We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Perfect family vacation”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed for four nights at the tail end of an 8-day California excursion with a family of four. We have two sons, 6 and 8. No prizes for guessing what the big attraction in Carlsbad is for our family... We decided we wanted something a bit luxurious and were in for a big treat at Four Seasons Aviara.

The staff knew our name when we I pulled the car up front and told that our room was not quite ready when we checked in. They seated us at the poolside restaurant and offered us free drinks while we wait and munch on lunch. When we got to the room we were amazed - the suite was wonderful! We had a one-bedroom suite, which had a full kitchen and a separate dining/living area, and two full bathrooms and two balconies. The suite was very spacious, and the master bathroom was bigger than the one at home. The suite was decorated with excellent taste (kind of Pottery Barn Light) and everything felt brand new. Parking was easily accessed as the rooms are laid out in small separate buildings with 10 or so rooms in each building. Our balconies overlooked the pool - but there were just enough trees in between so the balconies felt private. Oh, and there were plush pelicans waiting for the boys on the bed, and their names were spelled out in sponge letters in the bathroom!

The pool area is really nice and we spent a lot of time by it. There were not a lot of people in August, weeknights or weekend, and poolside service was very fast. Our room was by the reception area pool - there is also a second pool area where most of the rooms area. We did not visit it, or the kids room that is in that area.

Service was excellent throughout. We ordered room service pizzas once and they were so-so. Other nights we brought in food from nearby restaurants which is easy enough. We ate breakfast in the room - I even made scrambled eggs one morning in in-room kitchen. It was just like being at home.

This place is just wonderful with kids. The place was very quiet - both in terms of there being few people around, and there not being any noise. Sleep quality was excellent. We definitely plan on coming back soon. Just one caveat on pricing - we booked online at Expedia, and I later realized that Four Seasons also sells full weeks on VRBO for a much lower nightly rate - go there to get the best price if you are staying the entire week.

Room Tip: If you are staying for a full week, book through VRBO for the best price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 73_ptr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceClubAviara, General Manager at Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Four Seasons Guest,

It was our pleasure to have you and your family celebrate the end of your California holiday with us at Aviara. We are so pleased to have lived up to "the icing on the cake!"

We are delighted to hear such accolades about the staff recognizing you by name and your seamless arrival. Thank you for mentioning how pleased you were with the villa accomodations, service, and the kids amenities. We know if the kids are happy, the parents will be too! I am so sorry that the family did not have the opportunity to visit Club 760. We have so many activities to keep the kids occupied throughout their stay.

We look forward to welcomingyou back next year ... if not sooner. Until then have a great Labor Day weekend.

Sincerely,
Demi Ortega
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    38
    14
    1
    4
See reviews for
146
79
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SAN FRANCISCO
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

This was our first time staying at a Four Seasons property and we cannot wait to return. The service was superb and the staff most personable. Upon arriving at the resort, you can sense the relaxed atmosphere which made us feel at-home. We were pleasantly surprised throughout our stay by small but thoughtful gestures by the staff. First was when we arrived to our room to be greeted by colorful sponges on the bathroom vanity that spelled out my youngest's name. It made his day!! Then, that evening, when we returned from the pool, the staff brought popcorn and treats for the kids to welcome them. I really cannot say enough about the staff and the resort. The villa was beautifully maintained and beds were comfortable.

Another less known amenity is that you can check out beach gear (ie. beach umbrella, chairs & towels) for the day. We visited the La Jolla shores and the beach gear made all the difference. The staff even brought us some water for the road.

My family and I truly enjoyed out stay and hope to return soon!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I have stayed at this property on and off for the last 6 years. It has really changed and quite frankly gone down hill! The guests of the residences are now not allowed any hotel privileges at the Park Hyatt, including using the grounds near the residence club. This has created a very unpleasant and inhospitable feel. Not sure why there is such "bad blood" between the two properties, but I can tell you that it's awkward now. During my last visit a couple of months back the staff were not as helpful as they usually are. There are still some good things about this property. Each room has a fully equipped kitchen so if you are staying for a week at a time its nice not to have all your meals out. The location is nice and most rooms are relatively quiet. Hope this review helps!

Room Tip: Try and get a room near one the pools it makes it easy especially if traveling with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceClubAviara, Residences Manager at Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Aviara Guest,

First and foremost we want to thank you for your loyalty to our property for nearly six years. We are so sorry to learn that your recent stay was not up to previous experiences at our property.

I would also like to apologize if you felt the level of service you received was not up to the typical Four Seasons standards. Our main focus at Aviara is to always provide excellent service while being sensitive to our guests perception and comfort. Please be assured that we value your faithful commitment to Four Seasons and we will do the utmost to ensure a much improved stay in the future.

We have some very exciting news and will be enhancing our property by building a three meal restaurant and boutique spa starting in January 2015 with a completion date in late April.

It would mean a great deal to me to introduce myself and speak to you personally. Here is my direct contact information: shannon.dambman@fourseasons.com or call me directly at (760) 603-3765.

Please enjoy the remainder of the summer months.

Sincerely,
Shannon Dambman
Residences Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The rooms are not attached to a hotel. They are condos. You have to check into to a different location and they give you your items to take to the unit. The unit had spider webs on the doorknob. Once inside, there were bugs--some dead….some alive. The room was dirty (baseboards, doors, walls) were dirty, and the lamps and end table had a nice sheet of dust. The bathroom especially had rust around the drain and the fixtures were so dated, I was in shock. I just could not believe that the franchise could dub this a 'Four Seasons'…..we actually checked in at about 8:00pm, and left at 7:30am. We could not stomach even trying to sleep in. We did go to the Sheraton Carlsbad by Legoland. That was an amazing property--and was 10 times nicer than this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceClubAviara, General Manager at Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are extremely sorry to have learned about the circumstances surrounding your recent stay at our property. Please accept our sincere apologies for the shortcomings that ensured. When we hear from a guest that we were unable to exceed their expectations, it is our desire to find out as much as possible from them.

I want to assure you that the conditions you described are not typical of our property quality or standards. Therefore it would mean a great deal to me to be able to address the challenges you experienced . Please e-mail me at demi.ortega@fourseasons.com or call at (760) 603-3745 to allow me the pleasure of doing what it takes to earn your future loyalty. We are committed to creating lasting relationships with our guests. I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,
Demi Ortega
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, CA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We come back each summer and love this resort. Carlsbad is a gem and the quick drive from LA makes the trip so easy. Grounds and rooms are breathtaking. We noticed a lot of upgrades throughout the resort and guest rooms. Food delicious and service the best. Four Season's employees go above and beyond to make your stay memorable. Visit; Ponto Beach, Del Mar Racetrack, Coronado Island, Carlsbad outlets. Truly the best vacation experience you could ask for.

Room Tip: Decor in al rooms are identical. We have always asked for a view room, but rarely get one. Althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceClubAviara, General Manager at Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Four Seasons Guest,

We are so pleased that you joined us again this summer for another memorable family holiday.
Our staff make sure there is always something fun happening for the entire family to enjoy!
We are committed to creating lasting relationships and we can't thank you enough for sharing your review on TripAdvisor!

Thank you for mentioning the beauty of the grounds and how much you enjoyed your accomodations and the service! You are right there have been many upgrades and we will be embellishing our resort with a restaurant and boutique spa starting January 2015.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year...if not before.

Sincerely,
Demi Ortega
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Four Seasons over a weekend. The rooms are very spacious and well maintained. The resort is very nice. There are two duplicate pool areas that are nice sized and in good shape. We thought the views around the hotel were great. It is a little ways away from downtown Carlsbad, but we did not mind the drive. We would stay there again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceClubAviara, General Manager at Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay and thank you for the thoughtful review. Our guest feedback is essential to our success.

Thank you for chosing to spend your vacation at Aviara. We look forward to re-creating your experience soon.

Best regards,
Demi Ortega
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hotel is beyond in every catergory. The rooms are big, much bigger than almost everything around the area. The housekeeping is wonderful, we saw them taking everything out of the rooms with a guest checked out. This included the pillows and the douvet every time so that they would be laundered for each guest. The staff go above and beyond at every turn, from the front desk to the pool to the landscapers, and they are a pleasure to chat with. This hotel is big and spans from the top of the hill to the bottom so they have two pools (each are big with a spa and kids splash pool) as well as gol carts to shuttle you up and down the hill so you can decide where to play each day. We stayed over the 4th of July and they went over the top with activities for adults and kids and a wonderful fireworks display at the end of the day for the whole family to enjoy.

We have returned to this hotel every year as a summer get away and will continue to do so for many years to come!

Room Tip: Suites have a full kitchen so you can choose if you want to eat out of whip up a quick meal in your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aldanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.1 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
1.9 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
5.9 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
2.5 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
944 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara

Property: Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara
Address: 7210 Blue Heron Pl, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara 5*
Number of rooms: 246
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing