We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carlsbad CA stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Carlsbad CA stay”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Carlsbad Hilton is beautifully decorated. The restaurant staff is very friendly and the food is great. The view of the Pacific Ocean is amazing. We saw a pod of dolphins jumping out of the water in the morning. The location is close enough to San Diego and not too far from LA. The beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank 785sherrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    865
    309
    112
    47
    26
See reviews for
561
387
30
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This Hilton is a wonderful oceanfront property. The staff is courteous, service is excellent and the rooms are always impeccable. I love it because it's not "in the middle" of everything, but it's just a 5 minute car ride if you want to be. It's so serene and lovely and a wonderful spot for decompression. The food at their restaurant Chandlers is also fabulous. The lobster and shrimp tacos are to die for. My only warning, the first floor seems to have lots of families and children, so avoid it if you're sensitive to noise.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor if you're sensitive to noise. Lots of screaming kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Having traveled for 30 years around the world and having used 5 star+ properties I am pleased to say that this is an outstanding hotel in all aspects, service, cleanliness, food, staff friendliness, pleasant room, pool etc.. Having managed large properties in Asia one becomes jaded and demanding. This property over qualifies above its official rating. I will use this hotel frequently in the future and make sure my friends and acquaintances will hear about it. Only a 2 hour drive from the desert!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank tbruggemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Had a three night stay here in June. I was aware of a lot of negative comments on here about the RV parking across the street before I travelled, but couldn't see what the fuss was about to be honest. They did not effect the ambience of this Hotel in anyway for our party.

The lobby is beautiful and all the staff were super friendly. We found the rooms slightly dated in style but clean and an excellent nights sleep with no adjoining room noise, or corridor noise.

Pool is nice and quite large, with plenty of sun beds. The view onto the beach from the RV park was stunning and our evenings sat out with a Californian red next to the outdoor fire pits were perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bax52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This hotel isn't what I would consider a resort, but it isn't a traditional Hilton property either. There is a nice pool, but every mid priced hotel/motel in southern California has an outdoor pool. There also is a spa which I didn't try, but as for other amenities they seemed pretty basic.

The hotel faces Carlsbad Ave. which separates the hotel from the beach. The beach by the hotel is part of a state park. so there are many pop up campers, RVs and even small tents on the bluffs over the beach. The campers have picnic tables and grills out besides their vehicles. It was an odd juxtaposition to look out from the Hilton to the campgrounds.

The lobby and restaurant are modern with indoor and outdoor seating for the restaurant. My roon was nice, well lit bathroom with a huge shower, but no bathtub. I really didn't have complaints as the staff was efficient and the hotel was very clean, but it didn't seem like a resort. For the rates they charge(including a resort fee), the hotel should have something else going for it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stlouisgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILADELPHIA
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We spent three nights at this property, and enjoyed it very much. You may valet your car or self-park (both have a cost), the entrance is warm, welcoming and beautiful. The receptionist had my reservation ready and the oceanfront/balcony room was nice. The pool, heated/salt water pool, was perfect and the hot tub helped to get rid of those driving "pains." The on-site restaurant had great drinks, and a nice menu whenever you were hungry. Though we didn't take advantage of the Spa, looking at their space and menu, it looked great. Now, the property is across the street from the beach, but it wasn't an issue; either in the walking or the balcony view. Hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did.

Room Tip: Yes, this will cost money. But, you will get what you pay for. Upper floor is best for the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I had a business conference at another resort, but opted to stay at this hotel due to its proximity to the beach. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very helpful. I would definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank chriscY9854GS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
3.0 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
4.8 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
4.7 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort

Property: Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Address: 1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4620 (Formerly Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the sunny Pacific Coast in Northern San Diego and only 150 steps to the surf, Cape Rey is the adventurous choice for the California traveler who seeks something different and unique. With spectacular views of picturesque South Carlsbad beaches, the resort sits atop the crest of a series of gently rolling berms - a crest we like to call the Cape! At the Cape you are just minutes from LEGOLAND(R)California and the historic Del Mar Race Track, or a short coastal drive to SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo or Safari Park, famous regional wineries, and award-winning craft breweries. For the adventurous types we outfit you for local deep-sea fishing, sailboat cruises, horseback riding, paddle boarding, snorkeling, surfing lessons, and kayak explorations. Foodies enjoy dining on-property at Chandler's, where you'll find familiar favorites prepared with a twist. For connecting rejuvenation with mind, body and soul, we offer one of the top 5 Hotel Spas in the U.S. By Travel & Escape, the Ocean Crest Spa. And with an array of excursion locales and onsite amenities, there's always something to do, see or eat at the Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing