We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea
Ranked #31 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
LA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“me experience”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I was working in the San Diego area for couple months and stayed at Extended Stay America. The hotel is clean, the staff is knowledgeable, helpful and handled my requests promptly. I felt safe and comfortable in the room and was this made my stay easier and more pleasant. The staff is warm and friendly, specially front deck personnel, Nicole would always ask my questions or resolve any issues (that were small and few in number). I would recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
It is so rewarding to read that we were able to provide you with a "home away from home" experience at our hotel. Thank you for your comments, especially those regarding the hotel and staff.

Thank you again for posting your review. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    29
    24
    22
    18
See reviews for
60
15
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

First time @ an extended stay, comfortable, and great price, location was great, beach was walking distance! Staff was always busy, Nataly was very helpful at check in. Rooms were fresh, especially pool side, hallways smelt a bit like cigarettes, but given its a hotel it didn't bother us much.
Nice stay!

Room Tip: Request pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellady702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I think it falls between poor and average, but we're spoiled after mostly staying at Hyatt Houses. We booked via ESA's website based on the facts that we'd be getting a suite and that they have breakfast.

Turns out that they don't have suites (so we all had to stay in one room), and the 'breakfast' is really just coffee and a grab-your-own spunkmeyer muffin/Quaker granola bar. More of a breakfast snack. Due to the former issue, they were nice enough to give us a bit of a discount.

These lower end chains have a lot of smokers and our non-smoking room still smelled faintly of febreze on top of cigarette smoke. The odor was a bit stronger in the hallways.

The room was clean, but it's true: no shampoo, no hair dryer, no paper towels. The mattress is kind of hard, but we're used to that and we still slept fine. The kitchenette does not have a disposal, and instead of a little container of dish soap, they just give a small packet of it.

This place was ok for a one night stay, not worth more than 60-70 bucks, IMO.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jayrob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
We received a copy of your review and wanted to thank you for taking the time our of you day to let us know about your review. I'm happy to hear that the associates tried to make it right when the accommodations did not live up to your expectations. If you wish to discuss the issues further, please contact me, Thomas, at tgiesel@extendedstay.com. We certaintly hope that you do you give us a try again the next time you are in Carlsbad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carlsbad hotels

Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Location is great - easy walks to restaurants, shops, train station and beaches. It was nice to have lots of light in different areas of the suite. Enjoyed the firm bed. Staff were always busy but friendly and helpful. Good value for the money.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms would probably be quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Thank you so much for the great review of your stay with us. I'm thrilled to hear that even though the staff was really busy, they were always helpful and friendly. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Very good valu and great room with nice kitchen. The pool was very clean and had lovely loungers for sunbathing. Groceries shopping close by and only a short walk to the beach.
We will definitely be back
Barb and Jim from Burnaby B.C. Canada

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbandji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
We just received a copy of your review and wanted to take a moment to say thank you. I'm thrilled that you found our pool inviting and relaxing and were able to enjoy your stay in Carlsbad. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Carlsbad. Thank you so much for choosing Extended Stay Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2013

My experience at this property was an excellent experience the rooms were spacious and the staff
was awesome even though we didn't use the kitchen much, it was filled with everything we needed to cook. This was a great hotel for the price. A short walk to the Beach and Denny's is right across the parking lot. Albertson's is right across the street and walking distance to downtown Carlsbad. Our family really enjoyed are stay at this location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabriena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of your stay in Carlsbad. We were so pleased to hear that you found our hotel a great value for your money. Thank you so much for choosing Extended Stay Hotels, we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Carlsbad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2013

one of the best business hotels that I have stayed in. Rooms are spacious and staff were polite and courteous. the experience is simply awesome.... If you are looking for the most bang for the buck, this is definitely it.....

Room Tip: very good location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
I appreciate yo utaking the time to write such a fantastic review of your stay. I'm so pleased that you found our property to be a great for business. It's great to hear that our associates were so polite and helpful. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Carlsbad
Days Inn Carlsbad
#28 of 36 in Carlsbad
332 reviews
4.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
3.2 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ramada Carlsbad
Ramada Carlsbad
#36 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,025 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
#35 of 36 in Carlsbad
114 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea

Property: Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea
Address: 1050 Grand Ave, Carlsbad, CA 92008-1813
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Extended Stay, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica San Diego-Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Extended Stay America Carlsbad
Extended Stay Carlsbad
Carlsbad Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing