We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for business.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stayed for business.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Bed was comfortable, bathroom was nice, and all was very clean. I stayed in a suite and the price was right! LOVED the sink! Great continental breakfast. Stayed here for 4 days and felt at home even though I live in Pa.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llec19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    141
    49
    38
    28
See reviews for
333
59
20
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, CA
Level Contributor
144 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel is right off the freeway in Carlsbad. It is a short 10 minute drive to Legoland or the outlet mall. The hotel offers a shuttle to Legoland as well. The rooms are nice-sized and the kitchen functional. We liked that it had a full size refrigerator. The rooms aren't fancy, and it seems a step below Hyatt Place hotels, but the beds were comfortable and it was clean. The pool area is nice. As for the free breakfast, not so good. I've come to realize that none of the chain hotels that offer free breakfast offer anything hot you'd want to eat. I'm not sure why they even bother. The kids stuck to cold cereal, and the adults to bagels, yogurt and fruit. What's even worse, the breakfast room can get very crowded, with folks lining up for bad food and not able to find a table. If you want a hot breakfast, go elsewhere....

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCalTMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The Hyatt House in Carlsbad, San Diego County, CA, is a good value. They have decent amenities and rooms at a reasonable price point. The breakfast is included with a range of selections that will please even picky eaters. Lisa, a member of the kitchen staff, provides outstanding service. She is gracious and extremely helpful. Plus, she has a sweet smile. She went out of her way to accommodate me, my husband, and my mother-in-law. Hopefully, you'll have as nice of a time staying there as we did. We plan on returning again and look forward to seeing Lisa then.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear valued Guest:
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are trully lucky to have Lisa as part of our Team. We hope you enjoyed your vacation, and look forward to hopefully seeing you and your family again soon.

Have a great day.
John Saunders
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuba City, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I was going to a conference and the hotel was booked. I asked if there was one nearby and they hooked me up with Hyatt House. I had never stayed at a Hyatt House. I was pleasantly surprised. As a meter of fact, i really enjoyed it. The staff was wonderful and helped us. They have a shuttle if you want to go to dinner, or anywhere in the vicinity. The rooms are large and all have a full size refrigerator, two burner stove, dishwasher, plates, silverware, toaster and coffee maker. The bed was comfortable and I slept like a baby. The pool area was clean and pleasant. Everyday they provided a hot breakfast and in the evening, appetizers and free wine or beer. We were close to the outlet stores, good food, and the beach. Happy hotel customer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seggie1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to leave a note regarding your recent stay. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the fully equipped kitchens and all the amenities our hotel and local attractions provide.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for your time and input and we hope next time you’re in the Carlsbad area you choose Hyatt House Carlsbad for your hotel accommodations.
Sincerely,

John Saunders
General Manager
760-929-8200 x404
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at the Hyatt House in Carlsbad during our trip to Legoland. It was fantastic for our family of 5. Loved their free shuttle to Legoland and it saved us $15/day on parking. The breakfast was also very good although CROWDED most mornings. There are a lot of families that take advantage of this places proximity to legoland and the value that it offers them so if you don't want kids around this is not the place for you! We didn't really get to take advantage of their happy hour on the weekday afternoon but that would have also been an awesome moneysaving thing for families. Our room was very clean and much larger than the one we stayed in at disneyland which cost about $100 more per night. It had 2 queens and a pull out full sofa sleeper. It also had a full kitchen with a little bar to eat at. We spent very little time in the room but it was very nice. The pool was small but my kids really enjoyed it too. It isn't a luxury resort but offers very good value to families visiting the san diego area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephysue76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to leave a note regarding your recent stay.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for your time and input and we hope next time you’re in the Carlsbad area you choose Hyatt House Carlsbad for your hotel accommodations.
Sincerely,

John Saunders
General Manager
760-929-8200 x404
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were disappointed with our experience here, especially since most Hyatts have been exceptional. Nestled between I-5 and a busy set of train tracks, this property could use some TLC:

* The air conditioner in our King Suite would turn off in the middle of the night, causing us to get up and turn it back on.
* The exercise room was minimal - the equipment was not fully functional and there were no cleaning wipes.
* The main men's restroom was posted as out of order - It will be fixed tomorrow (which tomorrow, we don't know).

Thought front desk staff was helpful and friendly, the posted hours for both breakfasts and happy hours were cut short by 15 minutes. The food served was institutional, at best.

The postage stamp sized pool was filled with tired,cranky Legoland visitors - as were the hotel halls. Not the quietest place we've stayed.

We won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Elevators were crowded during high season
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PastyPerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear valued guest:

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to leave us a note. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 760.929.8200 x404

Sincerely,

John Saunders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is wonderful. We stayed here in March for a family vacation. The hotel his above and beyond to satisfy their guests...... not customers, guests. That's how we felt. We were more than just another dollar going in their pockets. The entire staff was friendly and helpful. The shuttle driver, Tom; I can't say enough about that gentleman. He is such a nice gentleman; just an honest to God, down to earth nice person. You don't meet many people like him these days. He was just so awesome to my family and my friend's family that traveled with us.
The prices are fair. The rooms are spacious. They have full kitchens. They have complimentary hot breakfast every morning with week night happy hour drinks and appetizers. I could go on and on. Here's the bottom line; when return to the San Diego / Carlsbad area, the Hyatt House is where we will always stay.
Keep up the good work, folks. We look forward to our next stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank R. Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john208, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to send us a note regarding your recent stay with us. I'm so glad to hear that Tom took such great care of you during your stay. We are very thankful to have him be a part of our Team.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.
Again, thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. If I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 760.929.8200 x404.

Sincerely,

John Saunders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
0.9 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
653 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
1.5 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#6 of 36 in Carlsbad
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad

Property: HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
Address: 5010 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008-4371 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites San Diego/Carlsbad )
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#18 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the coast of beautiful Carlsbad, California and conveniently situated only 2 1/2 blocks from the beach, Hyatt House San Diego/Carlsbad is surrounded by the area's many great attractions and restaurants. Enjoy a five-minute shuttle ride to Legoland or GIA or travel a short 35 miles to the San Diego Convention Center, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, San Diego Wild Animal Park, Old Town or the San Diego airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites San Diego/Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Hotel Of America Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing