We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location/view, mediocre food and service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crossings at Carlsbad

The Crossings at Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: When playing golf in San Diego County, The Crossings at Carlsbad is a must play golf course for those seeking a challenging, risk-reward round of golf. The Crossings at Carlsbad is located about a mile from the Pacific Ocean and just 30 minutes from downtown San Diego. Voted by GOLF Magazine as one of the "Top 10 New Courses You Can Play." The Crossings at Carlsbad is more than just a golf course as it captures the warm friendly spirit of its own unique seaside community. Inspired by its surrounding natural coastal habitation, Pacific Ocean views, and protected native flora and fauna, as its backdrop, journey through the rugged canyon terrain, sweeping emerald green fairways, and memorable vistas and discover the unspoiled beauty that will inspire an unforgettable golf experience. In addition, The Crossings at Carlsbad is pleased to accept the Golf World's 2010 Readers' Choice Award as the #1 Public Food & Dining Facility.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Baby buggy parking, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
san diego
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice location/view, mediocre food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

My title pretty much says it all. The view is wonderful and the restaurant attractive. Just a shame that the food and the service don't match up to the view and decor!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank laddiesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dani B, Communications Coordinator at The Crossings at Carlsbad, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Hello Laddiesgirl,

I apologize that the food and service fell short of acceptable. We are continuously working on improving and we take our guest's feedback very seriously. I forwarded your review to our Director of Food & Beverage, Chris McConnaughey. His goal is to create an enjoyable experience for each guest, especially when it comes to dining. We would love to hear more details about your experience; email or call me directly if you would like to discuss further. Either way, we hope that you come back and give us a chance to leave you with a better impression! Thank you for your review!

Best regards,
Danielle Boulware
Communications Coordinator
dboulware@kempersports.com
760.444.1855
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    48
    10
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
288 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“One of best golf courses in area and good food, too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is a great golf course with enough challenge for the average golfer to make it interesting without being discouraging. (I was once paired here with a former LPGA tour player so I guess the course also appeals to the pros.) Everyone who works here is very nice and accommodating from the starters to the servers. Views are really enjoyable, and it's a very reasonably priced round of golf especially for the area. I have given up golf at Aviara to play here! The marshals do a good, friendly job of keeping the play moving for everyone without being intrusive, and this is really much more like a private club than a public course. After the round, sitting outside and having lunch is icing on the cake! Food is really good, and it's a great place to end a fun round!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank gr8passage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCrossings A, Communications Coordinator at The Crossings at Carlsbad, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Gr8passage,

Thank you for reviewing our golf course! We are glad you had fun and were well taken care of as our guest; your business is greatly appreciated! Please come back again soon! Thank you, again.

Best regards,
Danielle Boulware
dboulware@kempersports.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vista, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful view while you dine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

If you can sit outside, the view is beautiful. Inside is more of a giant dining hall. The food is good, fresh, nice variety on the menu.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle B, Communications Coordinator at The Crossings at Carlsbad, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Lisa G,

Thank you for writing a review of Canyons Restaurant! The outside view is definitely enjoyable! If you'd prefer the patio, make reservations through OpenTable.com and place your request in the notes section. We would be happy to accommodate you! Also, typically we close early for weddings on Saturdays and Sundays. Please email me if you have any questions or concerns! We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Danielle Boulware
dboulware@kempersports.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nicely maintained, driving range, carts and a good layout.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Nice course for golfers that aren't accomplished, perhaps a little boring for more skilled golfers.
The staff here were very friendly and accommodating.
Well maintained and reasonably priced.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle B, Communications Coordinator at The Crossings at Carlsbad, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Adam E,

Thank you for sending in your input! We are glad that you liked the course!

Best regards,
Danielle Boulware
dboulware@kempersports.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“My favorite local course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

This course is carved out of the sand dunes between Palomar Airport and Legoland. The designers did a spectacular job, but there's no way to walk the course as the distances between some holes is so far. (Whenever the marshals discover golfers walking on the course, they know they have sneaked on.)

The holes are all different and it's generally well cared for. There are no houses on the course and it has all natural scenery. Great practice facility, golf shop, bar, and restaurant.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harmser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle B, Communications Coordinator at The Crossings at Carlsbad, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hello Harmsar!

Thank you for being our guest in December! I, too, love the fact that there are no houses near the golf course; it makes for a great golf experience. We've just recently begun allowing hitting off of the grass at the driving range on Saturdays and Sundays. Hope you make your way back soon! Thank you for writing this review and giving us 5 green dots!!! Have a great day!

Best regards,
Danielle Boulware
dboulware@kempersports.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crossings at Carlsbad also viewed

 

Been to The Crossings at Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing