We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Carlsbad, Ca Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Carlsbad - Village
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
168 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Carlsbad, Ca Beach”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Motel 6 did a nice job of renovating this motel. Plenty of ice for guests. Would have been nice to have a microwave, but other than that the 2 night stay was great. Front desk was helpful and the room (including bathroom) was very clean. You can walk to downtown and to the beach, but it isn't a short walk. I thought a little expensive for a motel 6, but probably cheaper than other places at this location.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from rooms close to the washer and dryer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Len L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    30
    22
    13
    7
See reviews for
22
28
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We needed an inexpensive place to stay for 2 nights for a family wedding in Carlsbad and, relatively speaking, this motel is very affordable. Be prepared, though - no shampoo/conditioner/lotion, no blow dryer, no iron/ironing board. Standing outside the room, we could still hear the couple in the next room as the walls are very thin. Excellent location to downtown area allowed a short walk to restaurants and evening activities.

Room Tip: With the thin walls, a corner room may reduce noise from neighboring rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Ok, this is a basic motel. However relative to most properties in this price range (under $100 and less than a mile to the beach and a cute village) it delivers fantastic value. It is clean, with comfortable beds and a few boutiquey touches such as bright bedspreads. The only thing that annoyed me was the lack of a bathroom countertop (just a sink so no room to spread out my stuff). It is fine as an inexpensive base for exploring the area. I'd stay there again if I wanted to save money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VictoriaToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Cheapest rates in Carlsbad village it has been recently remodeled. It was livable for a couple of nights. Clean but basic with a Dennys across the parking lot it satisfied a need. Weekends can be a bit lively as party goers frequent this motel to avoid driving home. All in all I enjoyed my stay for its central location. One word of warning though is it's 100% pet friendly so Fido is allowed on all the rooms. For dog people we don't mind but for you strange folk who don't like animals it's something to consider

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank sirkevin1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here a few weeks back after the Motel 6 on Palomar Airport messed up so badly. I had seen that this property had been remodeled, so I find for about a year or two, they are good to stay at.

I found the front desk folks to all be delightful and NICE. The room was actually cute and clean. I often stay at Motel 6 due to having dogs in tow. This was a wonderful stay for the money. If you belong to AARP...yep, us older farts...make sure you get the 10% discount, free WIFI and late check out!!!

Room Tip: I would suggest if you want quiet and not be with the rather eclectic group that always are there lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

They do have cheap rates, the rooms are remodeled, and clean for the most part. I also liked the location, and it had parking. They also have HBO, and a flat screen. It's also located next to food, and a variety of restraunts, café, food stores, and bars/ liquor stores. The beach is also in walking distance. There are a lot more things I didn't like though. The phones don't work in the rooms. A lot of the lights are burned out in the rooms. There is a lot of freeway noise. Some of the staff have attitude problems, and come off real rude. Also the door broke, battery in machine that scans card to allow entrance had an error. I was locked out of my room for 5 hours, with all my personal belongings in the room. They did give me a free night for that, and 20.00 for dinner, and I ended up getting in my room, so I actually scored. Also one of the nights an African American man started beating up these three girls, and broke one of the girls noses. Then took off on foot to evade police. The girl was bleeding all over and tried to grab me, almost getting blood on me. I had to argue but I got a free night for that as well. The police kept me up all night roaming the grounds. I'd sayu stay here if you need a cheap spot don't expect a lot though, and avoid if possible. They also don't offer breakfast, but it's not like you paid for it.

Room Tip: Don't expect a lot, it is what it is, a cheap hole in the wall motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carlsbad hotels

Slidell, Louisiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Why do we use Motel 6? Price, price, price. I won't go into what is typical - just what I liked and didn't care for. The front desk was very nice at check in and the web site was easy to access and they had space. I'm no longer certain I'm getting the best rate using the internet though. Someone has to pay for that convenience don't they? Initially the room was what I was prepared for. Being a tech person, the TV was a bit "out of date" if you know what I mean. Also, the wall unit where the TV was anchored was severely water damage. Would the TV have fallen while I was there?? What if my grand daughter was moving around? Pay for internet? I just won't do it. I have a hotspot that makes it much less expensive. Again, price, price, price. The tub drain plug didn't work. Had to remove it completely so the water would drain. I had to air out the room when I arrived. Way too much perfume! Hiding that someone had recently smoked in a non smoking room? Well, again, back to my original statement.

Room Tip: No frills! Quieter that the ESA next door to the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Carlsbad
Days Inn Carlsbad
#24 of 36 in Carlsbad
320 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
#35 of 36 in Carlsbad
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Ramada Carlsbad
Ramada Carlsbad
#36 of 36 in Carlsbad
990 reviews
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland
3.4 mi away
Motel 6 Carlsbad East
Motel 6 Carlsbad East
#33 of 36 in Carlsbad
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Carlsbad - Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Carlsbad - Village

Property: Motel 6 Carlsbad - Village
Address: 1006 Carlsbad Village Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Carlsbad - Village 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Carlsbad Beach is only 3 miles to Carlsbad State Beach. Dining and shops are within 2 miles. Oceanside Pier and Harbor are within 10 miles. Enjoy our modern rooms and outdoor pool. Wi-Fi is available in all rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Carlsbad - Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Carlsbad Downtown Hotel Carlsbad
Motel Six Carlsbad
Carlsbad Motel 6
Carlsbad Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing