We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay in Carlsbad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This was our second visit. It was better than the first (which was so wonderful that we returned). Our room was exceptionally clean and bright. A special thank you to Alyssa in reservations who was able to extend our stay, and to Sarah, Chef Concierge, for her assistance and excellent recommendations. The organization and speed of F&B service at the family pool could benefit from some improvement, the swimming pool should be heated, and our daughter would love to see the return of the surfing machine in the games room. Otherwise, we enjoyed the excellent service, grounds and property at this Carlsbad resort.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CaribCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Relations at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for your kind compliments of our wonderful Associates, Alyssa and Sarah. It is pleasing to hear they had such a positive impact on your stay, we will be sure to share your kind words. We appreciate your feedback regarding our pool service; we strive to ensure our pools are heated year round to a temperature of 82 degrees to make sure our guests are comfortable. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back, please let us know if we can be of any assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,042)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,354 - 1,360 of 2,042 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

We chose this hotel because it was close to our destination and had great rates. It was very nicely appointed. He weather was beautiful and we had a lovely view of the pool and mountains. We used valet parking (there wasn't an option) but I wish we'd had a choice of more affordable self parking. We only stayed 2 nights and they concierge was very helpful with restaurant recommendations and everything wad just as I expected for this scale of hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Relations at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for your review, it is wonderful to hear you had a lovely stay and especially enjoyed the services of the Concierge team. Please let us know if we can assist with future travel plans, we would love to welcome you back to the Resort soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I stayed at the Park Hyatt Aviara while attending a large conference. The staff handled the volume of attendees well and the level of service and comfort was exceptional. The hotel was clean, which is always the first thing I look for. We had a beautiful balcony room overlooking the pool area with a view of the Pacific in the distance. Although the hotel had hundreds, perhaps thousands, of visitors for the conference it was quiet and never felt overly trafficked. The staff went out of their way to make sure our needs were taken care of. I would definitely return and stay again if I return to the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Relations at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

We are pleased to hear you had a great stay at the Resort and enjoyed the service, cleanliness of the rooms and beautiful guestroom balcony. We would love to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

So very disappointing. I am a Diamond Hyatt member and have seen the very best the chain has to offer, but I can only describe this as poor.

On arrival we were ignored by the portering staff and nearly run over by a valet parker as we struggled across the drive with our bags. We then stood at an unmanned reception for a while until some staff showed up.

The room we were taken to on the first floor can best be described as dingy, but the biggest problem was a bathroom door that would not even close half way on a toilet that is not in a cubicle. My wife and I will share almost anything, but there we draw the line.

Having requested a change of room, we went for breakfast. We were told it would be 25 minutes wait to sit outside or 5 inside, so we agreed to take whatever came up first. After a few minutes a server called our names and took us to a very nice outdoor table.

However a couple of minutes later the manager stomped up and demanded to know whether we had actually been shown to the table. I assured her we had and that had not just taken it. She replied "but this one is reserved" and stomped off again. We then spent the rest of breakfast wondering if we were going to get thrown off the table and trying to get served with coffee and orange juice, which took an expedition to track down.

I could go on but suffice to say this was not the relaxing break we hoped for. The most disappointing part is that I have received various requests for my feedback since the trip, but having given it I have not had a reply, usually a sign of just going though the motions.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank HaveStatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Relations at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, it is concerning to learn about your experience and we can assure it will be shared with the appropriate team members to ensure continued improvement and learning. The room mentioned sounds like it fits the description of a specific type of room, we apologize if this is not what you were expecting. Please be assured our Management team does take your feedback seriously, if you would like to discuss your stay in greater detail we invite you to contact our Executive Offices directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Beautiful hotel in a picturesque setting! Staff was efficient and professional. Room was spacious with a wonderful view of the grounds and lagoon in the distance. Would definitely visit again and recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Relations at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you very much for your recommendation and we hope you will visit again soon. Please do not hesitate to let us know if we can assist with future vacation plans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here when it was owned by Four Seasons. Expected a drop in quality and service. I was wrong. Every aspect of this resort extremely satisfying. Bed and pillows are fantastic. Slept like a rock last night. Golf course is beautiful and great shape. Short drive to the beach as well. And Carlsbad has some good restaurants, so location is convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Relations at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

We are delighted to hear we were able to exceed your expectations and you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This resort has excellent customer service. They go above and beyond to help. Very relaxing place to stay. The kids didn't like the pool because they don't like to share their space but it was nice and the adult pool is very peaceful. Not a long drive to San Diego. There are several little towns around that have nice beaches to visit. But our favorite beach was in Carlsbad.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SuperTxMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Relations at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for your compliments of our wonderful Associates, we will be sure to pass along your kind words. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the pools as well as the beautiful beaches close by to the Resort. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara, Carlsbad Ca.
1.3 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
5.8 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,349 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Aviara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Aviara Resort

Address: 7100 Aviara Resort Dr, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4908
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: £194 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Aviara Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On California’s sun-drenched Pacific coast, in the seaside community of Carlsbad, Park Hyatt Aviara Resort lies on the north shore of Batiquitos Lagoon – a vast protected wildlife sanctuary and an enclave of natural beauty. From atop the highest ridge, overlooking the ocean and the lagoon, the AAA Five Diamond San Diego resort provides a respite from the ordinary. Located amid 200 acres of verdant hillsides and rolling valleys, within the master-planned community of Aviara, our North San Diego luxury hotel and resort provides an appealing setting for any function. The resort’s Spanish colonial architecture welcomes with a sense of casual elegance. Each of the 329 spacious guest rooms – including 44 suites – features a private balcony or landscaped terrace offering magnificent views. Expansive facilities for meetings and special events are enhanced by complete resort amenities, from acclaimed dining to a full-service spa, swimming, tennis, a fitness center and an Arnold Palmer-designed 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Park Hyatt Aviara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Aviara Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Carlsbad
Aviara Resort
Carlsbad Four Seasons
Four Seasons Aviara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing