We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice for long term stays”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea
Ranked #33 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Slidell, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very nice for long term stays”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Was a nice and convenient hotel. The staff were great an helpful. Nice pool though being from warmer parts of the US being so close to the beach it was a bit cool for swimming. Charcoal grills at the pool - it has been a while since I used charcoal and it was a nice change. Though leaving the AC fan on constant helped, being backed up to Interstate 5 had the constant and continuous road noise though the windows are doubled up and help a lot. The grab and go breakfast bar was nice - the fruit was fresh. Also great if you like to cook with the stove top. You have to wash your dished by hand - no dishwasher and it would have been nice to have been able to bake something during my 6 week stay. I'd spent my first 2 weeks at another hotel because of a short travel notice, ESA was by far the better option for amenities, service and overall quality. No awards program though - which I'm sure helps keep down the prices. The longer you stay the better the price. Beach, restaurants and a grocery store all with in an easy walk from the hotel. Very convenient to the front gate of camp Pendleton - about 5 miles. Though WiFi is free and adequate for most basic uses, my one gripe was that getting faster WiFi had a daily cost.

Room Tip: Rooms facing east hear more road noise from the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. It's great to hear that our hotel staff member was able to meet your expectations and enjoyed your visit to Carlsbad. I am pleased to hear that you had an opportunity to use our pool. Also, I am glad to hear that our location was convenient for your stay.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    32
    25
    25
    22
See reviews for
65
16
17
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This is a fine hotel for short term stays... It isnt 5 star, but it is in the village and close to the beach and shops.. It is a normal room, no frills.. Our room was clean but basic... We were awaken in the middle of the night due to a false fire alarm.. But it was shut down quickly.
There is a good and bad to the location. It is behind the Dennys and Motel 6.. a very seedy motel and area. Although old the area is ok.. some of the homeless seemed to park out front but the police seem to move them along.. Again, I think it was over flow from the Motel 6.
If you are coming to Carlsbad for a family vacation on a budget this place is perfect... Safe, Clean and easily accessable to all the beach and village amenities..
Not for special occasions.. but practical if on a business trip or short overnight.
We stayed one night as our home (in Carlsbad) was getting painted...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that the location and cleanliness of our guest rooms suited your needs.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

While this is not a 5-star hotel, it is very accommodating for groups. I and several people in my running club have spent the night here the night before running the Carlsbad 5K in April. This past April was at least the third time we've stayed at this hotel, usually in two or three rooms. It is extremely convenient for us, located only two or three blocks from the start line and the finish line. It also is located within easy walking distance to several restaurants, shops and the beach. Service has always been excellent and the staff is friendly and accommodating. We will continue to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgmeigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I'm so pleased to hear that our staff is friendly and accommodating with your running club during the Carlsbad 5K and that the property was convenient to your event, restaurants, shops and the beach.

Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Springs, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Best value for the buck. Friendly management and staff. Clean facility and most of all, its near the beach. We will be back in Southern California next year and will be booking my accommodations at this hotel. Thank you for making our special day (anniversary) an enjoyable and memorable one.

Room Tip: For big groups, get the "VIP" room for just a few more dollars. Best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. It's great to hear that our hotel the best value for the money, the service you received was excellent and the room was clean. We are glad that we made your Anniversary an enjoyable and memorable one.
Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Quinta, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We were here for a family event in July, and booked several rooms. We had a pleasant, and welcoming check-in experience, but the rooms were a disappointment. It was nice to have a ref rig. and microwave in the room, but rooms were not clean. Room service quickly agreed to change dirty linens, but still, it was less than we expected for the price. Or any price, for that matter.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. It's great to hear that you had pleasant and welcoming check-in experience. However, I want to apologize for the unacceptable cleanliness our your room at check-in. I am glad that the staff was able to accommodate your needs to your satisfaction. I am working with our team on the inspection process to ensure this does not happen again.

Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carlsbad hotels

San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Excellent choice for a wonderful stay in San Diego. Great location, clean, comfortable, great customer service. Not only fixed every issue but gave a discount without asking!!! Met all our needs. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baseballfamily13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I'm so pleased to hear that our staff made your stay with us very comfortable. As well, it is great to know that you found our property to be so clean. The staff and I truly enjoyed having you and your family stay with us. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This was my second time at Extended Stay in Carlsbad and another great one to boot!
You just cant beat this location. No, its not right on the beach but its an easy walk and for the price that's outstanding. Everything is within walking distance and if you're driving to the hotel and have to means to bring your bikes your golden.
The staff is very friendly and although our stay didn't include maid service (Which I prefer) it was very easy to get fresh towels etc. I ran in to one of the housekeeping staff by the name of Margarita in the hallway. She was quick to bring me some new towels and such. Very friendly.
My wife and I are originally from Carlsbad so I know the area well. We moved 8 years ago and allot has changed since then. One new place that has great taco's is Senior Grubby's on Carlsbad Village Drive just east of the coast highway on the east side. Really tasty! Take a stroll.
So thats my review of Extended Stay! Great place and I'll keep returning and writing good reviews until otherwise!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cozydiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Carlsbad and were provided great service by Margarita and our hotel staff. As well, I am glad that you found our location to be convenient.

Once again, thank you for posting your review. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Carlsbad
Days Inn Carlsbad
#27 of 36 in Carlsbad
342 reviews
4.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
3.2 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ramada Carlsbad
Ramada Carlsbad
#36 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,048 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
#35 of 36 in Carlsbad
115 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea

Property: Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea
Address: 1050 Grand Ave, Carlsbad, CA 92008-1813
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Extended Stay, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica San Diego-Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Extended Stay America Carlsbad
Extended Stay Carlsbad
Carlsbad Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing