We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing response to clearly and admitted screw up”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
San Marcos, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing response to clearly and admitted screw up”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Tried to eat at the Chandlers...30 min and not even water, waitress had no idea what was served.... got another persons attention... not much better. Went down the street for the best Italian food and service ever.
Stayed at the Hilton, across a 4 lane road and campground from beach. Extremely noisy room from road. Hilton messed up on charges and put a hold on 1300 bucks (for an overnight stay extended 1 day) on my debit card for many days. Very poor customer service considering....You only have one chance to celebrate an anniversary....We will not be going back!

Room Tip: pool view rooms are not as prone to excessive road noise .... don't plan on being on the beach u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikram S, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Dean T, I was very disappointed to hear about your experience at the resort which was clearly a special occasion for you. My apologies on behalf of the entire team. Rather than simply respond to your comments, I would like to speak to you personally about your experience at the property in an effort to gain back some of the trust that was lost. My email is vikram.sood @hilton.com . Please send me a note so that we can connect and set up a time to speak at your convenience.

Thank you for the feedback and I look forward to hearing back from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    865
    309
    112
    47
    26
See reviews for
561
387
30
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dacula, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We came for a conference and stayed a couple of extra days. Wonderful experience! Def coming back. Bar and lounge had a great dinner menu. Steaks were great...wine selection solid and quite a surprise!

Room Tip: Close enough to tourist areas to be convenient but still had the local feel. Loved it. Ask the staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimcrumbley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikram S, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Jim Crumbley, thank you for your recent posting. It was nice to hear that you enjoyed the conference, but chose to stay longer to relax and enjoy the property. As for the restaurant, Chandler's , we continue to work on our food and wine program so I am glad you enjoyed the wine selections. Look for some more additional changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salt lake city
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I stayed here for two nights in November with my teenage sons. The hotel is lovely. It is a smaller Hilton but it was absolutely perfect. The design and decor is very understated and modern. If this is the new trend for Hilton Hotels, hooray! The landscaping was beautiful--lots of succulents and waterwise plants. The view of the Pacific Ocean from our room was stunning. I highly recommend getting a room facing the ocean, pool and if possible with a balcony (we had one). The ocean is just across a very sleepy section of the PCH, with quick access down some cliffs. The restaurant was great--we had the breakfast buffet--very high quality food, no powdered eggs and premade omelettes to be found.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olgabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikram S, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Olgabs, thank you for your recent posting on Trip Advisor. You are right in that this is a very unique Hilton property in its scale and look. It was the owners decision to build a new property that was modern yet representative of our location in Carlsbad. In addition , it was great to hear your comments about the breakfast buffet. This is a constant work in progress for us and we continue to add to it.

Thank you again for your kind note.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sherman oaks, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I asked if this hotel was on the beach?????????? They said sure..............you have a view but there is traffic sooooooooooo they lied!! The so called hotel did not have our room ready phone or fridge Why pay $ 299 for what??????????

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikram S, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Andrea M, thank you for your recent posting regarding your experience at the property. I was disappointed to read the comments as your experience clearly fell short of expectations so my sincere apologies.

Please know that we did find that you spoke to the Hilton Central Reservations team when making your reservations so we have called them and asked them to review the manner in which the property is described over the phone to ensure that there are no misconceptions. Given your feedback, I would appreaciate the opportunity to discuss your visit via a phone call . Please email me at vikram.sood@hilton.com at your convenience so that we can connect and set up a time to talk. I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I was very impressed by the attentive and courteous reception that I received from every member of the hotel staff. The appearance of the lobby and my room were above what I'd expected, and the amenities in the room were top notch. The food was healthy, inventive and delicious. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Peggy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikram S, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Peggy, thank you for your positive note on Trip Advisor. It was nice to read that your stay exceeded your expectations in a number of areas. We have worked hard over the last year to continuously improve the manner in which we interact with our guests. I hope you see you again in the near future and share some of our seasonal enhancements in the restaurant with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

i stayed for 1 night, wanted to stay for a week! the property is new and very high tech and high touch. if your staying in the area, then this is THE place! Front desk personnel was great and everything from free wifi to free coffee in the lobby was excellent!

Room Tip: they are all great, if you want to spend a little bit more, try a suite-it's really worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorDubious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikram S, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Dr. Dubious, thank you for your recent posting. It is unfortunate that you were only here for one day, but I hope we have enticed you enough to come back soon and stay for a week as you have mentioned. I have shared your feedback with the team which was much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This beautiful hotel blends with the landscape so well, you don't even realize it is a hotel as you arrive. The rooms overlook the ocean and the resort itself has all the amenities anyone could ask for. I was there for 3 days at a business function so was not able to enjoy everything this hotel had to offer.

The staff was exceptional! All members of the staff were more than accommodating. This is a hotel I am planning to take my family to in the near future.

I highly recomment this hotel!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeD21061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikram S, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Mike D2, thank you for your recent posting on Trip Advisor. It was very nice to read your comments about the staff at the property. Please be sure to come back when you have some time to enjoy the property for a short vacation or getaway as there is a lot to explore in the area .

We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
3.0 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
4.8 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
4.7 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort

Property: Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Address: 1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4620 (Formerly Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the sunny Pacific Coast in Northern San Diego and only 150 steps to the surf, Cape Rey is the adventurous choice for the California traveler who seeks something different and unique. With spectacular views of picturesque South Carlsbad beaches, the resort sits atop the crest of a series of gently rolling berms - a crest we like to call the Cape! At the Cape you are just minutes from LEGOLAND(R)California and the historic Del Mar Race Track, or a short coastal drive to SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo or Safari Park, famous regional wineries, and award-winning craft breweries. For the adventurous types we outfit you for local deep-sea fishing, sailboat cruises, horseback riding, paddle boarding, snorkeling, surfing lessons, and kayak explorations. Foodies enjoy dining on-property at Chandler's, where you'll find familiar favorites prepared with a twist. For connecting rejuvenation with mind, body and soul, we offer one of the top 5 Hotel Spas in the U.S. By Travel & Escape, the Ocean Crest Spa. And with an array of excursion locales and onsite amenities, there's always something to do, see or eat at the Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing