade by the solo violinist as well as the other amenities in the Resort. The holiday does tend to attract quite a few families to the Resort so we do apologize for any inconveniences caused by the busy weekend. We would love to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I stayed here for 3nights in mid Jun. I have to say that this was one of the best resorts in California. From the concierge all the way to the check in process and bell mans. The Spa staff were really nice and the adult pool area was so clean and enjoyable. I love the hotel view, it was so relaxing.
My only complain was that room service didn't wash the lettuce in the salad, that was the only bad point.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Relations at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your kind compliments of our wonderful staff! We will make sure each team is aware of your feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and please let us know if there is anything we can do to help make arrangements for future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed here for a work conference last week and the facilities are absolutely stunning. The rooms are lovely and the bathrooms are gigantic. The views are amazing. You certainly can tell that this was built as a Four Seasons. This also means that the amenities and services are extremely pricey. In particular, the onsite spa and bistro are very expensive. The spa was well-worth it. The bistro was not. Also, be aware that if you are renting a car, you will have to use valet parking because there is no where to self-park. The valet is $35/day, which they don't warn you about except for a tiny sign above the valet stand.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenserafi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Relations at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your review Jen, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay, especially the time spent at the Spa. We do apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with the rental car parking, we try our best to communicate the charges in advance. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back soon, please let us know if there is anything we can do to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Wake up Hyatt, you're not the Four Seasons anymore! **Beware of the hidden $35 parking fee that is not disclosed on your confirmation.**They also charge a $25 resort fee plus tax per night.** This marks the second time in two years we cancelled our yearly 4th of July trip to Park Hyatt Aviara because of bad customer service and attitudes. After spending over 20 years in the military, I would think my service and business is valuable to some establishments... not at this place.

My wife finds great deals for us every year for our vacations. In 2011, she found an unbelievable rate at Park Hyatt Aviara that used to be the Four Seasons Aviara. That first and only time we stayed there, everything was fantastic! We were pampered, spoiled and treated like royalty. In 2013, we were going back because we loved the resort and the way we were treated. Then came the new hidden parking and resort fees totaling over $220 extra we had not budgeted in on a military retiree's pay. After a lengthy conversation with him, the manager was going to waive one of the fees, but not both. That would have worked great had we been treated with respect and dignity. Instead, we were made to feel like they were "doing us a favor" of offering a discounted rate and waiving one of two fees not disclosed on our reservation confirmation. I don't feel like they are doing me a favor when I earned the ability to a military discount after serving over 20 years in the Air Force. We didn't feel comfortable staying at a resort that doesn't value us as customers and gives you a huge attitude. So we cancelled and instead stayed at South Mesa Lodge on Camp Pendleton and were treated fantastic at a fraction of the cost of Aviara's standard rate!

This year we were going to try Aviara again, but the attitude is still there. It's like they think they are still a Four Seasons Resort! I called the reservation manager to change my arrival date and I was reminded of the resort and parking fees "because we see this was an issue before and we don't want it to be an issue this time." Just the attitude in his voice was upsetting. This hotel has not updated their rooms since becoming a Hyatt... which means they are seriously outdated for the price. Not once have I received a "Thank you for your service" that I get anywhere else. I cancelled my reservation and booked with Omni La Costa Resort this year. Not only will we get a better rate, they offer a $75 resort credit per day that we will use toward massages. We are looking forward to being spoiled and pampered by a resort who values us as customers and values the military family! La Costa even called us a few days ahead of time to see if we wanted to schedule a massage or tee time. Hyatt didn't even attempt to offer us anything like this ahead of time. I recommend any military (active duty or retired) family to try Omni La Costa Resort, or any other resort that values your service and business, instead of throwing your money away at this "resort".

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank JetDocF16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Relations at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this thoughtful feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Your previous patronage to Aviara is very much appreciated. We have recently completed a soft renovation of all 327 guest rooms and would value the opportunity to welcome you back to experience them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara, Carlsbad Ca.
1.3 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
5.8 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,349 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Aviara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Aviara Resort

Address: 7100 Aviara Resort Dr, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4908
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: £194 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Aviara Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On California’s sun-drenched Pacific coast, in the seaside community of Carlsbad, Park Hyatt Aviara Resort lies on the north shore of Batiquitos Lagoon – a vast protected wildlife sanctuary and an enclave of natural beauty. From atop the highest ridge, overlooking the ocean and the lagoon, the AAA Five Diamond San Diego resort provides a respite from the ordinary. Located amid 200 acres of verdant hillsides and rolling valleys, within the master-planned community of Aviara, our North San Diego luxury hotel and resort provides an appealing setting for any function. The resort’s Spanish colonial architecture welcomes with a sense of casual elegance. Each of the 329 spacious guest rooms – including 44 suites – features a private balcony or landscaped terrace offering magnificent views. Expansive facilities for meetings and special events are enhanced by complete resort amenities, from acclaimed dining to a full-service spa, swimming, tennis, a fitness center and an Arnold Palmer-designed 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Park Hyatt Aviara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Aviara Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Carlsbad
Aviara Resort
Carlsbad Four Seasons
Four Seasons Aviara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing