We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay...unless you need to get some sleep.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay...unless you need to get some sleep.”
Reviewed 25 January 2011

This is the second year in a row we have stayed at this hotel, both times to run the Carlsbad 1/2 marathon the next morning. The rooms are very nice and clean. The people at the front desk are wonderful. Here is our only BIG complaint and the only reason I gave this 2 stars instead of 4 (they would have had a chance at 5 stars had they had some HEALTHY breakfast options available before the race- or shuttle service to the race as some hotels in the area do). We needed to get our sleep as we had a 5am wake up call. But that would not happen b/c the people next door either had their TV blaring or the walls are too thin- and they were talking OVER the TV. So after 2 or 3 calls to the front desk, as it is now after midnight by our last call, nothing changed. Well, they did finally turn off the TV but continued to talk...and talk...loudly. We were exhausted for our race and the entire next day and the hotel was totally ineffective at getting these people to be quiet. And they never offered to reduce our rate or in any way make the situation better...and we are Marriott Rewards members. We cannot recommend this hotel this year.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzieSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsbadCYGM, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport, responded to this review, 28 January 2011
You are a valued guest of the Courtyard by Marriott - Carlsbad and I appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations and service. I am truly sorry to learn that your stay with us was less than perfect. Thank you for sharing your experience especially as it related to the noise, breakfast options, and shuttle availability.

I will share your comments with our staff to help improve our service levels in the affected areas for you and future guests. Thank you again for your comments. We hope that you will give us another chance to serve you.

Please let me know if I can personally assist you with any future accommodations or if you wish to discuss your experience further.

Best regards,

Roxanne Marlow – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    108
    47
    12
    6
See reviews for
130
31
14
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We've stayed at this hotel 2-3 times now when in town to visit my in-laws, and it is great. It's close to LegoLand, the freeway and the little Carlsbad airport. This last time was over Christmas, and availability and prices were surprisingly good. We think most people use this as either a business hotel or Legoland port, so Christmas was slow for the property. The staff was warm and friendly. A solid, reliable breakfast spread, clean room with kitchenette, on-time friendly room service. The Courtyard line is very much a value service that over-delivers in our opinion.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KWCRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

The front desk staff Mr. Archie went extra miles to find us two connecting rooms. He did not even charge us extra since one of the room has Jacuzzi. It turned out the motor of the Jacuzzi did not work, but it did not matter since having the connecting rooms was what we need so kids could roam between rooms. The Jacuzzi and swimming pool were very accessible to us anyway. My daughter still remembered Hyatt's pool as being the coldest pool in the world (her world anyway), and was hesitant to get in the pool. After she finally jumped in, she was so happy with the water temperature and we had a hard time getting her out.
I got the AAA deal for under $80 per room plus free breakfast. I was totally surprised when I saw the breakfast. This is definitely way better than the free continental breakfast that I have seen anywhere else. Besides the regular cereal, yogurt, toast, they also had fresh fruit, waffle, hot food (sausage, bacon, scrambled eggs) and made to order omelettes.
There were issues such as the next door neighbors partied until 2AM, but I am not sure what a hotel can do about it. We stayed close to an entrance, and the late arrivals sometimes slammde the door.
All in all, I feel I have got my money worth. If I am able to get the same deal again, I will no doubt stay in this place again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jiangchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Leandro, CA
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

We definitely would stay here again. We have stayed at the Sheraton Carlsbad (the one with the private entrance to Legoland) and we have stayed here. I would definitely stay here again for the money. The shuttle from the hotel took us to Legoland and picked us up- only a 5 minute wait going and the shuttle was waiting for us to take us back (after we called the hotel). The hotel was clean and a good value. The front desk clerk actually asked me my preference of rooms when I checked in..imagine that. Our 4 year old was asleep by the time we pulled up to check in so the front desk clerk was very accomodating (making sure we had a room close to parking access to get our son in the room comfortably without waking him). All the staff were very knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. It was a great stay! By the way my husband played golf at The Crossings- loved it. It is about a block away from the hotel. Only recommendation is that my google directions stated to turn left onto Owens it is actually a RIGHT. The hotel also has a little trail "Bud Lewis" that is behind the pool area and leads to a little park with benches- great for a picnic if good weather.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2010

The hotel was clean and safe and meets all the basic requirements for business travel. There's no wi-fi (or if there was, it didn't reach to my room) and I didn't partake of the $11.95 breakfast buffet, but there was a nice bowl of apples at the front desk and a small shop to buy food items. Check-in was fast, and the staff was pleasant. All in all, a fine experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sims722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton,NJ
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Just stayed one night due to a water problem at my daughters' place. Room was clean and it had water. I was so tired I would have slept in a chair in the lobby. Seemed like a nice place. Can't rate the amenities as I didn't use them.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABFine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

A decent place to stay - a bit nicer than what I expected - service was good. Breakfasts had plenty of choices - quiet, nice pool

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedregosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
#22 of 36 in Carlsbad
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport

Property: Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport
Address: 5835 Owens Ave, Carlsbad, CA 92008-6562 (Formerly Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad)
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#19 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Carlsbad hotel is located just 3 miles from the Pacific Ocean and Carlsbad beach, blocks from LEGOLAND® California and Carlsbad Premium Outlets, near the Carlsbad and Vista business parks 15 minutes from Camp Pendleton and close to the McClellan-Palomar Airport. When travel takes you to Carlsbad for a California hotel room, the Marriott offers all the comforts and quality you have come to expect from a Courtyard by Marriott hotel. This hotel near LEGOLAND® California offers guests easy access to the sprawling park and nearby outlet malls and more. Business travelers attending meetings and conferences in the Carlsbad area enjoy a large work desk with an ergonomic chair, high speed Internet access and relaxing atmosphere to unwind at the end of the day. Nearby area Carlsbad businesses include McClellan-Palomar Airport (CLD), United States Marine Camp Pendleton Marine Base, Cal State San Marcos, Callaway Golf, Invitrogen, Western Flight and many more Carlsbad and Vista Business Park companies. Both leisure and business travelers will appreciate the warm welcome by our friendly north San Diego hotel staff as you join us in Carlsbad, California at our Marriott hotel.Attractions Near Our Carlsbad CA Marriott hotel Include:• Carlsbad Beaches• Carlsbad Premium Outlets• Carlsbad Village• Del Mar Race Track• Del Mar Fairgrounds• Flower Fields at Carlsbad Ranch• LEGOLAND® California Theme Park• LEGOLAND® California Waterpark• Leo Carrillo Ranch Historic Park• Museum of Making Music• Safari Park Other points of interest to our north San Diego Carlsbad area hotel include all the attractions of San Diego such as Sea World California, the San Diego Zoo, Downtown San Diego, Old Town and much more. Other nearby points of interest include the Sealife Aquarium, Gemological Institute of America, San Clemente and much more. The courteous friendly staff of the Courtyard by Marriott® Carlsbad Hotel guarantees your stay with us will exceed your expectations! Amenities of the Courtyard by Marriott Carlsbad Hotel include: • Ample & Complimentary Parking• Business Center with Media Pods• New Redesigned Courtyard Lobby• GoBoard Technology Center®• Boarding Pass Station• Carlsbad Area Meeting Rooms (1,200 square feet)• High Speed Internet Access (Complimentary)• Indoor Fitness Center• Outdoor Heated Pool & Deck Area• Luxury Marriott Bedding and Pillows• The Bistro featuring Starbucks Coffee (open breakfast and dinner)• Whirlpool Suites Available• The Market 24-Hour Café ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Courtyard Carlsbad
Carlsbad Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing