We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We just went to Carlsbad to visit Legoland. We were coming from LAX from a long flight. The hotel is located in a beautiful place with a nice view of the ocean. We arrived earlier than checkin time, but the front desk was REALLY amazing helping us with a room for me and my family.

The courtesy of the staff at the arrival was supreme. Two thumbs up! The hotel is very modern and the rooms are very comfortable and big. The bathroom is also very nice. The hotel is very well located and it has a nice view. The ocean is accross the street. The neighborhood is very calm and the place is realy warm.

I hope I had more time to stay at the hotel in the future, but is a very great place. I think is one of the best Hilton Hotels I have ever stayed.

RAJ at the front desk was REALLY amazing. He worked for us to get a room earlier and I want to thank him again.

Room Tip: The ocean is accross the street. Ask for an ocean view room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikram S, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Rheldo, thank you for your recent review . It was nice to hear that we provided a much needed escape after a long flight and drive from LAX. Most importantly, thank you for the feedback surrounding Raj at the Front Office. I will be sure to recognize him for his efforts and share the feedback with his peers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

974 - 980 of 1,414 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

Especially differenciations: In the bathroom I found long shower towel XXL size. Especially for tall guys a very nice experience. During breakfast I got not typical small glasses of orange juce where you have to run several times. I got big glasses. Definitely facing the Ocean side is a plus. Time was to short for me to enjoy ths spa area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Wolfgang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikram S, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Wolfgang L, thank you for your recent posting and review. It was nice to hear that you appreciated some of the nicer touches at the resort such as the larger towels . We continue to work on initiatives to provide a better experience. It appears that you live overseas, but should you need a fix of Southern California, please return to the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We would like to commend one of your employees, Peyden S. for his OUTSTANDING service when we arrived at Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort and Spa. Peyden S. was kind, helpful, made us feel welcomed, told us all about the hotel, explained about the pool area, restaurant service and other major details about the resort. When arriving into our room Peyden S. also explained about the a/c, set up our luggage and again asked if we had any questions. We were very happy that a nice young man works for such an outstanding hotel chain.
When departing three days later we were again had the same experience with the same young man Peyden S. He asked about our stay at the hotel, he even remember that we were from the Central Valley and told us to have a safe drive home.
Hilton Carlsbad keep us the great job hiring such kind young man and women as Peyden S.

Room Tip: Excellent Service, Beautiful Hotel, Family Friendly, Outstanding Business area with Mac Computers...
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank GRAMMIEGRAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikram S, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Karen W, thank you for your recent review and your feedback regarding Peydon. We will be sure to recognize him for the service that he provided while you were here. It is always special to have one of our team members mentioned in a written review. I look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Carlsbad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Be sure to review your reservation with the front desk when you check in to make sure you are getting everything you paid for. Restaurant and spa were great but a little overpriced. Take your valuables out of your car, I watched the valets steal someones weed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We just returned for a much needed R&R trip. My wife and two teenage children.
This property is exceptional! Great location, fabulous pool and out door area to sit and relax. the restaurant is great for any meal! Breakfast was really good with awesome friendly staff to assist. Really close to all that Carlsbad has to offer the vacationing family. We Love PCH and will stay again at this hotel!! Can't wait for the next time we get to go there!!

Room Tip: Ocean front may be an upgrade, but very well worth the View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GNAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikram S, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear GNAllen, thank you for your positive review . We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences at the property. I am glad that you enjoyed the restaurant as a lot of work has gone into creating a unique venue that really feels like a stand alone neighborhood restaurant where guests come numerous times a week. I will be sure to share your review with the team at Chandler's. I hope to see you again on your next visit to Carlsbad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Rooms were extremely comfortable. All the employees we encountered were very nice. Restaurant recommendations, free stuffed animal for our granddaughter, just kind people. Stayed at multiple hotels during our California site seeing trip, and this was by far the best

Room Tip: Check out various websites for best prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikram S, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Kerry LP, thank you for your recent review. It was nice to hear that our property was your favorite place during your recent trip to California. Also, a special thank you for mentioning the staff at the property. They are a special group who care deeply about our guests. Be sure to come out again this summer to enjoy some of our seasonal offerings .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My family and I stayed here during a recent visit to Legoland. It was ideal for us because we weren't too close to the park, so when we came back to the hotel, we felt like we had a resort-like experience and were able to escape the craziness of the legoland. However, they did offer us a free shuttle to and from the park each day. The pool was beautiful and the beach across the street was one of the most gorgeous I've ever seen. You will love it here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank TeresaVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
3.0 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
4.8 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
13.0 mi away
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
#2 of 278 in San Diego
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort

Address: 1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4620 (Formerly Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range: £147 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the sunny Pacific Coast in Northern San Diego and only 150 steps to the surf, Cape Rey is the adventurous choice for the California traveler who seeks something different and unique. With spectacular views of picturesque South Carlsbad beaches, the resort sits atop the crest of a series of gently rolling berms - a crest we like to call the Cape! At the Cape you are just minutes from LEGOLAND(R)California and the historic Del Mar Race Track, or a short coastal drive to SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo or Safari Park, famous regional wineries, and award-winning craft breweries. For the adventurous types we outfit you for local deep-sea fishing, sailboat cruises, horseback riding, paddle boarding, snorkeling, surfing lessons, and kayak explorations. Foodies enjoy dining on-property at Chandler's, where you'll find familiar favorites prepared with a twist. For connecting rejuvenation with mind, body and soul, we offer one of the top 5 Hotel Spas in the U.S. By Travel & Escape, the Ocean Crest Spa. And with an array of excursion locales and onsite amenities, there's always something to do, see or eat at the Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing