We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It manages to get everything just right”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara, Carlsbad Ca.
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“It manages to get everything just right”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This is a great place for a family vacation. We were headed to Legoland, driving out from Phoenix for our first road trip with two young boys. We had not anticipated that everyone was going to be doing the same thing and that many of the hotels would be full. Luckily this wasn't.

We've stayed in Four Seasons hotels before, and always been pleased with them, but this is a bit of a different animal. It's a resort, but on a smallish scale. We've also stayed in time shares before (not our own) and while the convenience of having a bit more room and a small kitchen are nice, they are not always the nicest places to stay overall. That isn't the case here.

It takes a lot to get everything right, and this place does it. But it takes a bit more to have all those pieces work together. You see reviews that say people don't want to leave. When I travel and stay even in the best hotels, I am always happy enough to be heading back to my own bed. That wasn't the case here. Everything just fit together nicely.

Especially if you have younger kids, and if you are all looking for a bit of relaxation, this is the place. The main pool is not huge, and low key (a sign forbids Marco Polo), and there is a tiny splash pool nearby. The rooms are simply decorated and comfortable. The staff is excellent, and the grounds are very well maintained. We looked out onto a waterfall on the golf course.

Nothing here takes your breath away. Nothing (unlike some Four Seasons) jumps out and says "this place is *fancy*." It's just a very comfortable place to spend a while and unwind.

If you are headed to Legoland (and from my review, you'll see we enjoyed our first visit there), this is perfectly situated--about a 10 minute drive. It's a bit longer to get down to Balboa Park, etc., but if you are happy to hit some of the nicest beaches up in North County, it's great. It's advertised as being an easy shot up to OC, and I suppose that it's far enough north that you could do that for a day trip, but frankly, if we were going to do Disneyland as well as Legoland, I would have either done two hotels or stayed in south Orange County.

Finally, there are a lot of very nice hotels in this area, many of them less expensive. I don't know if we would have picked this one if (a) most of the others hadn't been either full or running at their highest summer rates and (b) this one hadn't had a discount (3rd day free) that made it competitive. In the end though, I'm glad we did, and we will definitely consider it for our next trip out.

Room Tip: We were adjacent to the lobby (though separated by a driveway). It meant that we were a very short w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScholarGentleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    40
    16
    3
    7
See reviews for
161
85
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, California, Usa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2013

If your main target is to relax have a romantic weekend and or enjoy some swimming with the family and get pampered, please visit the four seasons aviara.
rooms are very clean, lots of space and great relaxing view, service was great and very prompt and friendly.
Pool area very clean and there is always somebody to pampered you with a glass of cold water or to help you with any other needs you might have.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubenm39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wyoming
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara is ideal for a multi-generational family getaway. We were there in May with 3 generations and it was memorable and magical. Plenty of space for all of the family to gather together or have private/quiet time. Having a kitchen for quick meals and snacks is great, but you can also order a wonderful, family-style meal from the Resort or dine at the pool. The evening s'mores are not to be missed and the pool is perfect place to be pampered and to play with kids. San Diego has so many great activities for families of all ages - 1 week is not long enough to see everything so we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

My family and I stayed in the Four Seasons Residence Club during a conference I was attending and the accomodations were amazing. We had a one bedroom townhouse complete with full kitchen and outside deck area. The sofa also opened to a full bed in the living room. We notified the resort ahead of time that we had a five year old son and when we first entered the suite we found a chocolate brownie with his name written in icing on the plate! There were also sponges by the tub spelling out his name. There was also a perfect pool with kids area and fitness center just steps from our building. The staff were outstanding and so helpful and the rooms were extremely clean. The grounds were perfectly manicured and we were even able to borrow beach chairs, towels and toys from the front desk at the main building. The resort was a ten minute drive to either the beach, the outlet stores and Legoland. Hoping we get back soon!

Room Tip: Notify them in advance if you have kids with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TKJ155043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We just spent a few days down here with family and everything was perfect!! The rooms were huge and spacious and had the added kitchen which was great for quick home cooked breakfast and snacks! We spent a lot of time at the pool and the service was top notch! You barely had to lift a finger, everything was taken care of! They set up your chair perfect, move umbrellas and the food comes on bed trays so you don't even have to move to a table! Luxury at it's best!!

Room Tip: We were in building 45 and it was very close to the pool, which was nice for our little ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rmg421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upland, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We are a Marriot time share owner and have stayed at this resort twice, each time for a week at a time. We couldn't believe the beautiful and spacious quarters. We had 1,600 square feet to live in with a lot of ammenities. The built-in bookcases/desk in the living room with fireplace was a very homey feeling. The kitchen was nice with the side by side refrigerator with water spout in the door. Even the dishes were not the norm. They are beautiful. The three balconies were great and the grounds are very well kept. The service at the pool is great and I do have to say that they employees here have gone out of their way to service our needs. We just cannot say enough good things about this resort, except we always look forward to having an opportunity to stay there again! Give it a try, you'll be happy you did!

Room Tip: We've had two different locations of rooms, and both were good in their own ways. No complaints...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy74741732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We had the best time ever!! The resort is gorgeous! The staff is so friendly and professional.I love the pool area and the kitty pool, the gym is also very nice. My room was clean and spacious.with an amazing view of the golf course. We will be there again next summer!

Room Tip: Facing the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.1 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
5.9 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
2.8 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
5.8 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara, Carlsbad Ca.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara, Carlsbad Ca.

Property: Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara, Carlsbad Ca.
Address: 7210 Blue Heron Pl, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara, Carlsbad Ca. 5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 Bedroom, 3 Bath, fully furnished Villa, sleeps 8 with Two King beds & Two Queen sofa beds. Cribs available. Living Room, Two Bedroom suites, Dining Room, Kitchen, Washer & Dryer in each Villa. Swimming pools, restaurant, tennis, golf on site with free transportation to off site courts etc. Concierge service. This is not the Park Hyatt Hotel. Our Beautiful Villas are managed by the Famous & Impeccable Four Seasons Resort. Cleaning and daily 'tidy' service included in weekly fee. Babysitting & children's all day programs available. 10-15 drive to Lego Land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara, Carlsbad Ca. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing