We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Had a great week at the resort. The staff was extremely helpful, always someone available at the desk. A nice beach right across the street from the resort made it easy to relax & unwind. Within easy driving distance of San Diego. Ventured down to La Jolla to swim with the Sea Lions, spent a day at Huntington Beach. Drove all the way from Minnesota and will definitely be looking to return here again!

Green Features: Recycling bins around the resort including in the room
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeapointeGM, Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Hello Richard P,
Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you will be returning for another vacation with us. In addition, we are delighted to learn that our staff provided you with all the resources needed to make your vacation experience excellent. We hope to see you soon for another great time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    179
    59
    30
    18
See reviews for
479
301
27
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chino Hills, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

The stay at this resort was excellent. Its been a couple of years since we stay at this resort. Since coming back here, we had a almost perfect little getaway with ocean view rooms and font row parking at the beach across the street. The staff was wonderful even we had a late check in and they made us feel comfortable like being home.

Room Tip: Great Ocean View rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MASTERPEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeapointeGM, Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Hello MASTERPEE,
Thank you for your review. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It is great to hear that our staff was very welcoming and made your feel right at home. We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay in the near future. Till next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2014

The resort has lots of activities. My kids loved playing ping pong and tennis. We enjoyed making smores at the firepits in the evenings. The location is perfect. It is right across the street from a wonderful beach. Everyone working there was so cheerful and friendly! They made us feel like VIPs! I just can't say enough about how wonderful it is!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeapointeGM, Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Hello S E,
Thank you for your review. We’re beyond happy to hear that you and your family had such a great time here and that your enjoyed several of the activities provided. Come back soon for another family getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Beautiful Ocean and clean beaches across the street. Ocean view from room balcony and being able to hear the waves break. Carlsbad Village a few miles away with great restaurants, shopping, and friendly people. Luv SEAPOINTE

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnynlaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeapointeGM, Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Hi Johnnynlaura,
Thank you for your review. It is always great to hear that our guests are enjoying their time at the beach and exploring the nearby areas. Come back soon for another great time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

We are having our last night here (my husband, daughter (age 2 3/4), and myself and our trip was 5 days, 4 nights. We are DVC members and exchanged our points through RCI. Initially we had thought we'd make this a yearly trip, as it "cost" very few DVC points. Unfortunately actually staying here has changed our thought on that.

I would say that this resort is attempting to upgrade and make things better than they were in the past (read the negative old reviews) but overall its just NOT a well-oiled machine, if that makes sense. There's very little staff walking around on the grounds, and it just seems there is a kind of disconnect. We called three times before our stay and had specific requests for our room to be on a 3rd floor because our daughter still naps and goes to bed on the early side (thus preventing the sounds of stampedes above us). The staff informed us on our check-in day (that morning) that we would have a 3rd floor room and we were thrilled. However, upon check-in (which took 30 minutes plus) we came to find out that we would have a 2nd floor room. The resort doesn't appear to be all that full, and its strange our request couldn't be granted, even though we'd had it confirmed that very morning.

When we got in our room we were greeted by the housekeeping, who were still finishing our room. Housekeeping was awesome and helped us when we asked for additional items. We NEVER have housekeeping come back during our stay, and always take out our own trash, clean up the condo, and use the towels provided. We only contacted them when we needed more toilet paper, etc.

We were very hesitant to open the back door and enjoy the fresh ocean air and breeze because of all the mosquitoes. They hover around outside the porch area and balcony. We were very careful, so they didn't come in (except our first day when they had been let in by housekeeping). We also had our Honest Company bug spray with us, so we protected ourselves each night and day. Additionally, we had to make sure we cleaned up every crumb, took out the trash a few times a day, and wiped up the counters several times a day to avoid the ants. We never found a trail of ants, but we did have scragglers walking around the kitchen each day.

The 1 bedroom condo is sooooo tiny. There is very little storage and the master bedroom is so small you can only walk around it. We put our daughter on the hide-a-bed in the couch. Our king sized bed is so squeaky that every time we move it squeaks extremely loud and wakes up the other person. I promise I'm not being dramatic here. Its really THAT bad. Its also a suuuuuper soft mattress, which many enjoy, but my husband and I do not. It made our backs ache so badly, my husband went to Target and bought me a twin sized aerobed to put on the floor (we had to push the king bed over as far as it could go). So I couldn't even sleep in the same bed as my husband, and we had to spend $100 on an air mattress. My husband the hero has been toughing it out on the horrible squeaky bed.

Yes there are trains. We are in a part of the resort that the trains are not too much of a bother. Our daughter sleeps with a sound machine, so that helped drown out the sound. What I would find so much worse than the trains are the paper thin walls and ceilings. It sounds like the people on the 3rd floor are jumping and stomping, you can hear when someone is going to the bathroom in another unit, and you can hear their voices too.

This resort has been recently given a makeover, so rooms are decorated decently. The air conditioner works well, as do the appliances. Water is either very hot or very cold, which was fine for us.

Ya there is a walk to the beach. It takes a while (especially with a toddler in tow). Its a nice beach when you're on it and we did enjoy some time there. The pool is decent and the kids splash pad is fun.

I think that this resort has potential, but its just not there yet. You can tell they are trying, but it is nowhere near what we expected from an RCI that Disney stands behind enough to add to their list of exchange points.

It's pretty safe to say we will not be coming back to this resort. There are so many other places to stay that are closer to the beach, shops, and restaurants.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank DVCfamily16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeapointeGM, Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Hi DVCfamily16,

Thank you for providing us with all your feedback. We were truly sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your stay. Please know that all your feedback is important to us and we will be sharing it with our team. I'm so glad that we had the opportunity to personally speak to address the issues you encountered during your stay. I hope we were able to satisfy all of your concerns and that we will get the chance to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This was our second visit to the resort and we were not disappointed. The staff remains very accommodating and the location is wonderful, having easy access to Highway 5. It was the perfect relaxing getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a direct view to the west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeapointeGM, Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Hi Lou R,
Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that are a returning guest and that you continue to be content with your accommodations. We look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing getaway. Till next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The Seapointe was even better than we expected. If we neeeded anything, the staff helped us immediately. The room was awesome and it was great that there were so many activities for the kids. Loved it. We will go back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mindync2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeapointeGM, Manager at Carlsbad Seapointe Resort, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi mindync2,
Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that our staff provided you with great service. We also can't wait to have you back with us. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.1 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
3.7 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
659 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlsbad Seapointe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlsbad Seapointe Resort

Property: Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Address: 6400 Surfside Ln, Carlsbad, CA 92011-3207
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#19 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlsbad Seapointe Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort offers an unbelievable location for visitors visiting San Diego. These vacation condos sit along some of the most beautiful beaches in Southern California, and are within easy driving distance of LEGOLAND California, SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo and the Wild Animal Park. After a day of sightseeing or enjoying the sand and surf, relax in your own one or two bedroom designer-decorated condo. With an average of 800 square feet of space, beautiful balcony views, and a romantic fireplace, you can rest and unwind while listening to the sound of the ocean nearby. Guests can enjoy on-site amenities including swimming pools, a spa, fitness room, activity center, basketball, volleyball and tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Carlsbad Seapointe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlsbad Seapointe Hotel Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing