We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok Business Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Cheveley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ok Business Hotel”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Stayed here as part of a business trip to the area from the UK. The hotel was fine but nothing special. Breakfast was an additional charge and had to be ordered from the downstairs cafe area. This said the choice was good and they bought it to you so it made a change from the typical buffet options that most hotels have.

Overall, it wouldnt be my first choice and it was more expesive and nowhere near as good as the hotel I moved to for a weekend stay in the same area (see my other reviews).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyY_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    108
    46
    11
    6
See reviews for
128
31
14
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Buffalo, Michigan, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I stayed here while training. Everyone was super helpful and accommodating! We all fell in love with the staff and would suggest for tethers to stay here as well. The shuttle to almost anywhere you want to go is great for a break or adventure. Many places to go in such a short vicinity with the shuttle

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairhope, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Courtyard by Marriott is redesigning the lobby in many of their properties to have the "bistro" dining area. I for one like the change and this one is no different. As much as I like the bistro area the guest rooms are getting to be ho-hum for me. I did like the location of my room (pool view) and everything was clean and in working order. The one negative was that my room had a balcony but no chair outside to enjoy it. I noticed only a couple of the rooms with balconies had outdoor chairs. This is puzzling to me. I would have enjoyed sitting outside and enjoying the great weather. Only other negative is the lack of dining options in the immediate area. Staff was good and room was fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I stayed at this hotel for two night for a trip to legoland with my husband and son. The lobby was nice and clean but once we checked in our room it was less than what I expected for a courtyard Marriott. My main issues were we reserved a king room with a sofa bed and the sofa bed was disgusting! It was old,dirty, beyond worn out, and had large holes. When I contacted the front desk the response was that I could not expect much because it was a sofa bed. I understand it is not a bed but the condition was unacceptable ,however They did replace the mattress.

The last night of our stayed I got up around 5am to go to the bathroom and when I turned the light on a roach ran across the bathroom sink. I called the front desk and was told the manager would call me when she was in. When I woke up for the morning, I went to the restroom again and turned on the light and a roach ran across again. I called the front desk again and spoke with the manager roxanne. Her response was they never had the problem before and the would have to verify the rodents to offer any accomadations of do anything about it. How do you verify roaches as if my word was not eno-
ugh. After asking if I needed to escalate the issues she offered me 10% off my stay. I felt insulted as she was indicated I was lying or brought the roaches with me. Instead of an apology and some kind of accomodation, she just tried to defend they have never had the issues instead of acknowledging it was a problem now. I would not recommend this hotel if you care about cleanliness and rodent issues.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank micheldouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsbadCYGM, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear Mrs. Douglas,

You are a valued guest of the Courtyard by Marriott - Carlsbad and I appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations and service.

I assure you that what you experienced was isolated and not typical of the Carlsbad Courtyard. I apologize for the inconvenience and annoyance these incidents caused.

I truly appreciate you bringing each incident to my attention. If you had not, I would have missed this opportunity to address the situation. I am pleased that you and I had another opportunity to address your concerns over the phone on Wednesday July 25th. Thank you for speaking with me and thank you for allowing me to ensure that you were satisfied with the final resolution.

I hope that you will give us another opportunity to prove that we can provide you with the service that Marriott is known for. We look forward to accommodating you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Roxanne Marlow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel while we attended a wedding in the area, and I was a bit disappointed with the hotel's cleanliness and upkeep. It seemed that most of the other guests were families visiting Legoland, which made the hallways noisy early in the morning. When we checked in, parking was difficult to find. However, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the lobby had clearly been renovated. All the common areas seemed well-maintained, clean, and stylish, so it was disappointing when we opened the door to the room. Our room was not completely clean, and the bed linens and curtains seemed outdated. The bathroom was extremely outdated, and wasn't up to the standards we were expecting from our visits to hotels of comparable costs in Los Angeles and San Diego. Breakfast at the restaurant was a nice feature, and was included in our room rate.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, and it was extremely loud in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Just came back from a 3 day trip at this hotel, have been there in the past and liked it--not so much anymore. They charge extra for everything. Waited over 30 minutes for the free coffee--guess they thought we would get fed up and order at their Starbucks-not. The rooms and hallways are starting to look dated with stains on carpet. Got home and checked my credit card statement and see they charged me $3.00 for a bottle of water which we never had--yes--it was in the room so I'm guessing the charge was for babysitting it. If they charge everyone $3 more that their bill, then they will be raking in some big bucks. So I say, check your credit card statements with this hotel. I called and got it reversed but am ticked that they thought it was OK to do that. We brought our own water in everyday for a whole lot less. What a scam and to pull it on a Marriott Rewards member--pretty low. Nope won't go back. Lots of other places in the area for the same price. On the positive side--soft pillows--yep--that's it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank debt1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, NV
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This was our second time at this hotel and probably our last without a major remodel.

First, they have done the most recent renovation of the lobby and it is quite nice. The Courtyard brand 'Bistro' and lounge type areas are very nice and there are computers and internet access everywhere. The food at the made to order breakfast is also quite good. The staff was well attentive and did a fantastic job.

The rooms . . ???? Well, maybe because I used a Marriott vouchers the year before I got a better room last time. This time however, the room was worn, with peeling wall paper, water stains and gray (definitely not white) sheets. This will be the main reason we will not be back at this location. I hate negative reviews and do not usually write them, however for well over $150 in this location for this run down of a room . . it deserves it.

This really is a great location for Legoland and the Carlsbad area and the staff is great. But there are several other choices close by that have to have better rooms than what this place is working with now.

Room Tip: They do offer a shuttle to LegoLand
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DandSinNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
#22 of 36 in Carlsbad
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport

Property: Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport
Address: 5835 Owens Ave, Carlsbad, CA 92008-6562 (Formerly Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad)
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#19 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Carlsbad hotel is located just 3 miles from the Pacific Ocean and Carlsbad beach, blocks from LEGOLAND® California and Carlsbad Premium Outlets, near the Carlsbad and Vista business parks 15 minutes from Camp Pendleton and close to the McClellan-Palomar Airport. When travel takes you to Carlsbad for a California hotel room, the Marriott offers all the comforts and quality you have come to expect from a Courtyard by Marriott hotel. This hotel near LEGOLAND® California offers guests easy access to the sprawling park and nearby outlet malls and more. Business travelers attending meetings and conferences in the Carlsbad area enjoy a large work desk with an ergonomic chair, high speed Internet access and relaxing atmosphere to unwind at the end of the day. Nearby area Carlsbad businesses include McClellan-Palomar Airport (CLD), United States Marine Camp Pendleton Marine Base, Cal State San Marcos, Callaway Golf, Invitrogen, Western Flight and many more Carlsbad and Vista Business Park companies. Both leisure and business travelers will appreciate the warm welcome by our friendly north San Diego hotel staff as you join us in Carlsbad, California at our Marriott hotel.Attractions Near Our Carlsbad CA Marriott hotel Include:• Carlsbad Beaches• Carlsbad Premium Outlets• Carlsbad Village• Del Mar Race Track• Del Mar Fairgrounds• Flower Fields at Carlsbad Ranch• LEGOLAND® California Theme Park• LEGOLAND® California Waterpark• Leo Carrillo Ranch Historic Park• Museum of Making Music• Safari Park Other points of interest to our north San Diego Carlsbad area hotel include all the attractions of San Diego such as Sea World California, the San Diego Zoo, Downtown San Diego, Old Town and much more. Other nearby points of interest include the Sealife Aquarium, Gemological Institute of America, San Clemente and much more. The courteous friendly staff of the Courtyard by Marriott® Carlsbad Hotel guarantees your stay with us will exceed your expectations! Amenities of the Courtyard by Marriott Carlsbad Hotel include: • Ample & Complimentary Parking• Business Center with Media Pods• New Redesigned Courtyard Lobby• GoBoard Technology Center®• Boarding Pass Station• Carlsbad Area Meeting Rooms (1,200 square feet)• High Speed Internet Access (Complimentary)• Indoor Fitness Center• Outdoor Heated Pool & Deck Area• Luxury Marriott Bedding and Pillows• The Bistro featuring Starbucks Coffee (open breakfast and dinner)• Whirlpool Suites Available• The Market 24-Hour Café ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Courtyard Carlsbad
Carlsbad Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing