We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location! Location! Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea
Ranked #32 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Location! Location! Location!”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

This is a great hotel and you cant beat the price! My wife and I are from Carlsbad but now live in Arizona. Typically we stay with family or friends when we’re in town but now that we have a little girl (1 ½ yrs old) we find it easier for us, and our family, to have our own space.
Growing up in Carlsbad I’ve always noticed this hotel tucked away in the cul-de-sac but never really gave any notice. Now that they have remodeled the exterior and interior they’ve turned this once drab space in to a shining gem.
As my title says its all about location and this hotel has it. Walking distance to everything Carlsbad has to offer. It’s a bit of a distance to the beach so if you’re trucking all your kids stuff, and in my case, kids stuff, and my surfboard. My suggestion is bring a folding wagon or cart. That might be a good thing the hotel could offer their guest. Have a couple wagons on hand to loan out to guest with families. Hopefully they read this and pick up a few of them at Costco.
As far as the rooms they were very nice. I noticed a couple things they could have improved which is the reason I’m giving them a 4 rather then a 5 rating. If you’re going to update an entire hotel with new furniture, carpet, paint and so on. Why not get rid of the dirty popcorn ceilings? Yes I know there is extra cost involved, but to have all brand new then look up to see an old, dirty popcorn ceiling threw me off. The other thing that stood out to me was the bed. They had new, modern looking bedding but no bed skirt. The box spring was a bit beat and it really stood out. This is an easy fix which would make the room so much nicer. The rest of the room was great. The kitchen came in handy since we had the baby and could easily fix her meals.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel doesn’t have a regular cleaning schedule so if you want your room turned its by request. We never requested the cleaning service but did request towels and dish soap for the kitchen now and then. They were there in a flash with no waiting.
If you’re like us and arriving via your own car I would suggest bringing your bikes if you have them. The hotel is walking distance to just about everything but next time we’re bringing the bikes for sure. There are a couple places in town that rent bikes for the day or week so that’s always an option as well.
We had a great stay at Extended Stay and will definitely be returning again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cozydiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you so very much for your glowing review of our hotel. Whenever I read comments like yours it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. We appreciate your ideas and feedback; I am going to see about possibly incorporating them in the future.

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    32
    26
    26
    22
See reviews for
70
16
17
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Very clean and courteous staff. Grab and go breakfast works well for the on the go traveller. Very near the beach. Pool onsite is also a big plus for the kids. There is also a fitness center onsite for those who want to exercise. Parking is also abundant.

Room Tip: Rooms on either floor is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edsan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at our hotel. We strive to provide a "home away from home" experience for all of our guests, no matter if they are staying for a night, a week, or a month. It sounds like we were able to do just that for you, and we are truly honored for your recognition.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other brand location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Smoke seems to permeate the room, even though smoke free according to clerk. Pet friendly, with dogs all over. However, if you don't want to share your hotel with animals, this is not so pleasant. The pool is nice, but no hot tub/spa. Not sure of the ratings, but only soap is provided in the bathroom, without shampoo/conditioner. Small kitchen is nice. Beds are firm, but seem to be beaten up already, for a newly renovated/constructed hotel is surprising. Free breakfast munchies are nice.

Room Tip: Back rooms are quieter, and nearer the parking, but freeway noise may travel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lestertheinvestor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was happy to read your remarks about the pool and complimentary breakfast; however, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.

The staff and I strive to provide friendly service, clean rooms and a comfortable place to stay. We apologize if the dogs and designated smoking rooms kept you from being able to consider our hotel a "home away from home". It is our goal to ensure that our guests are not disturbed throughout their stay and it saddens me to hear you were.

Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of our other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockaway, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I booked a vaction through a travel agency and we decided since we'd be there a week we'd try an Extended Stay, good value, and a very nice piece of property. We landed around 8:30 pm and got our car and drove to the hotel. When we arrived we were tired from our flight and just wanted to go to sleep (due to the 3 hour time change coming from NJ). We got the lobby and we smelled smoke, no big deal. When we got to the reception area check-in was quick and she was very pleasant, then she said it and this is the only reason I gave 4 and not 5 points. She said the lobby is closing soon and if you have any problems call the police. Well my wife (holding our 4 year old song) her eyes bugged clear out of her head! When we got back to our room I got hit with 20 questions. "What did she mean?" "What problems will we have?" "Does she know something?" I calmed her down and we enjoyed our evening.

I am not mad at her, or the hotel I actually appreciate the warning.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plthrill623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
I recently received a copy of your review for our hotel. Our company prides itself on providing great service and great rooms at great rates, which is why I was so disappointed to read your post. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

I do appreciate the opportunity to respond to your issue in a way that might be able to help future customers. It's very important to us that our guests know exactly what to expect when staying with us - a great room at an exceptional rate. In order for us to continue offering such value, we maintain fully staffed front desk hours between 7am and 11pm seven days a week. During other times, our overnight staff is always available to check in guests and assist with other issues. It is not our policy to refer guests to the police department for overnight guest needs. I apologize if our Front Desk agent did so, I will be speaking with them about the situation.

Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other brand location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

My Husband was transfered to Southern California in February. We stayed at the Extended Stay -Carlsbad Village by the Sea until May 31, 2012! Everyone was extremely nice. The room was remodeled and very clean! We enjoyed having a kitchenette (full size fridge, two burner stove top, lots of cabinet space...and a microwave. Our room was on the ground level looking at the pool. It was a little chilly at that time to swim...but it was always nice looking and inviting! The laundry room was nice ($2 to wash, $2 to dry). They also had a nice little breakfast center open in the morning with cereals and coffee, tea, and fruit bars. I think it had oatmeal too! I always felt safe staying there because all the exits were card key access only. If we needed towels or toilet paper...just went to the nice girls at the front desk! Within walking distance to Carlsbad Village -restaurants and shops! The Ocean is only a few blocks away! I would want my family and friends to stay there!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann-Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
It was very kind of you to for take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay at the Extended Stay America San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. That's why the biggest investment we make is in our customers. Our company motto is "Excellence Every Day, Every Way", and my promise to you is that we will continue to operate according to this practice.
It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Nice value for beach trip. Rooms have lots of space. Carlsbad is our favorite family beach town. Front staff could use some more help. Staff was covering desk, cleaning towels, and prep for grab and go breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMC76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at Extended Stay America San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. We strive to provide a "home away from home" experience for all of our guests, no matter if they are staying for a night, a week, or a month. It sounds like we were able to do just that for you, and we are truly honored for your recognition. Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We had a list of things that were terrible about this hotel but the few basic things that were wrong are as follows: dirty linens were left in the sofa bed, dried blood on pillow, dirty towel in kitchen cupboard, hair and bobby pin on the floor, we're very understaffed, breakfast was always running out of items. Would never stay here again. Also just be advised there is no daily maid service at these hotels.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bngladbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your experience at Extended Stay America San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea. Providing for your total satisfaction, from the moment you arrive to the moment you depart, is my staff's primary duty. Hearing that we failed in your case is truly disheartening, and for that, I offer you my sincerest apology. Please understand that maintain strict quality control standards, which demand that every room is inspected prior to making it available to our guests. Clearly there was a failure in our system during your stay. In response to your comments, I’ve personally met with all of our staff and used your review to demonstrate in which specific areas we can improve. Let me assure you that your experience is certainly not typical, and that we have put in place measures to ensure that the type of stay you had won't be repeated. Again, I apologize and promise you that we are committed to your total satisfaction. If there is anything you would like to discuss further with me or our guest relations team, please don't hesitate to contact us by visiting our website and clicking on the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope you will give us the honor of having you as a guest again if future travels will bring you into our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Carlsbad
Days Inn Carlsbad
#27 of 36 in Carlsbad
349 reviews
3.2 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
661 reviews
4.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ramada Carlsbad
Ramada Carlsbad
#36 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,063 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
#35 of 36 in Carlsbad
116 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea

Property: Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea
Address: 1050 Grand Ave, Carlsbad, CA 92008-1813
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Extended Stay, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica San Diego-Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Extended Stay America Carlsbad
Extended Stay Carlsbad
Carlsbad Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing