We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Remote Hotel Without a Purpose”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We visited the Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront on Wednesday 7/2/14 and they were not very busy; therefore, not sure why we were not upgraded to a better room for the room we got was a room that overlooked the trailer park, trains, and were the service vehicles back into the building. The rooms are the standard square box but they do have nice upgraded details. Was nice to see the AC unit in a closet but it made a lot of noise and would wake you up when it turned on. In general this hotel is a place without a purpose - for its not on the beach, its not on a golf course, and it is a long ways from downtown Carlsbad. All in all we were not happy with our visit and glad we stayed only one night. The staff were very nice but we did not feel like this is a "resort". We also felt like the hotel had one single purpose and that was to extract as much money from their visitors as possible. With resort fee, parking fee, and taxes the original $249 a night room turned out to be $311. In the end we were disappointed and would not stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms on the east side will face the trailer park and trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank GraceForAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

921 - 927 of 1,412 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed at this property as part of our honeymoon and could not have asked for more. The staff was amazing from check-in to the van ride to Legoland to when we checked out. The view from our room was amazing. Being able to wake up and see the water with the sunrise and then later with the sunset... cannot be beat.

Room Tip: Spend a little more to get the oceanview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank th3truth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Beautiful hotel located across from an amazing beach. The customer service and Hilton property is above and beyond the average hotel. Thank you for still believing in customer service! It is so refreshing to have the service industry still provide their customers with outstanding service. From the fresh apples at the pool to dropping fresh towels by the room! Amazing!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Stacy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The hotel is overpriced for the quality and size of rooms. The hotel is not oceanfront, it is on a busy blvd. across the street from a State Park. There are several hidden charges, like for self-parking and resort fees.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Loren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This Hotel is Top Notch! I Travel a lot and stay in the Hilton Brand a lot (Hilton Diamond Member). Stayed here about a month ago and this was a fantastic experience. It started with super nice, but not overbearing bell guys that greeted you at the car. The nice young lady that checked us in was welcoming and even gave my son a stuffed Hilton pelican. He loved it & still sleeps with it. Had a very nice room with a view of the pool and the ocean. Very comfortable bed and nicely appointed room and bath. I'm a coffee snob and the coffee in room was great! (Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf) Nice gym and pool. We ate in the restaurant for breakfast, again very personable and attentive waiter (see the trend here?). Had some good healthy options on the buffet breakfast. Patio at sunset is a great place to unwind and have a couple drinks. This place just feels good and the staff is fantastic. Beats the Waldorf Astoria brand I've stayed in recently. We are heading back for another stay next week for a few more days.

Room Tip: Try and get a peak of the pacific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We arrived here after a long day at LegoLand. The valet staff was awesome and they helped unload the car and take the bags to the room. I wish I caught his name,but we got a breakfast recommendation from one of them and it was outstanding (Daily News). My wife used the gym and said it was like a full gym. The beds were super comfortable and we had a great night of sleep. We drove down towards town the next morning and spent the day at Carlsbad State beach (much nicer than the beach across the street). Great stay and we would love to go back for longer next time.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank OneManWolfpack658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

First the good:
-Can't beat the proximity to everything (lego land, outlets, beach etc). Plus they offer a free shuttle to these hotspots
-clean, modern rooms
-pool is fantastic
-restaurant is great and kid friendly/live music etc...expensive but was still super convenient
-spa was fantastic (had a massage that was divine!)
-excellent onsite gym (fully equipped)
-staff was all very helpful/friendly

Now the bad:
-paper thin walls, could hear our next door neighbors non stop from all sides.
-this property is NOT on the beach, be warned as I was unaware prior to arrival as the website gives the impression that it is beachfront. You must walk across a busy highway and then through a campground to access the beach.

Other than that we were quite happy, but might have opted for a property on the beach if I had taken the time to google earth this property to see that it wasn't actually on the beach. All in all, if not being on the beach isn't a biggie for you then I absolutely recommend this property. We had a 1 bedroom suite and it was a very nice stay.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank wsbfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
3.0 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
4.8 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
13.0 mi away
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
#2 of 278 in San Diego
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort

Address: 1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4620 (Formerly Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range: £149 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the sunny Pacific Coast in Northern San Diego and only 150 steps to the surf, Cape Rey is the adventurous choice for the California traveler who seeks something different and unique. With spectacular views of picturesque South Carlsbad beaches, the resort sits atop the crest of a series of gently rolling berms - a crest we like to call the Cape! At the Cape you are just minutes from LEGOLAND(R)California and the historic Del Mar Race Track, or a short coastal drive to SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo or Safari Park, famous regional wineries, and award-winning craft breweries. For the adventurous types we outfit you for local deep-sea fishing, sailboat cruises, horseback riding, paddle boarding, snorkeling, surfing lessons, and kayak explorations. Foodies enjoy dining on-property at Chandler's, where you'll find familiar favorites prepared with a twist. For connecting rejuvenation with mind, body and soul, we offer one of the top 5 Hotel Spas in the U.S. By Travel & Escape, the Ocean Crest Spa. And with an array of excursion locales and onsite amenities, there's always something to do, see or eat at the Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing