We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for All Ages”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
LEGOLAND California Hotel
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed here with our 3 boys aged 7,10 & 11. We only stayed for one night as this was the only night we had to spare on our holiday. It was a surprise for our boys & we all loved the Hotel. They were ready for something like this after such a busy 2 weeks in LA & Anaheim. Playing lego in the foyer & the games etc So much effort had gone into all the detail of the rooms & all the lego characters around. I think it's a must to experience. There are a lot of small children running around, so depending on your children's ages, you might not want to stay here for too long, we would have liked one more night!. We upgraded to the buffet on check in (absolute bargain at $50 for 4) & just ate late so that we missed most of the crowds. Legoland & the waterpark was great too even our 11 year old liked it (& prior to this we had been to Magic Mountain, Universal Studios, Disneyland), we spent the full day there & could have easily gone back for another day.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor in an Adventure room. I think all rooms are pretty similar just differen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,266 - 1,272 of 1,706 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Planned trip for 4 yr old son drove down there from Northern California paid for the extra theming which was hundred dollars more but was really a vinyl appliqué on the door. Also room was at the very very end of the hall on the other side of the hotel away from vending ice everything. There was a sewer backup so it smelled. And the Legos in the lobby and the room the kids were supposed to play with were filthy. So 12 hours total at Legoland and hotel thousand dollars wasted just to stay at hotel eat lunch and dinner and go in the park. Will never stay there again. Even $50 buffet all the food was cold and nasty. What a waste.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Couponsavings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank I, General Manager at LEGOLAND California Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear guest,

I am sorry to hear about your experiences with the odor, the condition of the LEGO and your impression of the room theming. Our LEGO is cleaned nightly, however, it does get trampled throughout the day and we do replace and add LEGO sometimes multiple times a week. We will definitely pay closer attention to this. The odor was temporary and was caused by a problem that was outside of our immediate control, however was remedied the same day. Regarding your theming, we have added extensive bed and window treatments to the adult sleeping areas along with graphics on every wall (not just the children's areas as in standard rooms) and also added seven LEGO models in addition to the eight in a non-fully themed room.

I cannot apologize enough to you and any other guest whose experience did not meet expectations and of course would very much welcome another opportunity to serve you better. We strive to do our best and to continuously learn and improve our ability to serve above and beyond, building positive memorable experiences brick by brick. I very much desire to correspond with you further to learn more from your experiences and also offer a suitable remedy, so please feel free to contact me at your convenience if you find a moment.

Warm regards.

Frank Idris
frank.idris@legoland.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights during Easter week and it was probably the highlight of our son's trip. He was in love with the Lego themed hotel from the moment we turned into the driveway. The hotel itself looks impressive, but if you took away all the cute decorations, it would be rather average. Our room was adorable, as it was pirate themed. My son was happy to see he had his own little suite to himself complete with a bunk bed and TV. It's literally steps from the park which is very handy, especially since the little ones can tire easily and need a break. It was nice to be able to just walk next door and return to our room to relax. Also the free breakfast at Brick's was surprisingly good!

Now on to the negative: The dinner food is horrible, especially that in Brick's. Our first night there, we were so tired after spending the day at the park that we mistakenly went to dine there and were immediately sorry we had. It was crazy, loud and full of unhappy, tired children and parents. However, that's to be expected:) The food was completely disgusting. I read reviews on the food, but thought the reviewers were being too picky. They were not. Avoid Brick's for dinner at all costs....speaking of costs, the bill for my small family of three was nearly $54!!! My husband about had a heart attack when our bill came. Yeah, it is a buffet style eatery, but you can easily drive down the street and find a much better selection of dinner places for less than, or equal to Brick's.

The elevator situation was kind of a nightmare. When we stayed they were booked solid. The hotel only has two elevators in the entire establishment, for every family to use at some point during their stay. The wait time was a bit excessive and if you were there at a peak hours, like breakfast or dinner, you'd better bring your patience. After a while, we just took the stairs to avoid the large crowds of people waiting. Normally two elevators would be enough, but at a place that caters to families, two simply does not work.

This is obviously a place where kids rule, but while we were there we noticed some really bad behavior. One evening while returning to our room, an older boy running down the hall pushed my son into the wall, where he hit his head pretty hard. The older boy didn't even acknowledge what he had done, nor did his grandmother when she walked past us and saw our son crying. That really ticked me off.

All in all, we stayed here to try it out. However for the price per night, we cannot justify coming back to this hotel. $349 per night not counting endless fees, our final bill was well over $900 at checkout. As my husband said, "It's the experience." That's what we paid for, but next time, we will probably look for a better price at a nearby hotel.

Room Tip: Whatever you do, try to get a room on the third floor. You'll be saving yourself so much stress...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jaime H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Great experience for the kids. The rooms are well designed so that the kids have a separate sleeping area from the adults...which they loved. The whole experience for them was great from the treasure hunt upon arrival to the dancing music in the elevators. The food was surprisingly good also both in the park and the hotel.

Special thanks to the hotel manager, Matthew Cooley. We left our passports and cash in the room safe and only discovered it several hours after checking out and moving to another hotel about 40 minutes away. We called legoland and they had already secured our valuables while Matthew offered to personally drive down to us and hand deliver the documents and money.

Great experience all around.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel over spring break and the kids had a blast. The hotel was really clean and all of the staff was very friendly and helpful.

We stayed in an adventure room and they are really nicely laid out. Enough space in between the parents area and the kids area so you could watch tv when it was time for the kids to go to sleep.

We ate in the buffet restaurant for both breakfast and dinner and they were both decent, although I think the breakfast was better. This was the only place where I think the hotel could have been cleaner.

We loved that the Legoland park was literally right outside the doors of the hotel. The pool area was really nice and clean and a nice place to go an relax.

Being a family that stays in Disney deluxe hotels whenever we go to Disneyworld, I felt this hotel was much to overpriced for what you get. It only has one real restaurant, the pool area had no waterslide at all, just a pool with some floaties that looked like legos. For that reason we will probably will never stay again, but it was fun to do once to experience it.

Room Tip: Only adventure rooms are on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Absolutely wonderful. Brings out the kid in all of us. My son loved it so much, he liked it more than the park itself. I wasn't expecting the buffets to be good since it is for kids but the perfect rare roast beef with fresh horseradish sauce was just right. The kid play area in the hotel is great. Staying at the hotel really enhances the whole experience. And thank you for your consideration for gluten intolerant folks. The chef was amazing and made special rice noodles and brownies for my son. Room 3001 was quiet and clean.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are nice and some overlook the play area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roxygirl928s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in suite with family and sister. Kids loved the the pirate themed room with the separate bedroom (no door) with bunk bed and trundle bed for kids. Free water and juice in the room. Free wifi did not work that well. Free valet or self parking. Our room came with free breakfast buffet which was surprisingly good. Free gifts for kids in treasure chest--you had to answer questions to unlock it--were not age appropriate. Small Lego pieces for ages 6+, and our kids were 2 & 4. Also, box of Legos in the room to play with. We were able to check in early, kids enjoyed playing with Legos in the lobby. Also, there was nightly kids' entertainment. Lots of fun Lego decor. We were able to get into Legoland 1/2 hour early through a specially marked entrance. Pool was nice and was zero entry, foam Lego bricks to play with. Pretty pricey, but good for convenience or special stay.

Stayed: April 2014
3  Thank CentralCATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
2.0 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LEGOLAND California Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LEGOLAND California Hotel

Address: 1 Legoland Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range: £126 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — LEGOLAND California Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've always wanted to spend the night at LEGOLAND. Now you can. Treat your family to the ultimate LEGO(R) experience - a day at LEGOLAND(R) California Resort and a night at the LEGOLAND Hotel! From the moment you arrive at the spectacular dragon-guarded entrance, you'll be delighted by interactive LEGO features, themed play areas, family pool and kid's entertainment! Located right at the main entrance of LEGOLAND California, a stay at our LEGO themed hotel will turn a day you'll always remember into a night you'll never forget! All guest rooms are LEGO themed in Pirate, Kingdom, Adventure,LEGO Friends or LEGO NINJAGO. Rooms include two separate sleeping areas, with a king-size bed for grown-ups, and a separate area for up to three little ones, complete with a bunk bed, pull-out trundle bed and their very own TV! As a special privilege, LEGOLAND Hotel guests will get entry to select LEGOLAND rides and attractions before the Park officially opens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your LEGOLAND California Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing