We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful - we loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Excellent place to stay - very clean and accomodating. Pool and hot tub both very nice though both close at 10 which is a little early when you are on vacation. Fabulous breakfast served everyday. Rooms were clean and beds are very comfy. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler2011GV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

592 - 598 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2011

We stayed at the Hyatt Summerfield Suites for a 2 nights stay to visit Legoland. Overall our stay is very average and it's nothing like the Hyatt properties we have stayed at before. Goods points are:
- they let us check in early
- Free shuttle bus to take you to Legoland, grocery stores, shopping outlet etc. The wait is never long. Drivers are very friendly
- Comfortable beds
- kitchen facility in the room so you can cook your own meals


Disappointing areas include:
- right next to highway and railway. Can hear the train blowing the horn while passing through rail crossing. It goes till probably 10pm at night and starts at 7am again
- breakfast choices are acceptable but the kitchen was totally not coping with the crowd. We were there for a Sat and Sun stays so I guess it's the busy time of the week but there are consistently shortage of food. I had to stand there for 15 for 2 piece of plain bread.
- reception staff does not look as if they want to be there. No smile, no welcome. Simply just do their job. When we check out, we requested to have our luggages stored so that we can visit Legoland and come back and pick them up (given we have medicine and other items in the suitcases). Didn't get a very nice response - " So how many luggages have you got?!!".... they did not looks as if they want to store our luggages at all so we decide to put the suitcases in the car and park under a slightly shaded area
- walls are paper thin. I can hear kids running around at 7am and can also hear the conversations between a little girl and her mum next door. You can also hear the noises of shower and toilet flushing from next door in the morning.
- rooms around swimming pool can be noisy
- cleanliness in the room - when I pulled out the hairdryer, I see a bunch of blonde hair falling out

I believe this property was recently taken over by the Hyatt group and I do not feel that the staff are very happy there. I believe the hotel is overall acceptable but the lack of helpful and friendly staff really spoil it. If Hyatt wants to maintain their high standards, they really need to look at their services at this property. Will not be back to this property again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pasta0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Suites are located 10miles north of downtown SanDiego so a car is needed to explore the rest of San Diego. Parking is free.

The suites are big with a se3prate sleeping area. The bed was awesome - bigger than King Size. The bathroom was also large. The lounge area had a desk and sofa with a nice kitchenette/eating area. Overall, there was nothing to fault with the room. Even the free wifi was excellent.

There was a pool which is a nice bonus.

The buffet breakfast was only average and often the hot food had gone cold but if you're after cereals, yoghurts, toast etc, then its OK.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThisGuyLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We hadn't stayed at a Summerfield Suites before. Since we thought it catered to families with children, we were a little worried that it would be noisy. It wasn't. This hotel was a wonderful surprise! We requested a quiet room on a high floor and that's exactly what we got. The room was at the end of the hall, well away from the elevators. Clean, bright, just right.

Then besides having a buffet breakfast, they also had evening snacks with drinks! Nice.

But the best feature this hotel offers, is their staff. Each and everyone made our stay seem special to them. The women at the front desk (sorry I can't remember her name) not only let us check in early, she gave us great info on local dinning spots and places to visit on our stay. One of which was the field of flowers. It was a nice place to see and walk through the flowers. She also gave us a buy one get one free ticket pass. She saved us a couple of bucks which she didn't need to.

We enjoyed our stay so much that we plan on visiting again, just to stay there!

Room Tip: With got a great rate with AAA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZcartrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Easy check in.
Room was clean,excellent bed and convertble bed.
Evening Reception was a full meal-wine,soft drinks for the kids,salad, chicken wings and legs, two kinds of Pizza,various types of cookies, coffee and tea-UNBELIEVABLE.(I think this spread is only on weekdays-check with the Hotel)
Nice heated pool to enjoy.
Breakfast spread was good.
Easy check out.
Excellent value.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 面向火車軌的房面很吵
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TWINN66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Carlsbad
Staybridge Suites Carlsbad
#25 of 37 in Carlsbad
122 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
0.9 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 37 in Carlsbad
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad

Address: 5010 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008-4371 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites San Diego/Carlsbad )
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#18 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: £108 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the coast of beautiful Carlsbad, California and conveniently situated only 2 1/2 blocks from the beach, Hyatt House San Diego/Carlsbad is surrounded by the area's many great attractions and restaurants. Enjoy a five-minute shuttle ride to Legoland or GIA or travel a short 35 miles to the San Diego Convention Center, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, San Diego Wild Animal Park, Old Town or the San Diego airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites San Diego/Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Hotel Of America Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing