We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 15 March 2010

We stayed in a very spacious two bedroom unit for a week, using timeshare exhange points. My husband and I and two teenage girls had a great time exploring the area. Carlsbad is central to doing a lot of day trips, including to Tijuana, and Palm Springs. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, and there are quite a few organized events. We particularly enjoyed the pizza bingo night. The resort staff are very efficient in keeping the units and grounds tidy. Whenever we phoned to request an item we needed (more towels, coathangers, etc.) they were delivered promptly. The only downside is that we are used to staying in condo units with in-suite washer and dryer. This resort has a couple of coin operated laundry rooms, so not as convenient. The bed was so comfortable I wished I could take it home. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    174
    57
    30
    17
See reviews for
455
295
27
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murrieta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2010

The grounds are well-maintained with seasonal flowers. In terms of proximity to the water, the resort is about 100 yards from the sand. You’ll need to cross PCH at a signal in order to get there. It’s about a 5 minute walk. Most units have ocean views, but you’ll get the best from the 3rd floor. Having stayed at resorts with closer proximity to the shoreline, I thought it would be a real disappointment to be this far from the water. As it turned out, we were not disappointed at all.
The grounds have a kids play area—a pirate ship playground. There’s a water-works area right next to the family pool, and they have a “golphin dolphin” area for miniature golf.
There’s an adult pool with a fantastic view of the ocean and plenty of deck space and chairs for lounging around. Three fire rings, one in the family pool area, one in the adult pool area, and one in front of the resort make for nice areas to sit and socialize or roast marshmallows. Other than Saturdays when the resort hosts a live band and barbecues by the adult pool, it’s generally very peaceful in this area
As it turned out, we were very pleased with the accommodations. The resort staff was friendly, especially the activities staff. They were always smiling, helpful and courteous. We’d bring our wagon back from the beach, and they’d tell us just to leave it; they unloaded all their stuff and put it away.
The activities center offered a variety of balls, boogie boards, chairs, tennis racquets, pool toys, sand toys, towels and more. They even had wagons to tote it to the beach in—a real plus.
The bed in the master bedroom was king size, and comfortable.
They had vertical blinds when I was there. They were insufficient for blocking out light or securing privacy. When you walk by the window, they move with the breeze. My wife wasn’t comfortable with the light that came through at night and even less comfortable with the possibility of people being able to see in through the tiny vertical slats.
There were daily activities like smores by the fire, root beer floats, pancake breakfast, crafts and more. If you wanted to stay at the resort for your entire trip, there’s more than enough to keep you busy. There’s a tennis court, basketball court and volleyball court on the premises. Ping pong, pool, the fitness equipment—well apportioned, and more. We had a great time as a family just playing tennis.
The kitchen has everything you’ll need. After struggling and nearly having a crash splash as we played tug of war with the old-fashioned corkscrew, we went out and bought a decent one. Other than that, the kitchenware was pretty high quality.
The beach in front of the resort is a sufer’s magnet. The in-shore waves were great for the kids, and there were some decent breakers beyond for guys like me who like to body-board. The beach is quaint with very little shore space at high tide.

They offer a courtesy computer for people to check email.
The complimentary coffee and tea and fruit by checkout desk are testimony to the customer service. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality and amenities at this resort.
The train runs behind the resort, but it does not blow it's horn. Other than some minor rumbling in the background, it's not a disturbance. You have to realize that the train runs along the coastline. There are few resorts at the water's edge. Most of them have train noise.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingisfun4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2010

First of all excellent view of the ocean and not too far fro seven rounds of golf. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Workout facilities and pools wee great. Rooms were spacious and clean. Could have more cutlery in the apartment.
Really enjoyed our stay. Would like to come again.
ash and kim

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golf2010sd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2010

The rooms were really nice. The staff was really responsive and helpful. It was a great location since we were wanting to go to both San Diego attractions and Disneyland.
We had a lot of fun and slept really well there.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvellingfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

We stayed here for one week. My husband is wheel chair bound at the present time. The employees were gracious and were very attentive and helpful during our entire stay. Upon arriving we were told that our room was not going to be ready (due to previous occupants) and we were immediately upgraded to a 2 bedroom villa. This was perfect for our children , who live in San Diego to be able to come and stay with us. The daily perks - wine and cheese, root bear floats were an unexpected treat. Free movie rental for our one rainy day was an added bonus. Our handicapped accessible villa was more than adequate to accommodate a wheelchair. Our room was very spacious with a great view of the Pacific Ocean.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2010

We were met by Robert who was from San Clemente. He was so nice, we saw him many times over the week. we have a new grandbaby which was the reason we picked Seapointe. It was close to home for our daughter, husband and baby to enjoy.

We are a family of surfer's. We have actually camped in a motorhome many times at San Elijo and Carlsbad State Park. My husband retired from San Clemente State Parks and Rec. as a permenent lifeguard and police officer after 34 years. we know the entire coastline well.

Sea Pointe was clean, they offered something fun every night, the staff was friendly and helpful. My husband and I were there the first two nights. While I took off running in the mornings he worked out in the gym and did the sauna. we did not use beach chairs, boogie boards, etc. but that would have been ideal when our kids were younger. I loved the jacuzzi and pool also. I can't think of anything that wasn't great. Thank You!!!

Greg's brother Kent is going there in a couple of months so we told him all about it also.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxanneSanClemente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Just returned from a week at the Carlsbad Seapointe - and what a great place. Service was exceptional. On check-in they didn't have a third floor oceanview which we had requested, but moved us in to one the following day. Welcoming breakfast was excellent (scrambled eggs, sausages, waffles, etc.) with no timeshare sales pitch. Ralph's (just a mile or so away at the Poinsettia Village Shopping Center) was great for a few groceries - ensure that you ask for a Ralph's card first time at check out and you get all the advertised savings.

We took the Coaster (only a couple of blocks walk to Poinsettia Station) to Old Town which was awesome (adult return fare is $12 and $6 for 60 and over). The Old Town Trolley Tour (starting at Old Town with 10 on/off stops along the way was an excellent way to see SD). On another day, we drove down the Pacific Coast Highway through Torrey Pines, La Jolla, Sunset Cliffs, and to Point Loma and the Cabrillo National Monument. View of SD from Point Loma was just spectacular.

A day trip to the Anza-Borrego Desert Park (through Ramona and Julian) was memorable. We stopped at Julian for lunch (Hero's was excellent) and apple pie (the caramel apple pecan a la mode at the Apple Alley is to die for) before proceeding down into the desert and a hike (3-mile return) to Palm Canyon at Borrego Springs. The drive each way from Carlsbad was about 2.5 hours - due to switch backs in the mountain areas but the highway was in excellent condition.

The resort is extremely well located for travel around the area (in addition to what we enjoyed, Legoland and the Wild Animal Park are short distances away). I-5 can be a bit of a challenge during rush hours so stay off during those times or take the Coaster. And Seaponte is an exceptionally well maintained resort with extremely helpful staff. Only minor negative is that if you prefer to travel around (as we did) rather than remaining at the Resort, you will miss most of the activities and planned social events (e.g., Wine and Cheese, Sunset Margaritas). The Resort does charge $12 @ day for these and other services. In sum, Carlsbad Seapointe is well-deserving of it's Gold Crown!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrys-thoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.7 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
3.7 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
0.7 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlsbad Seapointe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlsbad Seapointe Resort

Property: Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Address: 6400 Surfside Ln, Carlsbad, CA 92011-3207
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#19 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlsbad Seapointe Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort offers an unbelievable location for visitors visiting San Diego. These vacation condos sit along some of the most beautiful beaches in Southern California, and are within easy driving distance of LEGOLAND California, SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo and the Wild Animal Park. After a day of sightseeing or enjoying the sand and surf, relax in your own one or two bedroom designer-decorated condo. With an average of 800 square feet of space, beautiful balcony views, and a romantic fireplace, you can rest and unwind while listening to the sound of the ocean nearby. Guests can enjoy on-site amenities including swimming pools, a spa, fitness room, activity center, basketball, volleyball and tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Carlsbad Seapointe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlsbad Seapointe Hotel Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing