We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Atwater, United States
2 reviews
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Staff is very nice and willing to help. Suite rooms are clean and roomy. Suites have a king bed and shower plus it has a separate sofabed on a different room and its own shower, desk and tv. Kids love it having their own space.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Carolina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    193
    118
    39
    21
See reviews for
340
98
28
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

a good hotel and close to all freeways which can take you anywhere you need to go. the staff were friendly and the room was good for the price. breakfast a bit of a scramble but just get there early to avoid certain items running out.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolgartass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohnert Park, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

The La Quinta at Carlsbad is right by the freeway its a great location for getting around but a little noisey and I don't think it matters what room you stay in. They need a sound wall by the hotel. I have to say the room was clean and it felt really large . We had a microwave and a refigerator in it. The pool was small but perfect for the kids to get wet and the hot tub felt really good after spending the day walking at Lego Land. The hotel staff was very friendly and i like the fact that they had a continintal breakfest that indcluded waffles , yogurt, fresh fruit, coffee , oj , muffins it was a real savings. It was located close to places to eat and to Lego Land as well.

We paid $ 106 a night and that was two queen beds.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadrunner128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

I have stayed at a few places in Carlsbad. Anywhere you go in the Carlsbad area will be overrun with families going to Legoland. I come to Carlsbad because I like the beach.

Hotel is decent enough. I had a king bed, mini fridge, flat screen TV and pull out couch sitting area. The sink doesn't have a ton of counter space - so much wasted space underneath the sink that they should put in shelves. Shower was fine with decent pressure. The rooms aren't as dated as some of the other motels I have stayed in.

The plus is that pets stay free. They even have a small pet area at the end of the hotel closest to the highway but I just walked my dog along the grass lined streets. As many reviewers have stated - the breakfast room is under renovation and is quite small. Decent selection including cereals, waffles, muffins, some boiled eggs and oatmeal. Better food fare for kids with families - I stuck to the free coffee. The pool area is very small but my feeling is there is a beautiful beach close by so pools are less important.

This hotel has 3 floors with exterior halls so it can get noisy. There is no elevator so if you are on the 3rd floor you are dragging your luggage to the top. My biggest pet peeve is the slow as molasses wifi. Really? Uverse? Can it go any slower? This is as bad as dial-up. I hear you guys are up for an upgrade soon - can't be soon enough. Biggest things for me are free coffee, clean rooms and fast wifi - you guys fail on the last one. I didn't hear the highway noise because I have become quite adept with having white noise blasting through my iPhones - check it out - lifesaver when traveling!

I probably won't come here again, but if you are a budget family wanting to visit Legoland, this is the place to be. I think I'm going to Del Mar next!

Room Tip: choose a room on the ground floor away from highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NotGrlNextDoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Recently stayed 14-17, my years in the dry and warm Vegas desert left me feeling chilly the evening we arrived to the hotel. So I turned on the heater and let it run for about an hour when I decided to turn it up before bed. When I lifted up the cover to adjust the temp the control had a small continuous spark, and was leaving a very small burnt spot. So I turned it off and called the front desk. There was no answer, so I waited and called back a few minutes later, with the same issue. I tried repeatedly for about an hour to call (I had been driving and was exhausted, so what?) and did not feel like getting up, getting dressed, and walking to the office. The next day I told the clerk at the front desk what the issue was and said I tried to call repeatedly the night before, he explained that there were issues with phones and calls were not coming through on their end. He then sent a maintenance guy to take care of the unit. Other than that, everything was pretty good, we were upgraded to a king suite which was pretty rad. The downside was that we could hear kids running around in the room above us when we were trying to sleep.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank SunnyDigital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Motel-style rooms with outside access. Very noisy due to location next to highway. Breakfast lobby undergoing renovation so very crowded, however the service and food was good (enough). Rooms are getting a little worn out. Kids loved the pool and hot tub, but always ran out of towels in the evening. Two room suite, only one phone worked. The fold out bed mattress was about two inches thick. Good location for LegoLand. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. Indoor (hotel style) La Quintas are much quieter.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank Bradley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Great location. Just of Interstate, a mere 3 minute drive to beach, just down road from supermarket and dining options. 10 minutes to train going to SD or LA.

Property was clean and attractive. Rooms very clean and included mini fridge and microwave.

Only downsides were that breakfast room was under renovation and thus selection limited, and pool was quite small, but you can counter that with proximity to the beach! Also, even though San Diego is in title, it's a good 45 minutes north of the city.

Overall, it was a very nice experience. Easily recommend and would absolutely stay again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GGM5171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.3 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
0.1 mi away
Ramada Carlsbad
Ramada Carlsbad
#36 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Days Inn Carlsbad
Days Inn Carlsbad
#25 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
2.1 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
4.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
Address: 760 Macadamia Dr, Carlsbad, CA 92011-3205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
La Quinta Hotel Carlsbad
La Quinta Carlsbad
Carlsbad La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing