We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freeway Close, San Diego, Not.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Reviewed 1 March 2014

La Quinta advertises the location as San Diego Carlsbad. Carlsbad-close? Yes,-either by freeway or the more scenic local road in from of the Inn. San Diego-close? Not really. The drive is pleasant but it's quite a distance, and in morning or evening rush hour traffic it can be grueling. So whether the location is excellent or terrible for you depends upon how fare afield from Carlsbad you plan to roam.

We find nothing not to like about the Inn, itself. La Quinta is our "go to" choice of chains whenever there's an option, and this one is "above average" in the chain. We were there for a long weekend a few months ago and plan to go back next month. We don't ordinarily like to stay in the same hotel twice in a row, just to get a change of scenery. There are other options in Carlsbad, so returning to La Quinta is a good recommendation.

Room Tip: West-facing rooms on upper floors are the best bet, but the hotel is quiet throughout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dick99000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

393 - 399 of 655 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Cranford, New Jersey, USA
21
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We've stayed here a number of times and we're always pleased with the room (King Suite has 2 baths), the cleanliness of the property and the prompt and pleasant service by the staff. Although our room was very close to the highway it was simply "white noise" (never a problem). The breakfast is more than adequate with basically all you need to start the day
(and surprisingly good coffee). All in all this is an excellent value and we'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The hotel was well located for my purposes. The service really was lacking. The toilet backed up and when I called down to the desk the best the young man could do was offer a plunger. Really!! I can do that at home but I don't expect to be doing that at a hotel of quality.

I've stayed at La Quinta before so I had expectations as to their morning breakfast but found that what they serve in Burlingame is not what they serve in Carlsbad. The coffee was weak and the bagels were so so. Except for waffles that's all they had in terms of something substantial, and they even ran out of bananas on a Sunday morning.

But for the location, the price and a decent place to sleep there's not much more that can be said for this La Quinta.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Hugh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Excellent location, clean and good service
The area located it is very nice and close to the beach and good restaurants.
It is close to Legoland, and Also close to premium outlet which is very convenient.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Arnulfo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I stayed for 6 nights. The room was bigger than I expected, had a sitting area which was nice to be able to work in. The hotel was very clean, the breakfast was nice, and it was very conveniently located. I needed to receive and send a fax and this was not a problem, all staff were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank basketnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We've stayed at this particular hotel many times. We're never disappointed with the service we receive. They always grant us our requests. You're close to the beach, great restaurants , shopping outlets, who could ask for more!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
2  Thank KahoonasGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

La Quinta in Carlsbad on Macadamia is a wonderful hotel. People are very friendly and the rooms are beautiful, clean, great tv stations, and pet friendly. It's very very close to the beach and just a wonderful place to stay. I highly recommend this location as well as La Quinta's in general. They are always clean, nice, great amenities, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee pots, great pillows and a comfy bed. Why would you stay anywhere else??? And, for pet lovers, it's so awesome that such a wonderful hotel chain allows pets when some places that I wouldn't look twice at, won't allow pets. La Quinta's are wonderful and I just can't say enough about the hotel and the friendly and helpful personnel.

Room Tip: While I don't know every room at the hotel, I know mine, and it couldn't have be nicer or cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
0.1 mi away
Ramada Carlsbad
Ramada Carlsbad
#36 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,090 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
3.6 mi away
Days Inn Carlsbad
Days Inn Carlsbad
#26 of 36 in Carlsbad
366 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad

Address: 760 Macadamia Dr, Carlsbad, CA 92011-3205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#22 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: £69 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
La Quinta Hotel Carlsbad
La Quinta Carlsbad
Carlsbad La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing