We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I have had several occasions for business and pleasure, to stay at The Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort and Spa. The Amenities have always been ample, clean and top quality. The Spa is well appointed and the staff is exceptional. The Ocean Views are the best in town. If you're looking for a beautiful hotel at a reasonable value, then you will be pleasantly suprised.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryjo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,389)
There are newer reviews for Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,006 - 1,012 of 1,389 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

My family group of 5, in two adjoining rooms, enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is very nice, quiet, across the street to the beach, 85 deg heated pool, and more. The hotel restaurant (only one around within 2-3 miles) was fortunately very good as well. Since we arrived via train, the valet shuttle service made every transport just fine. Rides from the train station to/from hotel, daily rides to Lego land and Aquarium, all went well, with some advanced planning. The spa massages for the ladies were enjoyed. The restaurant staff were especially friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the ground floor and were very quiet and convenient.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cuestaroble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Our family of four (two small kids) were looking for a nice place to use as a launching pad for the Zoo, Safari Park, and Legoland between Christmas and New Years. We wanted something comfortable and moderately upscale, but did not want to pay Four Seasons type prices on this trip. This hotel nailed it. It was modern, clean, quit, not overrun with kids or loud partiers, reasonably priced, and had friendly staff from the valet guys (very helpful and frankly worth the $20.00 a day valet fee), to the front desk folks, to the bar (great tip on a bottle of wine the wife and I shared on the balcony after the kids went down for the night). We will be back again in December 2014.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Mark J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed here for a business convention in October 2013. Hotel facilities are excellent. it is just across highway to beach area, but nothing around it, so you need a car. Staff will shuttle you into town with minimal waits.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Our daughter previously stayed at the Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort and Spa for business and found it to be top notch. She recommended we stay here for one night during our two day trip to San Diego County. We the oceanfront location very relaxing combined with onsite pool and spa amenities, very good service and food, the quality you expect from Hilton. We plan several more short trips to San Diego County during 2014 and will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I never fill these out. But I will make an exception in this case. This hotel was fantastic. Clean, quiet, and friendly. The staff was helpful, considerate, and went out of the way to make the guests feel special. The rooms were fresh and clean, and the view of the ocean was relaxing!! I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This Hilton has a wonderful view of the ocean and easy beach access. The jewel of this property is the excellent salt water pool and overall California vibe. Location is fantastic and you feel secluded even though close to many things.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank RAYMOND K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
3.0 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
4.8 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort

Address: 1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4620 (Formerly Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range: £159 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the sunny Pacific Coast in Northern San Diego and only 150 steps to the surf, Cape Rey is the adventurous choice for the California traveler who seeks something different and unique. With spectacular views of picturesque South Carlsbad beaches, the resort sits atop the crest of a series of gently rolling berms - a crest we like to call the Cape! At the Cape you are just minutes from LEGOLAND(R)California and the historic Del Mar Race Track, or a short coastal drive to SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo or Safari Park, famous regional wineries, and award-winning craft breweries. For the adventurous types we outfit you for local deep-sea fishing, sailboat cruises, horseback riding, paddle boarding, snorkeling, surfing lessons, and kayak explorations. Foodies enjoy dining on-property at Chandler's, where you'll find familiar favorites prepared with a twist. For connecting rejuvenation with mind, body and soul, we offer one of the top 5 Hotel Spas in the U.S. By Travel & Escape, the Ocean Crest Spa. And with an array of excursion locales and onsite amenities, there's always something to do, see or eat at the Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing