We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“South California Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea
Ranked #31 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Winter Springs, Florida
1 review
“South California Vacation”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Best value for the buck. Friendly management and staff. Clean facility and most of all, its near the beach. We will be back in Southern California next year and will be booking my accommodations at this hotel. Thank you for making our special day (anniversary) an enjoyable and memorable one.

Room Tip: For big groups, get the "VIP" room for just a few more dollars. Best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. It's great to hear that our hotel the best value for the money, the service you received was excellent and the room was clean. We are glad that we made your Anniversary an enjoyable and memorable one.
Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    29
    21
    21
    17
See reviews for
56
14
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We were here for a family event in July, and booked several rooms. We had a pleasant, and welcoming check-in experience, but the rooms were a disappointment. It was nice to have a ref rig. and microwave in the room, but rooms were not clean. Room service quickly agreed to change dirty linens, but still, it was less than we expected for the price. Or any price, for that matter.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. It's great to hear that you had pleasant and welcoming check-in experience. However, I want to apologize for the unacceptable cleanliness our your room at check-in. I am glad that the staff was able to accommodate your needs to your satisfaction. I am working with our team on the inspection process to ensure this does not happen again.

Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carlsbad hotels

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Excellent choice for a wonderful stay in San Diego. Great location, clean, comfortable, great customer service. Not only fixed every issue but gave a discount without asking!!! Met all our needs. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baseballfamily13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I'm so pleased to hear that our staff made your stay with us very comfortable. As well, it is great to know that you found our property to be so clean. The staff and I truly enjoyed having you and your family stay with us. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This was my second time at Extended Stay in Carlsbad and another great one to boot!
You just cant beat this location. No, its not right on the beach but its an easy walk and for the price that's outstanding. Everything is within walking distance and if you're driving to the hotel and have to means to bring your bikes your golden.
The staff is very friendly and although our stay didn't include maid service (Which I prefer) it was very easy to get fresh towels etc. I ran in to one of the housekeeping staff by the name of Margarita in the hallway. She was quick to bring me some new towels and such. Very friendly.
My wife and I are originally from Carlsbad so I know the area well. We moved 8 years ago and allot has changed since then. One new place that has great taco's is Senior Grubby's on Carlsbad Village Drive just east of the coast highway on the east side. Really tasty! Take a stroll.
So thats my review of Extended Stay! Great place and I'll keep returning and writing good reviews until otherwise!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cozydiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Carlsbad and were provided great service by Margarita and our hotel staff. As well, I am glad that you found our location to be convenient.

Once again, thank you for posting your review. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Very comfortable suite with a full size refrigerator and stovetop and microwave ... perfect for heating up leftovers or cooking up items you purchased at the nearby grocery store. Sometimes you don't want to eat out. This offers you the option not to.

Room was very clean and comfortable. Bathroom was nice and roomy. Kitchen was clean ... recliner was comfortable when watching tv. I know that sometimes you get a bad room ... that happens in all hotels. This Extended Stay, compared with others I've stayed in was very clean and functional.

A great deal when you're looking for a place to stay that allows you to stock on food and drinks and cook an occasional meal.

Restaurants are all walking distance away. ATM and groceries are closeby. If you want to go shopping, the outlets are just 2 exits down. Great location. I was in a room next to the freeway and when the windows were closed, I barely heard any of the traffic (to my surprise).

Again, great value and a great location.

Room Tip: Obviously if you want a cleaner room, don't get the smoking rooms. The non-smoking rooms are ag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Oliver - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your clean room and comfortable accommodation. As well, I am glad that you found our location to be convenient.

Thank you again for posting your review. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Had a very pleasant stay. Staff was friendly. Room and bathroom clean. Loved the fact that it had a full kitchen, although I did not use more than the fridge and microwave. Stayed for 2 nights and got it at a great price. Great location. Everything within walking distance, grocery store, restaurants and the beach. Definitively a place to consider when visiting the area again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Mari - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. It's great to hear that you were pleased with our service and amenities. As well, I am so glad that you liked our location which is close to other establishments in the area and the beach.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The room just does not feel clean, the bath tub was covered with black hair from the previous client ! How gross. I asked that the tub be cleaned but it never happened. The neighborhood that is closest to the hotel is seedy

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank va7runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. The situation you described regarding your room is truly regrettable. We are very sorry for your experience. Your comments were reviewed by the staff, and we will work hard to make sure it is not repeated.

I am grateful for the feedback you provided so we are able to continually improve our hotel. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at clb@extendedstay.com. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Carlsbad
Days Inn Carlsbad
#25 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
4.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
3.2 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ramada Carlsbad
Ramada Carlsbad
#36 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
#35 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea

Property: Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea
Address: 1050 Grand Ave, Carlsbad, CA 92008-1813
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Extended Stay, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica San Diego-Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Extended Stay America Carlsbad
Extended Stay Carlsbad
Carlsbad Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing